We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing and peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property
Mole End, a wooden cabin in a sheltered valley in Devon's , Dartmoor National park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mole End, a wooden cabin in a sheltered valley in Devon's , Dartmoor National park
The sitting room with sofa and dining area beyond, with adjoining sociable kitchen. Mole End is a cosy little wooden cabin. It has Television,DVD + CD players and free WIFI connection.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Mole End, a wooden cabin in a sheltered valley in Devon's , Dartmoor National park
The sitting room with sofa and dining area beyond, with adjoining sociable kitchen.
Mole End is a cosy little wooden cabin. It has Television,DVD + CD players and free WIFI connection.
Sitting room with staircase to balcony with sofa bed , and twin bedroom overlooking the river.
Sitting room with electric fire for instant heat and night storage heaters.
Well equipped kitchen
Kitchen with fridge, freezer, dishwasher, cooker, microwave, kettle , toaster and bread machine.
Ground floor double bedroom with 4ft 6 inch bed. Window looks over the river. Plenty of storage.
Full sized bath  with over bath shower. WC. Washbasin. Washing machine + tumble dryer. River views.
The Twin room under the eaves overlooking the river, where ducks and dippers are often seen .
The bed for 'occasional' guests on the balcony
View of river from the bedroom window. The only sound you can hear is that of the water + birdsong.
Hillside covered in bluebells which come after daffodil time
The hillside covered in foxgloves which follow on from the bluebells which come after the daffodils.
The river along from the lodge.
The river Teign in Autumn. Wonderful walks through woodland right from the door.
Mole End in winter, with an efficient heating system , it is warm and cosy whatever the weather.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Drewsteignton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
anne00197...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing and peaceful”
Reviewed 14 March 2018 for a stay in September 2017

Mole End is a quiet and well-equipped lodge with everything we needed and more. The lodge is warm and cosy, in a peaceful and natural area away from the busyness of towns and everyday life. We found it easy to relax in the lodge, and there are plenty of walks in the local area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2018
Thank you Anne for taking the time to send in a review. Not very long now until your return visit in April when the bluebells could be out. I hope you have a lovely time then too. Best wishes Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jilly5544
Bournemouth
2 reviews
“A perfect retreat!”
Reviewed 19 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a perfectly ‘chilled out’ long weekend in Mole End!
We ‘recharged our batteries’ over a weekend of relaxation... walking eating drinking reading and even some sewing!
Mole End had everything to make our second stay memorable.
The walk to Fingle Bridge pub for Sunday lunch is just beautiful.
Already looking forward to our next visit in the Spring!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2017
I am delighted that you had a good time at Mole End. It certainly is a perfect place to hibernate and with my new interest in Hygge the Danish art of coziness, the cabin is an ideal place to come back to after a good walk or exploration.
I agree the inn at Fingle bridge is a perfect pub and only being 1hr away from the door, on easy terrain through the forest along the riverside it is a great place to visit , especially if one can spot interesting wildlife.For me it has everything a good pub needs, a log fire , delicious food, a good dry cider and a river to sit beside .
I am glad that you found Mole End to be well equipped with the DVD player and various possible films, a television and a CD player. It is good that there is a reasonable WIFI connection even if it is not very good reception for mobiles.I am glad that you obviously found the selection of books and board games upstairs and had the peace to enjoy them.
You will be welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham A
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and location”
Reviewed 27 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Very quiet, tranquil location with the sound of the River Teign right outside the window. All lodges far apart so no disturbance. Every amenity provided within the lodge.

Access roads are really awkward and if you have a low ride-height sports car it could be very difficult to get to the site.

Would be an advantage if there was up-to-date technology. Couldn't get the radio to work, very limited programme selection on the Sky-box and the t.v. could do with a serious upgrade. Otherwise, all amenities, facilities and services are good.
An outside tap would be a handy addition.

Already recommended this holiday to friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review and for leaving Mole End so tidy.
Devon lanes can be known to be challenging for driving , but thankfully Clifford Bridge is only 10 minutes from the main A30 so just enough to add a sense of adventure to a holiday.
Living in a valley in the middle of a forest I think it is a small miracle that we can receive radio and most Sky channels through the TV but yes we are about to upgrade our television . I will give some thought to your suggestion of an outside tap.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east anglia
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Sep 2017
Thank you for your comprehensive review. It will be very useful to others thinking of staying at Mole End in the future.
I am delighted that you enjoyed a good holiday and obviously did quite a bit of exploring in the area.
I was sorry that you were disappointed by the swimming pool not being in action. All photos and details of it have been removed from the web site and as there are lots of things to do straight from the door of the lodge and in the area, hopefully any guests in the future will not miss having a pool.
Thank you for leaving the lodge in good order. Warmest wishes from Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rjw332
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful stay”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just spent a lovely few days at Mole End. Surrounded by trees & nature in a beautiful settting. We were so pleased when we walked in to Mole End which we booked via airbnb. It was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. It has a lovely balcony and some extra little touches such as books,games and a wet weather box which thankfully we didn't need!
There are plenty of great walks to do and lovely pubs. Highly recommend the Fingle Bridge Inn. Good pub food with amazing views. We also had a delicious lunch at the Walled Garden in Dunsford. Lovely walk there via a nature reserve.
We hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2017
It was good of you to take the time to send a review . It should be useful for others who are looking at the website.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Mole End certainly is a magical place. It never ceases to amaze me to stand at the window and have a dipper on the stones outside or have a duck float past.
I was glad to hear that you had had a good time at the local pubs, it is great that they are only a flat walk away.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Sandy...
1 review
“very comfotable well equipped lodge in a fantastic setting by the river”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

what a peaceful location to enjoy a few days break to chill out and relax. Wonderful woodland walks, we saw deer, dippers diving in & out of the river and a woodpecker feeding its young nesting in a tree. The pubs in the surrounding villages served excellent food and my husband enjoyed the local Dartmoor Jail ale.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Dear Sandy and friends, I am delighted that you had such a good time at Mole End. It is wonderful watching the dippers and an extra bonus seeing a woodpecker with chicks. I am glad you got to see the deer too.
Walking to the local pubs is always fun . Just the right distance to build up an appetite on the way for the excellent food , and time to walk it off before you get back to Clifford Bridge. You are welcome back any time. Best wishes from Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Apr 2017
I am delighted that ou enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing