We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical, peaceful place”
other travellers have booked this property
Mole End, a wooden cabin in a sheltered valley in Devon's , Dartmoor National park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mole End, a wooden cabin in a sheltered valley in Devon's , Dartmoor National park
The sitting room with sofa and dining area beyond, with adjoining sociable kitchen. Mole End is a cosy little wooden cabin. It has Television,DVD + CD players and free WIFI connection.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Mole End, a wooden cabin in a sheltered valley in Devon's , Dartmoor National park
The sitting room with sofa and dining area beyond, with adjoining sociable kitchen.
Mole End is a cosy little wooden cabin. It has Television,DVD + CD players and free WIFI connection.
Sitting room with staircase to balcony with sofa bed , and twin bedroom overlooking the river.
Sitting room with electric fire for instant heat and night storage heaters.
Well equipped kitchen
Kitchen with fridge, freezer, dishwasher, cooker, microwave, kettle , toaster and bread machine.
Ground floor double bedroom with 4ft 6 inch bed. Window looks over the river. Plenty of storage.
Full sized bath  with over bath shower. WC. Washbasin. Washing machine + tumble dryer. River views.
The Twin room under the eaves overlooking the river, where ducks and dippers are often seen .
The bed for 'occasional' guests on the balcony
View of river from the bedroom window. The only sound you can hear is that of the water + birdsong.
Hillside covered in bluebells which come after daffodil time
The hillside covered in foxgloves which follow on from the bluebells which come after the daffodils.
The river along from the lodge.
The river Teign in Autumn. Wonderful walks through woodland right from the door.
Mole End in winter, with an efficient heating system , it is warm and cosy whatever the weather.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Drewsteignton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephen E
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Magical, peaceful place”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

An oasis of tranquility in a mad, mad world, Mole End more than lived up to our expectations. The lodge was equipped to a high standard. There are stunning walks in every direction, most leading to delightful pubs or tea shops.

Cannot wait to return and explore further afield.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2018
Thank you for sending in a review. I am so pleased that you had a good time at the lodge. It is a wonderful time of year with all the bluebells carpeting the woodland.
When I was there last week I got up at 4.00 to listen to the dawn chorus which was magical. I sat by the river in a field of wild flowers and wild garlic, so though I then smelt like a Paris bus, it was an absolute delight. Perhaps when you go again you might do the same. Best wishes Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rev412
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spring break”
Reviewed 11 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

A thoroughly enjoyable week in a fantastic location. Wild daffodils in the river valley and pied flycatchers returning to nest.
The location is very rural and ideal for escaping the pressures of today's world.

Excellent location on level ground with plenty of space for couples or families to enjoy games or go for walks along the riverside.

Strongly recommend this place as a retreat from the world.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2018
Thank you Richard for taking the time to write a review.
I am so glad that you both had a wonderfully restful stay and that you caught daffodil time. The bluebells are spectacular in the woods now, but maybe you can see them next time. Your always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waveuponw...
New Forest, United Kingdom
1 review
“A homely lodge in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed 23 March 2018 for a stay in June 2017

A truly magical first family holiday for my husband & I with our then 9 month old baby. Firstly when arriving the scenery is truly amazing, so peaceful & all you can hear is the river trickling and wildlife. A walk along the river is a must. The lodge itself is instantly very homely, clean and baby proof! He had just started crawling and exploring. So many lovely touches. Great view from the balcony & really was so relaxing sitting out there what ever the time of day. Moretonhampstead is nearby which is a lovely little village with a Co-op for some supplies. A trip to the Fingle bridge and pub is a definite, amazing food & again truly beautiful surroundings. We enjoyed a day out at brixham which we highly recommend. We also went to bude for a day at the beach which was great.

We are booked to return to Mole End again this year & can’t wait!!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2018
Thank you Amy for your thoughts. I am glad that you found out how to send in your review and I am sure other new parents will find it useful.
I cannot guarantee the same fabulous hot weather for your next planned trip but whatever the weather Mole End is a great base from which to explore or just to step back from the busy world. I am sure one year on that your “baby” will better appreciate the contents of the toy box. Best wishes from Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
34gilly
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mole End”
Reviewed 18 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Perfect stay in cosy, charming log cabin. Comfortable beds, and sofa to doze on. So many books to read, especially enjoyed the extensive bird, flora and fauna books. Stream below bedroom window, gurlgled merrily to add to the woodland scenery and walks on your doorstep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2018
I am so glad that you had the time to browse through the books, and to make use of the bird and nature books.That is what holidays are for. Watching the birds that come to the feeder can be fascinating. I love to see ducks and other water birds swim past the bedroom and bathroom window too. Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kayuk07
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning location”
Reviewed 14 March 2018 for a stay in August 2017

Amazing location - lodge very well equipped , owner very proactive, friendly , informative, nothing is ever to much trouble .
Fantastic walks all on the doorstep, good local pubs serving good pub food.
Exciting city of Exeter near bye- good for shopping, eating out , or visiting the cathedral and quay side.
Plenty of coastline to explore certainly will return .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2018
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you got out and about to enjoy the area. It is so good to be able to walk miles of footpaths right from the doorstep, and perfect for a mountain bike too. Best wishes from Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R
Chatham Bars Inn, MA, United States
2 reviews
“Delightful stay in Devon!”
Reviewed 14 March 2018 for a stay in September 2017

We had a wonderful stay here at Mole End in September. The lodge is so inviting and Joy our host has thought of everything to make our stay perfect. We instantly fell for the place online and were certainly not disappointed. Joy was so helpful, thoughtful and prompt to reply. She made it all so easy and we would be very hsppy to return there on our next visit to England.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2018
Thank you for your response. I hope you have a brilliant time when you come again next September. Let us hope that the Autumn colours will be at their best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne00197...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing and peaceful”
Reviewed 14 March 2018 for a stay in September 2017

Mole End is a quiet and well-equipped lodge with everything we needed and more. The lodge is warm and cosy, in a peaceful and natural area away from the busyness of towns and everyday life. We found it easy to relax in the lodge, and there are plenty of walks in the local area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2018
Thank you Anne for taking the time to send in a review. Not very long now until your return visit in April when the bluebells could be out. I hope you have a lovely time then too. Best wishes Joy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing