We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bus trip we will always remember with a smile” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crossroads Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Scorrier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crossroads Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scorrier
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A bus trip we will always remember with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

We arrived at Crossroads lodge to be greeted by your lovely staff and helpers. The room was huge as was the bathroom. we did not mind the chintz bedding and it was crisp and clean. Plenty of tea and coffee, loads of hot water a good television too. The staff were so helpful and so very HAPPY! the food plentyful hot and tasty. the evening entetainment was a great treat, We would love to return but beleive the hotel is to be sold. What a shame, many thanks to the lovely staff for a great Cornish break. Yours Sylvia Hallam and Pat Mitchell

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    2
    6
    3
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
6
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

Read the reviews and they are all true, I realised I'd made a mistake as soon as i arrived to find the car park empty, I walked into the reception to be greeted by a large man behind the desk who looked as if he had just finished cleaning the toilets. The place smells really bad of damp and mold. I'd been on the road for 14 hours and felt that i had to get on with it. On entering my room the smell continued and was freezing cold, an electric radiator in the room hardly threw any heat out and i sat for the next two hours with my coat on. The wallpaper was dated and coming away from the walls at the bottom, the bathroom was dirty with a brown bathroom suite from the 70's. I would never stay here again and the best thing they could do is close the place down and refurb it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewedbyme1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

I had not read these reviews before going to this hotel, but sincerely wish I had.
I like to keep an open mind, but I'm sorry to say, the reviews are true.
On entering our room, there was a strange smell. Initially it seemed okay, but on closer inspection, it was really quite dirty. The bathroom had something mucky spilt on the skirting board behind the door, there were cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, embedded dust around the edge of the carpets and it looked as though someone had tried to give the walls of the bathroom a clean and thought better of it, as there was a smallish clean patch, revealing how en-grimed the rest of the wall was.
The staircase up to the rooms, wasn't vacuumed the whole time we were there and has bits all over it. You could see on top of the door frame on going downstairs and this was thick with dust.
Our room was above the lounge area, so could hear the noise from the disco.
We were separated from the visiting coach party at breakfast into a side room, which had stained tableclothes, with a paper cover which obviously hadn't been changed for ages, going by the ring marks.
Finally on leaving, I was very nearly charged double for our stay, which wasn't cheap in the first place.
I hate to say this, but this is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

Attended a wedding recently at the Crossorads, and the first thing on sitting down at our table and about to pour a drink was noticing my partners glass had a tide mark and a full set of lipstick prints! Picked up another glass to use just to find this equally grubby. The buffet was laid out long berfore we were due to eat which was a little worrying as meat and egg products dont like sitting in warm conservatories. The staff sent all the tables up to the food together creating long queues, and many were left hungry as there was simply not enough, and little choice. No salads of any kind, just sandwiches, soggy pancake rolls, quiche and celery crudities. The coffee you had to make yourself from sachets of instant coffee and a thermos of hot water. This ran out and so did the wedding cake, not because there wasnt enough cake, they just didnt cut enough. Would it be too much for staff to inspect glasses and cutlery when laying up, perhaps make a pot of coffee and pour it for guests. Also when you know the expected number of covers, cut enough slices of cake for them. A little organisation and attention to detail would work wonders.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebottle03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

Just returned from a 4 night stay. What a sad place no one seems to love it. Our room was damp with mould in the wardrobe and in the bathroom, the shower curtain was worthy of a scientific study. The bed was not aired we tried using the hair dryer to dry it off with little success. The room had received a cursory clean before we arrived but ledges and light fittings were covered in dust. We asked at reception to have our room cleaned properly and a new shower curtain fitted while we were out. We did get a new shower curtain but the dust and the mould remained.

The staff were friendly and helpful but working against the odds. The food was good and tasty well done chef and kitchen staff.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacenaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

Pros: Super excellent food and good choice, with breakfast buffet
Very comfortable bed
Friendly helpful staff
spacious room
Everything very clean

Cons; Service slow and haphazard, as has ben previously mentioned
Some people were affected by noise at night [ ask for room away from the disco etc rooms - we had room 43 which was very quiet .
Entertainment outdated.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ursula00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

This is one for the Hotel Inspector, it really depends where you sit in the dining room as to whether you can expect to get the meal you have ordered at breakfast for the evening meal because there is never enough to go round, the staff run around like headless chickens none of which have a clue. Its a shame cause the quality of food and the chef is very good, so I would suggest training staff and a better system of serving.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingrosebolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scorrier hotels
0.0 mi away
Plume of Feathers
Plume of Feathers
#1 of 1 in Scorrier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Goonearl Cottage Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossroads Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossroads Lodge

Property: Crossroads Lodge
Address: Scorrier TR16 5BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Scorrier
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Scorrier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Crossroads Hotel Redruth
Crossroads Lodge Scorrier, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing