We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Red Lion is nestled in the peaceful, idyllic village of East Haddon, surrounded by picturesque Northamptonshire countryside, just a few miles from Northampton. We are handily placed with ready access and egress from the major Motorway routes M1, M6, A14 & A1 being all within easy reach. Our warm and cosy pub boasts an intimate lounge area, large dining room & manicured gardens making it a great place either as a hideaway from the cold winter’s weather or somewhere to quietly luxuriate in the warm glow of a Summer's day.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I met a friend recently at the Red Lion for lunch. The food was excellent and presented lovely. The only down side was the waiter who rushed the service was not very friendly and hovered to clear our plates away which made me have to comment to him as we were trying to have a serious conversation without constant interruptions.

However, I will go for an evening meal as it deserves a second chance.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dundrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    93
    52
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“What's happened?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have been here several times, we managed to get a table for last Saturday evening, how disappointing it was.
They were advertising a French Martini, so I thought that would be nice. It was delivered in a small tumbler!! With an apology it looks like we have run out of Martini Glasses! Why advertise them then? It was so sweet we asked what was in it, to be told cassis and ginger beer! Clearly no idea.
Starters arrived, Chicken and duck liver parfait with toasted sour dough bread. Clearly no sourdough as it was standard bread, white and brown!?! Last time we visited you were given linen napkins now they are paper!!!
The table was sticky, the leg had a mat under it to stop it from wobbling, cobwebs in the windows.
Really not a good experience.
Will we be returning? Not unless there are improvements made.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why go any further??????”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Visited thr Red Lion on the 27/6/14 with my other half and some friends. Just wow. Big smiling face from the lady who greeted us at the door, some great banter with the barman, and the young lady who served us in the restaurant was professional yet cheeky. I had the beetroot to start, how they make the port dressing I'll never know but it was sharp yet subtle, great start. For mains I went for the tiger prawn and chorizo linguine. This was one of the tastiest things ive ever eaten! My wife ordered Pat's pavlova which I dug into for dessert. Crispy meringue with a gooey side, homemade ice cream and fresh berries, summer in your mouth! A very well done to all the guys! Great food, happy atmosphere and some of the best service around! !!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Really loved this place. The arancini was to die for and so were the desserts. The waitress was jus tsomething else. Charming, witty and attentive. I will certainly return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TroyTempest66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yecla, Spain
Level Contributor
261 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A real birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I took my wife with two friends here last week to celebrate her birthday and what a great decision it was. It was a lovely sunny day so we took a table outside. The food and service was excellent. The hot scotch eggs are a must for a starter! When you cut into the egg the yolk is runny. Wow, how does the Chef do it? The hot chicken Cesar Salad to follow was also perfect. All washed down with Chenin Blanc from South Africa. We are not blessed with many quality eateries in Northants but this is definitely one of them! They also do fab breakfast on a Sunday morning!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

Northampton, Northamptonshire
 
Harrington, Northamptonshire
 
Northampton, Northamptonshire
Northampton, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing