We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but a bit pricey”
Review of The Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 East Haddon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food but a bit pricey”
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

Nice "old pub" location. Food good but a bit overpriced. Great starters, main course menu rather uninspiring.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gastro-god
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    55
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
42
64
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Went here for lunch on a Friday to celebrate a family birthday. Most had three courses with wine and everyone was happy with their selections. Menu is not extensive but there was something to appeal to everyone and the quality of the food, using many local ingredients, was superb. My only criticism was that some of the presentation, although very pleasing to the eye, was a little impractical - my scotch egg starter was served on a section of log, with a bed of sea salt to stop it rolling away! Very pretty but made the dish a little too salty for my taste. The rabbit pie was served in individual pie dishes and presented on a slate - again, it looked lovely but couldn't be tipped out for those who would have preferred not to eat it directly from the serving dish. The staff were very attentive and the speed of service was just right.
The bedrooms are currently being refurbished and this resulted in some noise in the dining room - staff apologised for this and some diners moved to a quieter part of the restaurant but our party of eight were busy chatting away so this didn't detract from our experience.
After our meal we looked through the windows of the Cookery School which is in an annexe across the car park - the chef spotted us and opened it up to show us around and tell us a bit about it, which was a nice touch.
All in all it was a lovely meal in pleasant surroundings and we will definately visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The menu selection is small, but the food is perfect in every way.

We will definitely visit this restaurant again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivan047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed here last week returning from a funeral in the south. The room had recently been done up and was delightful. We had a really delicious meal with good wine. The staff were attentive both at dinner and breakfast the next morning. Have stayed here before a few years ago and it was wonderful to find it was as good as before, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Haddon
3.2 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
692 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
471 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
372 reviews
9.7 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
8.4 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Hotel

Property: The Red Lion Hotel
Address: Main Street, East Haddon NN6 8BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > East Haddon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Haddon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is nestled in the peaceful, idyllic village of East Haddon, surrounded by picturesque Northamptonshire countryside, just a few miles from Northampton. We are handily placed with ready access and egress from the major Motorway routes M1, M6, A14 & A1 being all within easy reach. Our warm and cosy pub boasts an intimate lounge area, large dining room & manicured gardens making it a great place either as a hideaway from the cold winter’s weather or somewhere to quietly luxuriate in the warm glow of a Summer's day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel East Haddon, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing