We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Red Lion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Highgate House Hotel(Creaton)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sedgebrook Hall(Chapel Brampton)
US$87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hopping Hare(Northampton)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelodge Northampton Upton Way(Northampton)(Great Value!)
US$45
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
102
59
17
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
59
17
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscotch eggpuddingbirthday lunchtempura prawnssea breamquaint country puba great eveningwhole eveningfood was absolutely fantasticchildren's menulovely atmospherefamily meallast sundayvery comfortable roombooked a tablepork bellypate
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My wife and I returned to the Red Lion after a period of 10 years and what an improvement! Same lovely setting but better interior, layout and most of all staff!
The food was excellent and after extensive searching I have found where the BEST Steak & Kidney Pie is made!!! The buttered carrots were spot on as was the mashed (and creamed) potato; my wife had the grilled Salmon and crushed peas and asparagus, sensational.
We shared a pudding, a Treacle tart with warm syrup and clotted cream ice cream, again, outstanding.
The reason for the 4 Stars? A pint of beer, and a cappuccino plus the above (with gratuity) £45. This means we will not be able to go anywhere nearly as regularly as we would like.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesMacadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Just returned from a weekend away visiting friends over the jubilee weekend and I must say as a couple we were pretty impressed . From checking in to checking out the staff were friendly and very attentive . Our room was very spacious although the floors were uneven which added to the quirkiness of its age , the bathroom was also spacious and modern with a large headed shower . Breakfast was very good but the Evening meal was something else altogether and reasonably priced given the quality ( the best steak I have ever tasted ) and the sweets were to die for ! . On to the few touches lacking . No tea and coffee making facilities in the room which is always disappointing , no shelves in the shower to put shampoo soap etc on so they had to be on the floor which although ok for us , could prove awkward for older guests . Also no Fire instructions on the back of room door although there was a frame for it . With no literature in the room to read up on we had little choice than to watch the Jubilee concert in our very comfy and adequately sized bed . On the whole we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and wouldnt hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxylot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My wife and I had our anniversary dinner at the Red Lion recently, but have eaten there a couple of times before. It's a friendly place with helpful staff. The menu is different enough to be interesting without straying into the pretentious. The wine list is limited, but perfectly adequate to complement the food. I would have given an excellent rating but for two things. The prices are just a little too high for the ambience and food, and I had both starter and main course served on a slate. I have no objection to slate when it enhances the appearance of the food, but felt that this was not the case on this occasion. Please accept this tiny criticism in the positive way it is given, oh, and keep up the good work. ps the cookery school is excellent too!!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Davmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

Nice "old pub" location. Food good but a bit overpriced. Great starters, main course menu rather uninspiring.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gastro-god
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Went here for lunch on a Friday to celebrate a family birthday. Most had three courses with wine and everyone was happy with their selections. Menu is not extensive but there was something to appeal to everyone and the quality of the food, using many local ingredients, was superb. My only criticism was that some of the presentation, although very pleasing to the eye, was a little impractical - my scotch egg starter was served on a section of log, with a bed of sea salt to stop it rolling away! Very pretty but made the dish a little too salty for my taste. The rabbit pie was served in individual pie dishes and presented on a slate - again, it looked lovely but couldn't be tipped out for those who would have preferred not to eat it directly from the serving dish. The staff were very attentive and the speed of service was just right.
The bedrooms are currently being refurbished and this resulted in some noise in the dining room - staff apologised for this and some diners moved to a quieter part of the restaurant but our party of eight were busy chatting away so this didn't detract from our experience.
After our meal we looked through the windows of the Cookery School which is in an annexe across the car park - the chef spotted us and opened it up to show us around and tell us a bit about it, which was a nice touch.
All in all it was a lovely meal in pleasant surroundings and we will definately visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews