We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more than pleasantly surprised, wish we'd found it before”
Review of The Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 East Haddon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2013

the red lion was always characterful (beautiful old northants ironstone thatched building, old flagstone & wood floors) but has obviously been given an internal makeover in the past few years and is now a semi smart country restaurant, subtle lighting. its definitely not a pub (although a drink outside in the summer would be nice), but it is a good dining place.

very attentive, efficient but unstuffy staff (took the time to talk to one of the juniors on our table about the dishes and then went the extra mile to bring out the food book in which the hotel appears) despite it being a busy saturday evening.

food quality was very good, some interesting choices (a gorgeous slow cooked beef, very tasty chicken and a delightful pearl barley risotto) all perfectly cooked and very smartly presented.
i'd take issue with people calling it expensive: starters were circa £7, mains ranged from £13-£16 and wonderful puds at about £7. not quite sure what people expect for this level of dining, and the menu on the website is entirley representative. drinks not cheap, but not unreasonable and fair selection although beers looked limited.

would most certainly go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Keystonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

A frosty evening was matched by a frosty reception. Actually it was snowing but that doesn't fit the rhetoric but we made it through and the reception upon arrival was certainly frosty. Perhaps they had staff issues what with the weather. Anyhow as we moved on things got better, service was good but then the venue wasn't full, atmosphere wasn't great but then it doesn't strike me as a bar that ever gets really busy but the food was all that I'd been told about; with a good menu that raises questions in your mind all produced and delivered with verve.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank GingerMeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I have been to the red lion a number of times now with business as its a great place to treat foreign visitors to a quintessentially British pub.
Service is great as is the atmosphere. The menu is nice but I do worry that it's trying just a bit too hard to impress sometimes. We are not in central London but the middle of Northamptonshire and as such would urge the chef to remember this from time to time.
Food is well cooked and tasty. Portion size is fair but some courses do not come with veg and ths has tone ordered as a side dish.
Wines are good also.
A word of ' warning' this place isn't cheap and you spend 50quid at lunchtime easily... Without wine or beer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank wennywoo1677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We live local but just wanted a night away from the kids at a place where the food would be great. This place delivered in every sense. The staff were excellent, a warm welcome from the start. We had dinner at 8pm and there was a nice atmosphere. Again, excellent service and very quick. For dessert, we said we wanted to wait a bit longer and it was worth it... the doughnuts with custard and jam were inspired. Moved into the small lounge after the meal which was a lovely end to the night. Were asked when we'd like breakfast, came down at 9am, no menu... "We'll cook whatever you like". We had the works and it was fantastic. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The four poster bed room was gone so we chose the Pigeon Loft with bath in the bedroom. It was lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I sometimes meet for lunch with friends at the Red Lion which I visited again this week. Although we had an enjoyable lunch I do consider the portions are somewhat on the small side, they should be more generous in size given the price we were paying. Service was also rather slow, as we had to wait 40 minutes for our main courses to be served. Having said that, there is a good choice of menu and the food is very tasty. When we next visit, we look forward to receiving more generous size portions together with slicker service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malsorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We recently visited the red lion for my 40th, the service was very welcoming. The food was nicely presented and extremely tasty. Portion sizes looked small but were just enough and very tasty and filling. In my opinion you only get what you pay for! Would visit again.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We've visited The Red Lion many times , decided to treat ourselves to a meal before Christmas. The food and surrounding was perfect as always , the only fault we have is the front of house staff (twins) wish they would smile , they never look very happy !!

Stayed: December 2012
1  Thank Liza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Hotel

Address: Main Street, East Haddon NN6 8BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > East Haddon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Haddon
Price Range: £93 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is nestled in the peaceful, idyllic village of East Haddon, surrounded by picturesque Northamptonshire countryside, just a few miles from Northampton. We are handily placed with ready access and egress from the major Motorway routes M1, M6, A14 & A1 being all within easy reach. Our warm and cosy pub boasts an intimate lounge area, large dining room & manicured gardens making it a great place either as a hideaway from the cold winter’s weather or somewhere to quietly luxuriate in the warm glow of a Summer's day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel East Haddon, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing