We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Red Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Highgate House Hotel(Creaton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sedgebrook Hall(Chapel Brampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hopping Hare(Northampton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
102
59
17
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
59
17
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscotch eggpuddingbirthday lunchtempura prawnssea breamquaint country puba great eveningwhole eveningfood was absolutely fantasticchildren's menulovely atmospherefamily meallast sundayvery comfortable roombooked a tablepork bellypate
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had my mum's 80th birthday party here in the garden room. The whole party was superb. We'd pre-ordered off the fixed menu to make things a bit easier on the kitchen. The quality of the food was excellent and the Nick, Joe and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark_Jelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBuckey1, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Good afternoon,

What a great occasion it was too!

We all love being apart of our guests special occasions, which makes it feel very personal to us all that you all enjoy yourselves and feel relaxed.

Thank you for using our pub to celebrate and we hope to welcome you all back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Lovely Sunday lunch, with our son who was on visit from London for week end .All had roast pork excellent Yorkshire pudding & veg , would have liked chunky apple sauce with it Good cheese plate & port & wine Good coffee ,all tables taken & pleasant quiet happy lunch time ,,Good service with a smile x

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBuckey1, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Good evening Audrey,

What a lovely little review, thank you very much.

We do pride ourselves on our Sunday lunch so i am glad you enjoyed it. A good roast dinner is a dying art and something many pubs fall down on. I'm glad your keeping up to date with our progression through Facebook.

Look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for one night with nine other family members and we all had a really enjoyable stay. The rooms are furnished to a very good standard and are clean and comfortable. We were made to feel very welcome and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. The quality of the ingredients in the full English was obvious and there were other choices for the less carnivorous. If you are looking for a comfortable picturesque pub for a short break you could travel a long way and not find better than the Red Lion.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank 510peterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBuckey1, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Good morning peter,

I've just shown this review to the team and they are all chuffed and have big smiles, so thank you for your kind words.
Was great to have your family stay with us and seeing them all catch up over a local gin or two was fantastic. We work very hard to do the little things right, which i feel not everyone does, so sourcing the best sausages and bacon we can locally was high on my agenda. Glad you liked them.

Great to hear your kind words, hope you got back to North Yorkshire and we will hopefully see you again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed on Friday night , there was a party of 44 in the other room. But this really didn't affect the service . The food was really great , service superb and welcome when we checked in very good . We stayed in the room known as the pidgeon lofy which we really liked . The breakfast choice was great , we had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs which was cooked just as we both asked .
Would definitely stay and eat here again, superb

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williams508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBuckey1, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Hi William,

Thank you for your kind words, the team will be overjoyed to here it.

The pigeon loft is my favourite room, it has great character and always surprises guests as they climb the stairs and it opens up to a gorgeous room.

I'm glad that you were looked after well and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Joe Buckley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Cruising the country lanes on a summers afternoon and stopped here for lunch. WOW. The staff were very welcoming. We ate outside on a beautiful afternoon. The food was excellent. Had to take a moment to admire the presentation and it all tasted as good as it looked.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBuckey1, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Hi Dave,

Thank you so much for your great review, the staff are very chuffed with it, makes all there hard work worth it. Our gardens are really beautiful at the moment, our gardener works very hard on them, so he'll be very happy to know they're being enjoyed.

hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews