We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay and dine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 East Haddon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and dine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We have stayed at the Red Lion several times in the past two years and it gets better and better. Dinner and breakfast are always first class. In July we held a pre wedding party for 23 in the garden room which was fantastic. We had a very good dinner which we had pre chosen off a menu with plenty of choices. The service and all the staff were brilliant as always - friendly, jolly and professional which really made the occasion memorable. Our family and guests occupied all the rooms for two nights and everybody agreed how welcoming and friendly everyone was. A perfect atmosphere for a special occasion. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spotlessly clean fresh and modern although some lack drawers or anywhere to put belongings. The only thing which would make our visits perfect would be lights above the bathroom mirrors, we struggle a bit with make up and shaving!

Room Tip: The Four Lions room is slightly larger than the others but all are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBuckey1, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
What a lovely thing to read on a monday morning!!

Thankyou very much for your kind words and im glad that we could be part of your wedding celebrations. We love welcoming you to The Red Lion and a great night always entails when you are here.

Cant Wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    54
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
41
62
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stay here on business every time I'm in the area, the food and rooms are excellent, everywhere is exceptionally clean the bathrooms are perfect as are the bedrooms, the only downside are the electric storage heaters which are poor during the cold weather.

Everyone is very friendly and the chat over breakfast makes a great start to the day.

It can get pretty busy some nights for food so make sure you book a table when you book or check in.
Sort out the wi-if which is on and off and the heaters and this place is perfect.....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellCus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBuckey1, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Good morning,

Thankyou for your kind words and im glad you have enjoyed your previous visits with us. We always encourage constructive feedback and its something we are taking into account all the time.

Look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had my mum's 80th birthday party here in the garden room. The whole party was superb. We'd pre-ordered off the fixed menu to make things a bit easier on the kitchen. The quality of the food was excellent and the Nick, Joe and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_Jelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBuckey1, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Good afternoon,

What a great occasion it was too!

We all love being apart of our guests special occasions, which makes it feel very personal to us all that you all enjoy yourselves and feel relaxed.

Thank you for using our pub to celebrate and we hope to welcome you all back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely Sunday lunch, with our son who was on visit from London for week end .All had roast pork excellent Yorkshire pudding & veg , would have liked chunky apple sauce with it Good cheese plate & port & wine Good coffee ,all tables taken & pleasant quiet happy lunch time ,,Good service with a smile x

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBuckey1, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Good evening Audrey,

What a lovely little review, thank you very much.

We do pride ourselves on our Sunday lunch so i am glad you enjoyed it. A good roast dinner is a dying art and something many pubs fall down on. I'm glad your keeping up to date with our progression through Facebook.

Look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here for one night with nine other family members and we all had a really enjoyable stay. The rooms are furnished to a very good standard and are clean and comfortable. We were made to feel very welcome and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. The quality of the ingredients in the full English was obvious and there were other choices for the less carnivorous. If you are looking for a comfortable picturesque pub for a short break you could travel a long way and not find better than the Red Lion.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 510peterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBuckey1, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Good morning peter,

I've just shown this review to the team and they are all chuffed and have big smiles, so thank you for your kind words.
Was great to have your family stay with us and seeing them all catch up over a local gin or two was fantastic. We work very hard to do the little things right, which i feel not everyone does, so sourcing the best sausages and bacon we can locally was high on my agenda. Glad you liked them.

Great to hear your kind words, hope you got back to North Yorkshire and we will hopefully see you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boroughbridge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed on Friday night , there was a party of 44 in the other room. But this really didn't affect the service . The food was really great , service superb and welcome when we checked in very good . We stayed in the room known as the pidgeon lofy which we really liked . The breakfast choice was great , we had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs which was cooked just as we both asked .
Would definitely stay and eat here again, superb

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williams508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBuckey1, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hi William,

Thank you for your kind words, the team will be overjoyed to here it.

The pigeon loft is my favourite room, it has great character and always surprises guests as they climb the stairs and it opens up to a gorgeous room.

I'm glad that you were looked after well and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Joe Buckley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Cruising the country lanes on a summers afternoon and stopped here for lunch. WOW. The staff were very welcoming. We ate outside on a beautiful afternoon. The food was excellent. Had to take a moment to admire the presentation and it all tasted as good as it looked.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeBuckey1, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Hi Dave,

Thank you so much for your great review, the staff are very chuffed with it, makes all there hard work worth it. Our gardens are really beautiful at the moment, our gardener works very hard on them, so he'll be very happy to know they're being enjoyed.

hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Haddon
7.2 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
3.3 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#7 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
9.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Hotel

Property: The Red Lion Hotel
Address: Main Street, East Haddon NN6 8BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > East Haddon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Haddon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is nestled in the peaceful, idyllic village of East Haddon, surrounded by picturesque Northamptonshire countryside, just a few miles from Northampton. We are handily placed with ready access and egress from the major Motorway routes M1, M6, A14 & A1 being all within easy reach. Our warm and cosy pub boasts an intimate lounge area, large dining room & manicured gardens making it a great place either as a hideaway from the cold winter’s weather or somewhere to quietly luxuriate in the warm glow of a Summer's day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel East Haddon, Northamptonshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing