We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality travels to Whalton”

The Stables Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Whalton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$36
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Ponteland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quality travels to Whalton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have visited the Beresford Arms twice since the Simms had to move from The Waggon Inn to the Beresford Arms a few miles away in the attractive Northumberland village of Whalton. The quality of food and service offered remains excellent. The appetising menu selection is as comprehensive as before yet continues only to include freshly supplied fare. All the food is prepared to your liking which, inevitably, means a few minutes wait, something infinitely preferable to being served microwaved fast food. These minutes can be usefully employed by sampling one, or more, of the interesting selection of real ales and nice wines available from the well stocked bar. The welcome is, invariably, very warm and the service smilingly pleasant and efficient. The Beresford Arms promises to become one of the most popular restaurants within easy reach of Newcastle upon Tyne and Morpeth. It deserves a visit from everyone who enjoys excellent pub food in very agreeable surroundings.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clydesider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeresfordArms14, Manager at The Stables Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Many thanks for all of your positive comments. It's always a bonus to get reviews from returning customers as they confirm that we remain consistently good. We work very hard to keep our standards high, so it's very gratifying when we receive reviews like this. Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    45
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“What's a lovely village without a lovely pub?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

What a change: dog walkers, cyclists, bikers, folk on their way home from work and those who just like a drive out were popping in, being warmly welcomed, unable to miss the convivial buzz about the place and leaving with a smile and a thank you. No surprise then that the Beresford was busy with drinkers coming and going at a steady rate during our visit.

We went for supper, as did 30 or so others that weekday evening and almost all the tables were occupied. Good job we’d been advised to book. 4 of us ordered 3 starters and four mains, all seven were exactly as you’d wish better than good pub food to be – hot, tasty and reasonably priced. Of the mains, the chicken stuffed with stilton got a double thumbs-up and the fish and chips, which in some places can be disappointing, deserve a mention – the chips were of the hand-cut crispy on the outside, fluffy in the middle type, the fish was fresh not frozen and the batter light and delicious. A nice added touch was homemade tartare sauce.

How refreshing to see the Beresford blooming: there were lots of local faces from the village but also people who were driving passed and stopping when they saw the drinkers sitting outside. I can see the pub getting busier and busier with drinkers and diners so, dog walkers, cyclist, bikers, folk on your way home from work or if you just like a drive out – give the Beresford a try, it’s a revelation to those who’ve known it before and a great little country pub to everyone else.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeresfordArms14, Manager at The Stables Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Wow - thank you so much for all of your positive, informative comments - we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit so much that you wanted to share your experience with others. We have certainly worked very hard since taking over to create the right kind of atmosphere (as well as providing great food and beer!) but of course our customers are the other half of the equation - that's what gives the place a buzz. Our key aim is to ensure that every customer leaves happy, so it's good to know when we get it right. Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“V pleasant experience, with an added surprise!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We arrived @ about 7 on a busy Tuesday evening a couple of weeks ago; the car park was full and a small executive bus was in the process of off-loading a party so we were pleasantly surprised to get a table. The Beresford combines traditional pub atmosphere with pleasant homely features, local historical photographs and old brewing adverts. The menu was well stocked with pub favourites and a good selection of chefs specials; initially - because it was so busy - we were advised our food may take an hour+ to arrive and we received recommendations for near-by alternatives [!]. However, the very helpful son of the landlord managed to squeeze our order in before the bus-party. When the food arrived the portions were huge and apart from soggy chips it was good. We paid and left a tip of £5 [10%+] then decided to have one more drink, a glass of wine plus an excellent real ale - I paid the landlord by debit card. At this point the friendly bonhomie slipped and I was charged extra without explanation because I was using a debit card,therefore be mindful that if you use a debit card for small sums here - you will be charged.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackwesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeresfordArms14, Manager at The Stables Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for writing such an informative review. As a relatively small country pub it's always difficult to balance large bookings with impromptu diners - both of whom we want to accommodate. We had a rotary dinner that evening so I'm pleased that we were able to serve you relatively quickly. Sorry about the chips - we were very unhappy with our potatoes that week - it's that time of year when they're changing and the potatoes are 'wet', which means although they're tasty you can't get them to be crisp and dry which is how we ideally want to serve them. I'm afraid we do find it necessary to levy a 50p charge for card transactions under £10 as the overheads are quite high given the rental and then card charges - some of which are quite hefty, particularly for credit cards. However, you should certainly have been told about it before it was added to your transaction, so I'm very sorry that didn't happen. In hindsight - given that you'd already had dinner here, we could and should have waived that fee for you, though we need to try and think of a system for that as it may prove difficult if it's a different member of staff who served you. I would just like to clarify though that the business doesn't get a share of any tips left - they get shared out between the staff at the end of each shift as I think perhaps you were inferring that despite the fact you left a tip we still charged you an extra 50p. In any event, we appreciate you taking the time to write your review and we're happy that you enjoyed your meal with us. We do hope you come back to visit us again and we look forward to welcoming you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We went for father's day sunday lunch (9 of us) and can't fault anything except maybe the 'moderness' of the dining room which is really nice but i like 'old' pubs to have 'old' decor if you know what i mean! I just like old fashioned country pubs to have an old fashioned feel and whilst in the dining room you would never think you were in an old country pub but that's just me! It is a lovely dining room, Nevertheless, this did not detract from the usual friendly welcome and service from brenda, john and their team. Great as always and food great as always!! Can't understand the reviewer who complained about the food! We are a family of foodies and eat out a lot and are quite fussy about eating good, decent food and believe me, the food here is delicious!! Have a sunday lunch here yourself and see, i don't think you'll be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kazza1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeresfordArms14, Manager at The Stables Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
As readers will see from recent reviews, we have just recently taken over the Beresford and as this reviewer quite rightly says, the restaurant is very different to the lounge bar which is part of the traditional old coaching inn. I understand it was modernised in 2010 and although we really like the colours and decor of the restaurant, if we had done it ourselves we would have done it slightly more in keeping with the fabric of the original building. However, it gives diners a choice of environment so hopefully we can cater for everyone's taste. We really appreciate the positive comments about the food - which we always value more from returning customers as they can see that we maintain a consistently high standard. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others and we look forward to welcoming you again soon hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield Notts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Pub Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stopped here for lunch on our way to Craster Northumberland. One of our group has a AA good pub guide and found this lovely place in there.
There were 9 of us dining and the landlord sorted us a table out and went through the menu with us describing how the dishes were prepared, and how everything is freshly made on the premises,and he made us feel so welcome.
The food was lovely, very fresh and good size portions. We didn't have to wait too long either. There is also a lot to choose from.
If ever I am passing this way again I wouldn't hesitate in coming here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harleygirl247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeresfordArms14, Manager at The Stables Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for all of your objective comments. Being a family business, customer satisfaction is absolutely paramount to us, so it's very rewarding to hear that we're getting it right. We very much hope we can welcome you again at some point. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stables Restaurant also viewed

Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
 

Been to The Stables Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing