We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Meal”

The Stables Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Whalton
Price range: US$7 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had heard that Whalton was a lovely village and that the Beresford Arms was worth trying. It was a lovely sunny evening and the village looked splendid. The Beresford Arms was clean and sparkling and apparently the landlords had recently departed the Waggon near Ponteland. We could see that a lot of hard work had made the inn a cosy venue which will become very popular. Our meal was good but unfortunately the meat was slightly overcooked but the sauces and vegetables were good and plentiful. The service was excellent and enthusiastic and the local draught beer was very good. .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johnathon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeresfordArms14, Manager at The Stables Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, though I'm sorry to hear you werent 100% happy with your meal. We do try to create a friendly atmosphere where people feel comfortable enough to let us know when something isn't completely to their satisfaction - we always ask customers if everything was alright - and that's because we GENUINELY want to know if it isn't - not just to pay you lipservice. We are fortunate enough to have staff in the kitchen who are really passionate about their food and how it's presented, though we all accept from time to time things can go wrong - it would be very helpful if the writer would contact me and give me more information, so that we can understand better what might have gone wrong. Getting a good reputation is hard work and we certainly aren't complacent enough to think that we can rest on our laurels ! We hope you will return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for The Stables Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a beautiful place in a lovely Northumberland Village. We had high expectations from a country pub which has a long pedigree of providing food. It was a Thursday lunchtime at 1pm, I should have known better as the car park was nearly empty, a good test. My benchmark for a pub lunch is normally a home made steak pie and that was the order of the day at this pub. It came with home made chunky chips and nicely steamed fresh veg, they were fine. However, the steak pie was decidedly poor. Its not hard to make a good steak pie content, add some herbs, worcester sauce and slow cook with onions, easy! Most chef's know this, but oh dear, this was poor, it tasted as if the gravy had just been mixed from a granule packet and added to dry meat, tasteless. Get your steak pie right, and you car park will be full, a simple process.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mitochondrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeresfordArms14, Manager at The Stables Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your lunch with us, what a shame you didn't voice your concerns on the day when you were asked as I'm confident we could have rectified the situation for you there and then. Our steak pie is one of our best sellers, so I don't know quite what had gone wrong with your portion, but I can assure you the beef is from a very good local butcher and it's stewed with plenty of ale to make a very lush gravy. Obviously, if we had been able to see it and taste it the mystery would have been solved, but we are genuinely very sorry that it was below par - for whatever reason. I presume the other meal you had must have been ok as it wasn't mentioned. Unfortunately, our predecessors did not serve food all day as we do and though we're working hard to publicise that fact, it can still be quiet on some weekdays - although on two occasions last week, we had to turn people away at lunchtime as we had no available tables, so things are not always what they seem. As readers will see from other reviews we rarely get negative comments about our food, so hopefully they will see that this is the exception rather than the rule.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We visited this pub after reading on Tripadvisor that the staff had moved from The Waggon even though we had never been to The Waggon, we were curious. Our curiosity paid off, we had an excellent meal and were welcomed by the very friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we had everything we asked for. Our visit was on a weekday lunchtime and they were reasonably busy. We are sure we will return to this restaurant which had a menu with plenty of choice with lots of fresh local food. Everyone was catered for from the very hungry to the child and the pensioner that wanted a smaller meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank daved476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeresfordArms14, Manager at The Stables Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Once again, we're very grateful that people take the time to share their experience with others. We were delighted that everything was to your liking on your first visit and very much look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have visited the Beresford Arms twice since the Simms had to move from The Waggon Inn to the Beresford Arms a few miles away in the attractive Northumberland village of Whalton. The quality of food and service offered remains excellent. The appetising menu selection is as comprehensive as before yet continues only to include freshly supplied fare. All the food is prepared to your liking which, inevitably, means a few minutes wait, something infinitely preferable to being served microwaved fast food. These minutes can be usefully employed by sampling one, or more, of the interesting selection of real ales and nice wines available from the well stocked bar. The welcome is, invariably, very warm and the service smilingly pleasant and efficient. The Beresford Arms promises to become one of the most popular restaurants within easy reach of Newcastle upon Tyne and Morpeth. It deserves a visit from everyone who enjoys excellent pub food in very agreeable surroundings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Clydesider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeresfordArms14, Manager at The Stables Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Many thanks for all of your positive comments. It's always a bonus to get reviews from returning customers as they confirm that we remain consistently good. We work very hard to keep our standards high, so it's very gratifying when we receive reviews like this. Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

What a change: dog walkers, cyclists, bikers, folk on their way home from work and those who just like a drive out were popping in, being warmly welcomed, unable to miss the convivial buzz about the place and leaving with a smile and a thank you. No surprise then that the Beresford was busy with drinkers coming and going at a steady rate during our visit.

We went for supper, as did 30 or so others that weekday evening and almost all the tables were occupied. Good job we’d been advised to book. 4 of us ordered 3 starters and four mains, all seven were exactly as you’d wish better than good pub food to be – hot, tasty and reasonably priced. Of the mains, the chicken stuffed with stilton got a double thumbs-up and the fish and chips, which in some places can be disappointing, deserve a mention – the chips were of the hand-cut crispy on the outside, fluffy in the middle type, the fish was fresh not frozen and the batter light and delicious. A nice added touch was homemade tartare sauce.

How refreshing to see the Beresford blooming: there were lots of local faces from the village but also people who were driving passed and stopping when they saw the drinkers sitting outside. I can see the pub getting busier and busier with drinkers and diners so, dog walkers, cyclist, bikers, folk on your way home from work or if you just like a drive out – give the Beresford a try, it’s a revelation to those who’ve known it before and a great little country pub to everyone else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank wwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBeresfordArms14, Manager at The Stables Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Wow - thank you so much for all of your positive, informative comments - we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit so much that you wanted to share your experience with others. We have certainly worked very hard since taking over to create the right kind of atmosphere (as well as providing great food and beer!) but of course our customers are the other half of the equation - that's what gives the place a buzz. Our key aim is to ensure that every customer leaves happy, so it's good to know when we get it right. Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stables Restaurant also viewed

Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
Morpeth, Northumberland
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
 

Been to The Stables Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing