We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing. Wonderful location, shame about everything else.”
Review of Spread Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spread Eagle Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Stourton B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing. Wonderful location, shame about everything else.”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We live in the area and normally eat after 8.00 when we go out. Everything looks good from the outside but food was not good and, as mentioned by many, the service was very poor. Staff were busy preparing for next day's breakfast / finishing their shift to head out on a Friday night and were completely lacking in attention. I had to leave the table and go to the bar to get service on one occasion. My moules were cold and tough to start with so having to leave a chilling meal to get service was even worse. A pack of boil in the bag mussels from a supermarket would have been better! Overall the food was overpriced for what it was and the poorest quality in the area. Quite frankly it was a massive disappointment. However the pub will always be busy because of its location. If it had competition it would have to improve or it would be empty !

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Heartshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    68
    28
    22
    14
See reviews for
40
109
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
587 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Set in the grounds of the National Trust at Stourhead this pub is a better bet than the very busy NT restaurant which is along walk up the hill. Set in 3/4 small rooms its very cosy and comfortable. The staff are good and willing to find you space. Service was very good,being half term it was extremely busy but only waited 10 minutes. The 3 fish pie was superb. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stopped over on the way across to Cornwall at the begining of October half term. We arrived around 19:30 a dinning table was reserved for us in the dinning area. We prefered the bar area and our table was reset in the bar without any fuss. The menu was varied and offered some thing new. The food was excellent beetroot risotto/ chocolate & orange bread and butter pudding, deep joy. Sally my partner and my son Charlie also "cleaned their plates"!. Complements to the kitchen.
The staff were engaging and we immediatley felt very welcome. The staff set the benchmark for customer service. Thankyou, and we hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family room which included a zedbed and was at the back of the Spreadeagle and did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Me. my husband, our two children (2 years and 10 months) and my husbands parents stopped in here after we had walked round the lake and gardens. We had the double buggy for the children so when we wanted to go into the Spread Eagle with it, it caused quite a stir among the staff. They seemed quite put out by the fact that we were travelling with children and a buggy and were short and snippy with us. The lady in charge told us to put the buggy behind where we were sitting (blocking a doorway). A short while later a male member of staff came barreling through the door, ramming the buggy out of his way.
Food was okay, not quite 4 star. Chips were hard and who on earth serves childrens meals on burning hot plates?!
Wouldnt visit again due to how we were treated.

Room Tip: Dont take children. You will be treated like dirt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The Spread Eagle Inn has a unique location but that was not all we liked about the property. We decided to stay despite of the comments here about the staff. I can report we found the staff all very helpful and obliging. They were all fairly young but keen and we enjoyed dinner and breakfast at the property. The food was good and portions generous. The room was on the small side (to be expected) and the bathroom had some hot water pipes running through a cupboard which could not be closed. Other than that it was very quiet. We had a brisk walk around the gardens next morning and were followed by a very friendly duck. So take some food! Will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMCC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxshott
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stopped in for breakfast. Very good, with scrambled egg & smoked salmon being particularly good & a generous portion.
Staff very attentive.& helpful.
Also an ideal location for exploring Stourhead Gardens.



Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just got back from a trip to Stourhead, as Trust members we go about three times a year and always do the same thing around one way then into the pub for a meal then a walk the other way around.
The beer was wonderful as usual and for a meal I had the minute steak and my wife had the Sea Bass, both were cooked perfectly but were spoilt by chips that should never have been served they were tastless and cold which unfortunately ruined the whole meal.
My wife wanted to complain but as the rest of the meal was so good I told her not to bother, just leave them on the plate.
The girls that were serving were a delight to talk to and were trying very hard but as we watched two other customers had problems with thier meals as well.
When I paid my wife did say that the chips were cold and she could not eat them and the barmaid said she would tell Chef but by then of course its to late.
I hate complaining as it ruins the day for me but next time we will give it one more try then go somewhere else on the way home if it happens again. ROY

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royston c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stourton
0.1 mi away
Stourhead Gardens B & B
Stourhead Gardens B & B
#2 of 2 in Stourton
22 reviews
2.4 mi away
Castleton House
Castleton House
#1 of 2 in Mere
210 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 7 in Wincanton
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 2 in Mere
136 reviews
1.9 mi away
The White Lion
The White Lion
#1 of 2 in Bourton
142 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Walnut Tree Inn
The Walnut Tree Inn
#15 of 24 in Warminster
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spread Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spread Eagle Inn

Property: Spread Eagle Inn
Address: Spread Eagle Hotel Church Lawn | Stourhead Estate, Stourton BA12 6QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Stourton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stourton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spread Eagle Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Spread Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spread Eagle Hotel Stourton
Spread Eagle Inn Stourton, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing