We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spread Eagle Inn

Spread Eagle Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Stourton
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
695 reviews
454 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Lunch stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Popped in for lunch, one overcast day. The place was packed. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Our choice of meal (Fish Pie) was promptly delivered, it was excellent, full of fish chunks and flavour, with a cheesy potato topping and sliced carrots.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    68
    35
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food is lovely service and staff the best EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I've been to the Spread Eagle before, and this visit was well worthwhile as usual. The most outstanding feature of this pub is the staff. Nothing is too much trouble, they go out of their way to make your visit the very best it can be, all with a smile and positive fantastic attitude. The food is Great. Good varied selection, every dish I've had, has been so tasty delicious and beautifully presented with extensive use of locally sourced produce. Could not recommend more highly, I can't wait for a winter visit with a hearty meal in front of the log fire after exploring the gardens at Stourhead. Well done staff of Spread Eagle Inn, I appreciate and applaud you all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charmaine_chugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not bad but could be better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Staying at a nearby b&b we had to come here for breakfast. The selection was good and the food very tasty. I must make special mention of the breakfast waitress who served us both days, who was an absolute delight. She greeted us each morning with an infectious smile and was extremely focused on ensuring our needs were met. She is a true credit to the Inn and if I were marking her level of service individually I would give her 5/5.
The bar side to this establishment is quite mediocre really. There is a decent selection of ales at the kind of prices expected. The bar staff are a mixed bag that ranges from friendly and chatty to clearly uninterested in their job. There is also a clear wasp issue that they really need to address.
All in all I would be satisfied to eat here but not to have a few pints.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seasonedchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This pub sits neatly between the house and gardens at the National Trust property at Stourhead and so we visited it with friends when doing the tour.

The food was great, a straightforward choice and excellent portions. The service was very friendly and overall added greatly to a lovely day at Stourhead.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyAquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koege, Denmark
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Idyllic location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Stopped for a beer after a day looking round the house and gardens of the national trust property. Friendly service, nice courtyard. What could be better on a sunny day ?! Well worth a visit. Beautiful location

Helpful?
Thank VictoriaWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spread Eagle Inn also viewed

 
Warminster, Wiltshire
Maiden Bradley, Wiltshire
 

Been to Spread Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing