We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family break”
Review of An Creagan

An Creagan
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
An Creagan
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed in the wheelchair accessible cottage - it was well adapted.
The cottage was very clean. Towels & bed linen were provided.
The bad weather made the walks inaccessible for the wheelchair but if the weather was good it would have made a difference.
We asked for a highchair & a microwave, it was no problem to the staff. The staff were all lovely, & very helpful when needed.
The place was a bit isolated so a car is needed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1983Gary1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the cottages for family occasion..
An absolute pleasure from start to finish ... In fact faultless .. Other establishments could learn in fact.. Run like clockwork. Lorraine was in charge & eyes in the back of her head.. Good luck with your new arrival in 11 weeks..
I could live in the cottages full time.. Just beautiful.. Breakfast delicious. We where @ a family occasion & I had ordered salmon.. It didn't come with roasties which I luv. I said to the waitress would it b pos to have one thinking cause it was so busy it wouldn't happen.. In a flash a bowl of roasties appeared .. Impressed .. V much ..

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nailparlour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying in the lovely cottages at an creggan, they are wonderful, they are clean and charming. The bed is so comfy and the log pellet fire in the living room was brilliant. We ate in the restaurant and the staff were all so friendly and the food was cheap and really delicious. Totally recommend this place.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nelle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Six of us travelled for approx 1 1/2 hrs to arrive at An Creagan for 2 nights 11th-13th Oct. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our cottage Inishtimahaon which was really lovely. Very clean and everything was there that we needed. Linen and towels all supplied along with tea, coffee and sugar. After being shown around the cottage by Caitriona we settled in, bags unpacked and after a cup of tea started to explore. Weather was lovely so that really helped. Meals in the restaurant were brilliant and staff Stacy, her mum and Alex(I think) were very friendly and accommodating. We spent Sat morning in Cookstown (great shopping town with Sat market) and then made use of the free bicycle hire(included in package) to roam the forest and pathways of this beautiful unspoilt area. After a few drinks we headed for our dinner on Sat night.(again beautiful). Sat night we went to the dance in the centre and helped to 'Shoe the donkey' with the locals. Great craic. We all enjoyed it so much that we are planning another visit in the spring. It is a safe place for children with a playgound and loads of walks. You won't be disappointed. There are loads of events running throughout the year. Check out their website and take a well deserved rest - one you are guaranteed to enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fillo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have eaten here 3 times in the last couple of months, once for my son's communion, a lunch with the kids and a family event. Each time the staff have been more than helpful, providing us with personalised menus at no extra cost and value for money meals for a large group of people. Staff are courteous and friendly doing every thing they can to make your meal a great experience.
Onsite there is a lovely craft shop and exhibition. Every Sunday during the summer they provide a bouncy castle for the little ones at no extra cost. There are lovely walks, duck pond so bring along some bread for the little ones to feed them, small playpark and it is all car free within this area so great peace of mind for your children's safety. Bicycle hire is available onsite.
Check out their web page for excellent arts courses, events etc

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tyrone-lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Beautifully peaceful. The staff were extremely pleasant and friendly without going over the top. Great location for exploring the beautifully unspoilt countryside. The purpose made (I think!) cottages are laid out in an interesting way and have character. The nearby visitor centre is good for the younger children with lots to do including ponds with equipment laid on to catch water creatures and identify them. We came as a family group of 7 for a wedding near Cookstown, occupying 2 cottages. It was the perfect chill out between the partying. Thanks guys! (Thanks also to the guest who found my son's lost wallet under the sofa)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank El-Muncho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Me, my friend, my mum and my brother stayed in the 'Evishatrask' cottage which sleeps 9 from the 7th until the 12th of July. It was a nice cottage but there was some problems when the water wouldn't drain in the showers but it was fixed quickly by a man who came over and drained them(I think his name was John) he was very friendly (as were nearly all of the staff!) and got the job done in just a couple of minutes. The freezer didn't work either but we never got anyone over to fix that as luckily we had no frozen food. Me and my friend shared an en suite with a double and a single bed and shower-room/bathroom. The beds where very comfortable and the room was a good size with lots of storage areas. The living room/kitchen was very big yet very cosy,but there wasn't a lot of space to store food. Unfortunately we didn't get to try the stove/woodburner because of the warm weather. We could also wash and dry our clothes in the shed next to our cottage which was handy.The scenery and an creagan is beautiful and you can walk from your cottage through the little forest down to the an creagan visitor center in less than 2mins. On the 3rd day we hired bikes and did the 5km cycle which was AMAZING thanks to the beautiful weather! The resturant food was lovely and the coffee and co cafe food was yummy too. The craft shop was very cute and some of my mums fabic hearts and birds will even be for sale in it hopefully! ('Angel A Crafts' is the name if you see them) We enjoyed our stay at An Creagan, I hope to come again some time!! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blaithin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to An Creagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Creagan

Address: Clachan Cottages, Creggan BT79 9AF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Creggan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Creggan
Price Range: £36 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — An Creagan 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your An Creagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing