We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded Resort on the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Canouan is a small island in St Vincent and the Grenadines. The rooms are small cottages which are located right on the beach and you can walk from your terrace into the crystal blue water. Diving and snorkelling are excellent. The rooms are tastefully decorated. The restaurant has a wide selection of meals with an emphasis on the usual Caribbean dishes. Alternatively, there is a restaurant on the beach. The resort is accessible by sea or by private helicopter (there is no landing field.) The powerboat ride is long and bumpy. It preferable to travel by sailboat and enjoy the journey. There is ample anchorage.

Room Tip: View of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank not_johntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

SETTING: Paradisiacal. Crystal clear waters. Shady almond and coconut trees.
DECOR: The hotel has a very South Sea islands feel, open spaces including reception and the dining areas, these with thatched roofs. Decor heavy on wood, floors, furniture and shutters all the way to the floor. Fresh flowers are placed on the bed and around the room daily. Mini fridge and flat screen TV. Comfortable bed, a choice of AC or a ceiling fan and a balcony to sit and watch the waves roll in, steps from the beach. Clean.
FOOD: Is excellent, from the freshly baked bread and rolls, but specially the breadsticks, crunchy and warm served with lunch and dinner. The extensive menu consists of innovative meals using local produce such as breadfruit gnocchi, or fusilli with conch, conch salad, all quite good. Fresh local fish every night, mahi-mahi, swordfish, kingfish, even barracuda, grilled or baked in banana leaves. Soursop sorbet There is also a delicious Indonesian Rijsttafel, a multi-plate dinner that you must ask for in advance.
Staff was always responsive, charming, ZERO attitude, on the contrary, everyone was polite, helpful and friendly. Front desk staff informative, restaurant and beach bar pleasant, even the cleaning staff . Example--we were celebrating our anniversary and my husband told the restaurant manager--who excels at his job—he must have passed it along to someone else and and when we returned to our room "enjoy your big day" was spelled in flowers on our bed! A complimentary glass of proseco was delivered to our table. Such thoughtfulness is not only appreciated but ensures customer loyalty.
The rooms have evening turn down service and towels replaced.
The only problem with Canouan is getting there. SVG advertises jet on their website. However, we found ourselves in a turbo prop making two stop at Becquia and Union islands, not mentioned at all when we purchased our tickets. We landed in Barbados from NY at 2:30 our departure was for 4:30 and nobody showed up at the SVG counter until 4:10pm,only because we managed to get a hold of an airport employee who called and got through to SVG as the phone we had was constantly busy. This employee had to rush us through security lines and we barely made it.
Going back to Tamarind Beach. It is a true jewel and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tropicalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This hotel is also a yacht club and although we were anchored in the bay we used this hotel for the yacht services that it provides. We did not stay in the hotel so unable to comment on rooms etc. The staff were all so incredibly helpful especially the girls in reception. We hired a golf buggy from the hotel to explore and do a couple of airport trips which was great fun. The food is good with two restaurants to choose from and there is entertainment several nights of the week.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SurreyConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

As the title says if you want total relaxation then this is your place. You wont be bothered by anyone and you get so relaxed it becomes an effort to walk to the restaurant in the evenings!
The only thing I could find wrong was that there was no room service for food. The rooms have beautiful balconies where we would have loved to have sat having breakfast.
The staff were wonderful and I couldn't fault any of them, Felix ran a great restaurant with superb staff and the beach staff were brilliant especially Floyd who brought us coconut in the afternoons.
I'd like to think if I am lucky to go to heaven it may be like this!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HuwEvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We decided to go back to STG after our stay in Bequia last year which was heaven.

This hotel was the end of our holiday after 5 nights in union island,

We were picked up from the ferry from union island and taken to the hotel. As it was still early in the morning we were met with smiles at first from reception but asked immediately to pay for the remainder of our stay (we had already paid for 3 nights as a deposit) but asked for the 4th. We felt this was a little overpowering. We went for breakfast and then asked if we wanted to book a table for that evening, as it was two for one drinks evening and would be busy. (We thought this was another ploy to get us to stay and again overbearing as we had just arrived. In fact we did stay fir food that evening and it was busy. A lovely atmosphere. The rest of the evenings were quiet.

The rest of the stay was lovely, the rooms were very clean and we had a lower ground floor with direct access onto the beach. The beach boys were very attentive and had our towels and sunbed covers ready each morning and they cleaned the beach each morning, the beach bar was also well managed and we had lunch one day and was quick and very efficient and plenty of food.

The drinks were expensive.

We ventured out to the rest of the island (apart from the resort at the top - canouan resort) which did not allow anyone through. We hired a beach buggy and found some beautiful beaches, not many places to eat out and once again very quiet. Mangoes restaurant delicious lobster.

All in all a quiet place (as we wished) at the end of our trip to st Vincent's.

Lovely

Room Tip: Downstairs room have a gate direct onto the beach in the far block at the end of the beach away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

If your idea of the Caribbean is going to sleep hearing the ocean, crystal waters and palm trees, this is the place for you! Definitely off the beaten path, it reminds one of the BVIs years ago.
The hotel itself rates 5 stars for the friendliness of the staff and their willingness to be helpful and make your stay a nice one.The front desk staff really go out of their way to accomodate every request. Restaurant and beach staff are great, making every effort to make you feel comfortable.

The rooms have a great low key island feel, with shutters and wood floors. The rooms are right on the beach, with porches for relaxing. (Porch furniture could be a lot more comfortable though.)
The beds are VERY comfortable and perfectly made up, including a daily accent of fresh flowers.
Internet access in the rooms could be a little spotty, but always available in the lobby and on the beach.
That said, I would give the hotel 3.5 stars for the general condition. The bathrooms, while adequate, are overdue for some updating. The fiberglass showers, with shower curtains, are a bit of a letdown in an otherwise nice room. Love the ceiling fans - you don't even need the AC! Overall maintenance of the property could use some work, although the staff works hard at keeping it very neat and clean. Painting of the buildings, sidewalks, landscaping - all could use a little refreshing. The setting, however, is gorgeous, right on the beach of a beautiful bay. The hotel photos are quite accurate.
As far as the food goes,I stayed mostly with the local fresh fish and vegetables. With Italian management, they offer pasta and pizza from a wood oven, as well. While food in the islands is expensive in general, I would say for the price, the quality is just average. The hotel could benefit from a daily happy hour, to attract the sailing crowd in greater numbers, but average around $7.50 US. They do offer some good Italian wines too.

All in all, I had a great stay as a single traveler. It was exactly what I was looking for. Take the time to go out on a boat, as the Grenadines are stunning. Absolutely loved the island - great group of local people, very friendly and hospitable. Go now - it won't be like this for much longer.
I will be back for sure!

Room Tip: First floor - you can walk right out to the beach. Second floor - more privacy. #300 building - le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jt00187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

A place to go if you want peace and quiet... not a lot happens here which is much of the attraction. Canouan is at the moment a great little island and generally unspoilt. The people are very friendly and we saw no hassling. Mangrove Restaurant along the beach worth a visit - have the special if there is one.

A trip to Tobago Cays is a must.

We flew in to the tiny airport - actually fun, and so different from the norm. Left by fast ferry Jaden Sun to Kingstown, St Vincent, another different and interesting way to travel.

The Hotel is comfortable and laid back in the best sense. Great friendly service, average food though the fish was good. We had a suite - great high ceiling, dark wood panelling, comfortable, large bed, decent balcony - exactly the right mix for the setting (who wants a modern hotel room? This is so much better).

We wil certainly consider returning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
20.7 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Pink Sands Club, Canouan
23.3 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
45 reviews
15.3 mi away
Firefly Mustique Hotel
Firefly Mustique Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mustique
152 reviews
22.7 mi away
Spring Hotel Bequia
Spring Hotel Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club

Address: Grand Bay | Canouan Island, Charlestown, Canouan
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Canouan > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range: £216 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club is a lively beachfront oasis with 40 seaside hideaways, surrounded by tropical gardens, on a long white sand beach. The low-rise property features two thatched-roof restaurants/bars: the "Palapa Restaurant", with a delightful open terrace right at the water edge, offering Italian and West Indian cuisine and the “Pirate's Cove” an informal Bar serving lighter fare. Beach bar, water sports (hydro bikes, windsurf, canoe and sunfish) and massage facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Beach Hotel And Yacht Club
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club Canouan, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing