We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming beach front hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Charming beach front hotel”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The Tamarind's rooms are on two floors & all overlook the sea. We spent three nights here at the end of a yacht charter.The bedrooms are not vast but are comfortable & well fitted out. We liked the fact that the doors facing the sea all had louvres & mosquito nets. The room also had a/c as well as ceiling fans. The maid who looked after our room produced the most wonderful effects with our towels.

There are two restaurants. Breakfast was in the main restaurant & was fine, I can recommend the bacon & scrambled egg. On two nights we ate dinner in the less formal restaurant which produced an excellent lobster ravioli & pizzas from a wood-fired oven. On our final night we dined in the main restaurant and had a superb meal: our starters included seared scallops, carpaccio of fish & an avocado & lobster salad; we all had the most beautiful grilled barracuda for our main course. There were also some very good wines on the list at a reasonable price.

Lunch was taken on the beach, ordered from the bar & delivered from the main kitchen. The salads were very good & large enough to share if you'd like something light.

The beaches were well-groomed & it felt a very safe place to be.

The service was excellent throughout.

We would be very happy to re-visit the Tamarind.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPPHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    63
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
100
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My friends recently did a two centre holiday to the Colony Club in Barbados and the Tamarind yacht Club on Canouan in the Grenadines.They could not praise the Tamarind enough.It was in an idylic location, the staff were so friendly and attentive, the food was out of this world.Its a real get away from it all, pamper yourself holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Yup, the hotel is a little dated, the rooms could do with some tlc however there are many other places in the caribbean you can go for swish modern & no soul. This hotel is on a marvellous beach(great for swimming) & yacht watching, the food is good with a choice of 2 restaurants & as previously mentioned an outstanding Italian deli. The staff are great, nothing to much trouble, reception which can be a let down was always a pleasant experience & the Italian management appear to have their finger on the pulse, so thanks to everyone for creating a very enjoyable stay!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The island of Canouan is still just being discovered, for some a good thing for others bad. It's a tiny island with about 1500 citizens, the Tamarind Beach Hotel, a pretty much one lane town, a (very) limited market or two, a couple vegetable/fruit sellers, a billionaire's Disney retreat to the north and some stunning sea surrounding. Our experience at the Tamarind Beach Hotel was always tempered by the warmth of the people including the Italian management and the local staff. The hotel, the first on the island, was built in the 1990s and looks like it. It's a little tired, a little of a backpackers place but also some genuine charm and reality there too.

The "yacht club" is quite an overstatement. There used to be a "club" called the Moorings but they pulled out with the economic downturn several years ago. That doesn't mean there aren't some fabulous yachts in the harbor, but they're just passing through on a tour of the Grenadines. One of our lunches was spent eyeing the floating city that was Bill Gate's complete with a dozen launches, a helicopter on the bow and, so we're told, 80 staterooms.

For the most part the hotel had one restaurant open most evenings. The local fish was the best choice as the Italian dishes were just fair, but a good wood oven pizza. Wednesday nights were happy hour and the place hops with tourists and expats working on the island. It was a nice vibe.

Whatever you do, don't miss the Italian deli. The cheeses, meats, wines, olive oils and treats are all imported and of the highest quality. For lunch try one of the two hot entrees or have them make a wonderful panini sandwich.

We hear very mixed stories about the "exclusive" resort on the north end of the Island. Apparently it has fallen on repeated hard times since it was a Raffles Resort back in the early 2000s. While we were told a new multi-million dollar hotel called the Pink Sands has just been built by the same person that brought you Sandy Lane in Barbados, it stands empty and closed due to some legal feuding with other investors. They say this place has been jinxed since the 1990s. But, this was all third hand because you can't get past their security checkpoints to even look.

There are certainly other destinations in the Caribbean with better food, better accommodations but probably not better or more genuine smiles than those you'll get at the Tamarind Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jugendstrasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

If relaxing on a beautiful beach watching yachts all day appeals this is the place for you, we had 7 days doing just that and it was wonderful. The food at this hotel is excellent, menu doesn't change but daily specials add the variety. Service throughout is excellent, the staff are warm and friendly. There are some beautiful spots on the island so a trip around it is a must, the hotel will provide this and transport to any place you see on such a trip that you wish to return to for snorkelling etc.

Our suite was beautiful, comfortable and tastefully furnished.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maur2043630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My wife and I spent ten days at the Tamarind Beach Hotel this month (February 2014). We have taken winter vacations in the Caribbean on and off for the past 30 years, and every year for the past five or six years. We are in our 60s and have no children. The Tamarind Beach Hotel is for us the best place we've been, It was just about perfect, although it is probably not for everyone. The two negatives that I can see are: (1) there is absolutely nothing to do other than sunbathe, swim in the Caribbean (which is right outside your door), and drink daiquiris and read novels while sitting on the comfortable veranda looking out at the sailboats moored in the bay; and (2) you have to eat most of your meals at one of the two restaurants in the hotel (or, incongruously, there is a first-class Italian deli on the premises which has wonderful cheeses and cold-cuts (superb mortadella) and they will make you great sandwiches as a change from the restaurants. The hotel is owned by Italians and the gracious and charming hotel manageress is Italian, as is the food service manager, which I suppose explains the deli. Still, it's a bit like finding a lox and bagel shop in a Texas border town.) (There are two or three restaurants in town, one of which is only open on Wednesday, but that's about it.) The food in the hotel's restaurants is very good, and the menus are reasonably extensive, so we didn't find the limitation to be much of a problem. There is a large new resort on the other side of the island, and it is possible that next year you can eat at one of the several restaurants that will be attached to that facility.

Both of these possible problem issues arise from Canouan's size, which is just three square miles, and which was part of the attraction for us. We live in the middle of New York City, so going to a place so away-from-it-all seemed a plus, but for those who want more facilities such as a pool or gym, these things aren't available. On the other hand, as I mentioned, the Caribbean is right outside your door, and the sand leading to the sea is soft and there is virtually no surf (the hotel is on the leeward side of the Island) or undertow.

The hotel is very well run. The rooms are kept spotless by the warm and welcoming staff, and the service at the restaurants and beach bar is first-rate. The entire facility is charming and designed to fit into the landscape, and it is beautifully maintained. I walk with a cane, which the hotel manageress noticed when we checked in and she immediately moved us to a first floor room from the second floor room to which we were initially assigned. The first floor facility was fancier than the room we had booked, but it was available and we were given it at no extra charge. That's the sort of thing that brings you back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HTBNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is a tough review for me to do. The location, beach, staff, and the food were all exceptional, especially the staff. From the front desk, to the wait staff, to the beach help, they are the friendliest and nicest people I have ever met....absolute first rate!

But...

I had read a review on here about the sound of the ocean at night, and this reviewer was dead-on. You had better like the sound of the ocean waves at night because it's coming right through your windows. Actually, the wall of windows facing the water are not windows...they are ALL screens covered by wood shutters. The cool factor of walking a few steps to the water from your porch is great and all, but holy cow! at night, the sound is relentless! My fellow crew members were fine with it, but I really had a hard time with it. So if you love that sound, by all means, you will love this hotel.

Like I said, this is a tough review for me. I could have left that off, but then I wouldn't be giving my usual "Honest and Direct" review. And isn't that why we all use trip advisor?

Room Tip: I thought it would be nice to be on the 2nd level, but being able to walk right out to the beach fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honest_Direct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
20.7 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
9.7 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pink Sands Club
The Pink Sands Club
#2 of 3 in Canouan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
22.7 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club

Property: Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
Address: Grand Bay | Canouan Island, Charlestown, Canouan
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Canouan > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club is a lively beachfront oasis with 40 seaside hideaways, surrounded by tropical gardens, on a long white sand beach. The low-rise property features two thatched-roof restaurants/bars: the "Palapa Restaurant", with a delightful open terrace right at the water edge, offering Italian and West Indian cuisine and the “Pirate's Cove” an informal Bar serving lighter fare. Beach bar, water sports (hydro bikes, windsurf, canoe and sunfish) and massage facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Beach Hotel And Yacht Club
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club Canouan, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing