We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pineapple Fields Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2007

This is a new property (timeshare/rental). Construction has ended. However, some cosmetic work is still being done on some of the units as well as some of the landscaping. The property is located across the street from the beach.

We stayed in a spacious upper level one bedroom apartment (#722). The decoration is light and airy. Everything looks very new and very pretty. There's a living room, bedroom, small kitchen (with all the cooking appliances and dinnerware), bathroom, and 2 decks (front and back). The unit has a.c., ceiling fans, washer/dryer, a safe, tv/dvd player in bedroom and living room, tape/cd player in living room. There is daily maid service. A nice pool is located in the middle of the property (deepest depth 4.5 feet). I read in an earlier review to bring your own beach towels. We did. But there were e beach towels in our unit. Pineapple Fields was definitely a home away from home. We loved it.

Some negatives:
--I had a big issue with holes in the ground that weren't covered properly. Not a good thing if you have kids running around.
--The landscaping around our building wasn't done, so the immediate surrounding area wasn't very pretty to look at.
--The water pressure in our shower wasn't good.

TIPPY'S: This restaurant is part of Pineapple Fields. It's located right on the beach, across from the resort. They only serve lunch and dinner, and are closed on Mondays. You can ask them to charge the bill to your room. We loved the look of the place, but the food and the service were a mixed bag. One particular waitress seriously needs to think about changing jobs since she seemed so unhappy to work there. Anyhoo, we had dinner at Tippy's 4 times. On our first night we had the lasagna ($15/each) which was EXCELLENT. On our second night, I had the cajun grouper ($25) which was JUST OKAY. My husband had the blackened tuna with mango salsa ($28) which he said was NOT GOOD (not cooked enough). For our third dinner, we had the NY steak with herbs and mustard butter ($25/each) which was OKAY. Our son had the cheese pizza ($13.50) which we tasted and thought it was GOOD. For our fourth dinner, my husband went back to the lasagna and I tried the chicken fajitas ($23) which were VERY GOOD. With desserts and drinks, dinner would usually come to a little over $100.

Some other prices:
--Caesar salad $8
--Creme brulee cheesecake $8 - EXCELLENT
--Chocolate brownie cake $8 - VERY GOOD
--Strawberry daiquiri $7
--Small bottle of water $2.50
--Juice $3

DELI: There's a deli where the Pineapple Fields office is. We ordered sandwiches on our last day and wished we had done so sooner. They were VERY GOOD. Cost is about $9. The deli closes at 3pm.

I posted a detailed review with pictures in the forum section (beaches and restaurants we went to).

Enjoy your trip if you do decide to stay there!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank MrsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2007

We stayed here the end of May based on the TripAdvisor reviews, I love this site for planning adventures! Although Glass Window Bridge is touted the narrowest place on Earth, know that Eleuthera is a relatively long island (over a hundred miles). If you are going direct to Pineapple Fields, you'll want to fly into the Governor's Harbour Airport. We flew into the N. Eleuthera Airport because we stayed at "Briland" (Harbour Island) for a few days before going down & staying at Pineapple Fields. Would be quite a long Taxi ride from N. Eleuthra @ around $80 to $90 to Pineapple Fields... but Tamara at Pineapple Fields was great and she directed us to Royale Williams in N. Eleuthera who has a couple of cars that he rents out ($80 a day + $100 security deposit which he gives you back). Royale picked us up at the dock for free and took us to his house, where we got the car, then when we returned it, he comps you to free ride to N. Eleuthera Airport... so if you want to do Harbour Island first for a few days, then Pineapple Fields (which is great because they have washer/dryer in all the condos) then Royale Williams (he's Taxi #12) is the key to the logistics of making it work... because Eleuthera is so long, you'll need a car anyway. Otherwise, Tamara can direct you to car rentals around Govenor's Harbour. They drive on the "Left", yet all the vehicles are set up normally for driving on the "Right"... a bit unnerving, had to keep repeating the mantra "Stay Left" while driving, especially when making turns, lol.

We loved Pineapple Fields so much, we've already got the paints chips to try and match the interior colours to our living room and are looking for those magic screens they have that you can't even see until you use them (they roll out & connect via magnet, then roll out of sight to not spoil view when not in use). They also have a neat outside shower tree that you can rinse the sand off you before going into condo, alot of neat ideas that are now on my "Honey do" list, lol.

Great eating just a short walk to Tippy's... try the grouper! In fact, the owner of Bahama House Inn (where we stayed on Harbour Island) closed up his Bed & Breakfast right after we left there to go to Tippy's on Eleuthera Island for his birthday dinner.

Pineapple Fields has a really beautiful large pool that we had all to ourselves one day when it was too windy on the beach. We had one of the upper front condos which I recommend for the views... nice decks with comfy furniture both front & back. Free room safe in bedroom closet, full kitchen with granite counters, iron & board, hair dryer, remote controlled air conditioners in living area and bedroom, everything was great! Roomy & uncrowded, we were very pleased.

Fridays there is a public fish fry @ Anchor Bay in Govenor's Harbour, also near there on Cupid's Cay is a place where you can get Cuban Cigars... best cigar I've ever had and I normally can't stand cigars, but just had to try one... glad I did!



  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank surfplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2007

Lovely apartments in a great setting, with everything you need for your stay. Kitchen is well equipped & there is also a washing machine & tumble drier. Beach is a few minutes walk away, & also Tippy's restaurant, which we ate at a few times..........the food was great there.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RAOLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2007

Eleuthera is known for the beauty of its beaches and the beautiful demeanor of its people. This is a pure, underpopulated, unspoiled place. There are no neon signs, no blaring displays of commercialism, and very little "noise" of any sort. Eleuthera is subtle and graceful. The spirit of the place is, at first, hard to find; fortunately it seems to find you. One institution on this island is a beacon amid El's understated splendor: Pineapple Fields and its beachfront restaurant Tippy's. Situated near Governor's Harbor and a 10-minute drive from the airport, every room at PF has a view of the ocean. The rooms at PF are really suites, with a well-stocked kitchen, cable TV, free wireless internet, and state-of-the-art appliances. Lest I make this hotel sound inappropriately modernistic, know that the decor is strictly island. Clean, comfortable and cheery, I wanted for nothing, whether extra pillows, a coffee maker, blender!, etc. Maid service was unobtrusive and perfectionistic. The grounds of PF are Edenic, but in a rustic, island sort of way. The pool was clean and inviting. The PF staff, including owner David Barlyn were friendly, knowledgable, and resourceful. The hotel's main office also serves as a gift shop and deli; the latter selling gourmet food items and wine, including godly croissants and other homemade, often Bahamian baked goods. PF sits just across the road from the ocean and the famous and popular Tippy's. Tippy's is hard to put into word. Imagine an open-air bar and restaurant whose set pieces seem to derive from a nautical Jazz Age. One could imagine Hemingway and Cousteau drinking at the bar during some lost afternoon in the 1950's, staring out at the Atlantic and dreaming about the sea. The food at Tippy's, considering the varied menu, is consistently exceptional. Fresh ingredients, a French chef, daily specials, a full bar and an interesting wine list add up to some of the happier lunches and dinner I've ever had. The mood at the place is hauntingly effective: a great place to get drunk or full. The prices are a tad high, but so are the emotions associated with an experience there. The service is a little disorganized, but only inasmuch as the island of Eleuthera is itself an odds-and-ends compendium of beautiful discordance. This is all to say: that when visiting Eleuthera, stay at Pineapple Fields, eat at Tippy's, and do your best to leave the island without either a) planning a return trip or b) buying real estate!

Stayed: February 2007
33  Thank I1240DMdanielr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2007

It was the best get away I have. The location was great with the beautifull beach, Great restaurant "Tippy's" with a great chef, David Peltier. Don't expect the Five Star or Five Diamond but expect the honesty, warm welcome, great food, best view, the best fish I have this is a great chef. We eat every day during our stay and it was an honor for us. The lodging at Pineapple Fields make us feel home, we can do our morning cooking, our Landry. You nedd to enjoy the place. It is worth it.

Stayed: January 2007
5  Thank Enjoymylive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2006

Pineapple Fields exceeded all of our expectations! Wonderful central Eleuthra location-Some units still under construction (but that did not bother us). The units are like a small one bedroom apartment-fully equipped-kitchen, open to the living room ,covered porch--washer/dryer/separate spacious bedroom, Everything you need except beach towels and beach chairs. You need to bring everything-coffee, sugar, etc-you can pack a cooler and check with your luggage. Bring cash-most places do not take credit cards....

There is a great deli as well as Their resturant "Tippy's" is wonderful-right on the property--beach front, to be exact Beautiful pool area in the center of the complex. The people of Eleuthra are the most friendly and accomidating--We can not wait to go back! We walked the beach every day and did not see anyone else. This is the place to go for peace and quiet-hardly any nite life or shopping. While we were there the phones went out (get a local cell phone at the airport-US phones do not work). We never could figure out the tv (thank goodness)...and one day we did not have water---Like I said we can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank mizloi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2006

We arrived to find our reserved (& paid for) rental (The Folly) in gross disrepair & uninhabitable for our family. Fortunately we found Pineapple Fields! It is a gorgeous condo type complex dirctly across a very quiet road from Tippy's, a great restaurant, & the most beautiful beach & water you can imagine! There is a beautiful pool which was just being completed & beautifully landscaped grounds. Management is fantastic!!

47  Thank sberthusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Governor's Harbour
3.6 mi away
Villa Allamanda, Eleuthera
Villa Allamanda, Eleuthera
#2 of 6 in Governor's Harbour
120 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sky Beach Club
Sky Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Governor's Harbour
333 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Bougainvillea
La Bougainvillea
#6 of 6 in Governor's Harbour
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Tropical Dreams Rentals
Tropical Dreams Rentals
#1 of 2 in North Palmetto Point
43 reviews
5 mi away
Hut Pointe Inn
Hut Pointe Inn
#5 of 6 in Governor's Harbour
94 reviews
0 mi away
Squires Estate
Squires Estate
#9 of 13 in Eleuthera
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pineapple Fields Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineapple Fields Resort

Address: Banks Rd., Governor's Harbour EL-29924, Eleuthera
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Eleuthera > Governor's Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Governor's Harbour
Price Range: £162 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pineapple Fields Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort and restaurant are located on the most beautiful beach in the Out Islands. The property features an oversized pool, acres of lush tropical landscape, a gourmet deli, boutique and sporting/rental shop. One-bedroom units feature a master bedroom and bath, living room with a queen size pull out sofa-bed, full kitchens, verandas with teak furniture, cable TV, ceiling fans, AC, wireless internet and in-room phones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pineapple Fields Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pineapple Fields Eleuthera
Pineapple Fields Hotel Eleuthera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing