We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic stay”
Review of Rookery Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rookery Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edingworth
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Stayed here on a groupon voucher. Really enjoyed our stay, both dinner and breakfast were delicious.Room was very comfortable. Only thing that was missing was a nice bar area, the one there now is very small. Woud love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stella186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RookeryManor, Manager at Rookery Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

Thank you kindly for your wonderful review.

Kind regards,

Nicky Clapp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

888 - 894 of 940 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2011

We stayed one night. Reception very helpful, room clean, bright and well decorated. Excellent three course dinner and a splendid breakfast both with efficient, friendly service. Beautiful, well maintained gardens. Nice Spa but receptionist rather lacking in effort and initiative, and towel shortage didn't help. Main drawback is that it is right next to the M5 motorway which is very noisy! A great shame, we had to keep our window closed at night because it was so loud.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RookeryManor, Manager at Rookery Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Thank you kindly for your review.

Unfortunately we can not move the M5 - the manor house is 16th Century and was here longer then the motorway network; so we do our very best to counteract the noise pollution. We are in the process of building a bund walling which has been granted by the local council which will eradicate 80% of the traffic noise. We are fortunate that the motorway doesn't effect the many events we host here at Rookery Manor" We are keen to offer our guests a memorable stay and wish our guests a pleasant and noise free nights sleep.

We hope we see you back in the next year and would love to here about your experience then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

After reading some recent reviews I was a bit worried, but had a really lovely one night stay, meal and breakfast with a Groupon deal.

The room was small but well proportioned, really clean and had a nice cottage like feel.

The stand out feature of our stay though was the quality of the evening meal. The chicken main course was honestly one of the best main courses I have had in years and the starter and main were both great too.
Breakfast was also good.

The only points that I would say could have been improved were the service at dinner, it was ok but if the waitress was a little more attentive it would have felt better, for example, I would expect the waitress to pour our wine and water. Also the hotel could do with a more defined bar area, we had a drink but the bar seemed more for staff to get drinks at meal times than any other times.

Overall we had a really good time and would definitely go back, having a glass of wine in those grounds is what a good mini break is made of.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelsandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RookeryManor, Manager at Rookery Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2011

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
I would just like to thank you about the comments about our lounge bar, we are aware since moving our Reception area to the hub of the site it has taken a large proportion of our lounge away; therefore we are in teh process of applying for planning permission to extend the area.
I will also pass on your comments to our Head Chef and his team.
We are always trying to improve our servicesso will be discussing your concerns with our Banqueting Manager.
We hope you do return and await your future comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

My friend Jane and i visited Rookery Manor today using our Groupon voucher and were delighted with our experience - yes the approach to the spa may be a little clinical but I am guessing that is because it is so new and the landscaping needs a little time to develop in keeping with the rest of the mature garden, however when inside the spa was clean and modern and the staff were very friendly and attentive. We were greeted by Sarah who did an excelllent job of showing us around and looked after us throughout the day - we did find it a little odd that we were asked to remove our shoes immediately on entry - may we suggest the offer of little slipper?
Jane used the hydropool whilst I lounged around, we both had a go on the "jiggling" machine which seemed intent on high lighting every wobble but was good fun.
Lunch was served in the main body of the hotel so we had a little stroll around the grounds on the way - it certainly looks a lovely place for a wedding with many features for wedding photos. Our lunch was served promptly and was very tasty - we only opted for panini and a sandwich but both came well presented and were very tasty, our waiter Colin made us feel welcome and talked us through the menu.
Atfter lunch we had our turn with the garra fish followed by a manicure and pedicure - our beauticians Lisa & Milly were very thorough ,friendly and made us feel like valued customers.
All in all we felt we had a very good value day out with a bit of pampering and the novelty of the fish pedicure. Yes the changing rooms are small but the spa is not huge so you are never going to get a huge number of people in there. We would happily come again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bmwjools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RookeryManor, Manager at Rookery Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Thank you kindly for your review, it is a pleasure to read your comments.
We have invested in spa shoes which are available for hire. We ask guests to remove shoes, is due to the floor colour and the area needs to be kept hygenically clean. Also, with guests going in and out to the garden it stops the spread of infection.
We are also pleased you enjoyed lunch, I will pass on your comments to Colin the waiter and the head Chef Alex.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Rookery Manor & the Retreat & Spa in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We used a Groupon voucher for our stay which I bought because the hotel picture and description looked idyllic. In reality "idyllic" is the very last word anyone with any taste would use to describe it! The room (which was supposed to be a double) was absolutely minute and the sharp angle of the eaves made it impossible to stand up straight in most of the limited space there was around the bed. It smelt musty. The window looked straight onto people eating in the restaurant and people who were staying at "Tin" (that was the name of the room opposite!) Yes, some clueless person had named all the rooms and had tacky plaques made and put on each door - "Paper", "Leather", "Wood", "Tin". Ours was named "Willow" which conjures up images of something rather tasteful and serene. Oh, the irony of it!!

The spa was the only thing that prevented our stay from being a complete write-off and we spent £130 there (a little on the pricey side for 2 massages).

We ate in the restaurant in the evening. The food was awful. I ordered the pork which turned out to be a wedge of fat swimming in single cream - it was inedible. My partner had sea bass which was served with an over done, motley looking jacket potato and some lettuce leaves. The wine was vinegary. The ambience was non existent. We couldn't wait to get home. We got up early the next morning and left.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Caroltwocoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RookeryManor, Manager at Rookery Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Thank you for your response. I am very surprised at your comments regarding the rooms, we have received an excellent award from AA! We host over 200 weddings a year plus over 100 conference events therefore our hotel is at 85%-90% capacity most of the year and accommodation is one of the very few things guests comment on in a negative way! Our housekeeping team pride themselves on the standards of the rooms! The hotel is based around a 16th century manor house which was once a nunnery; the coach house and other bedrooms are delightful created from farm buildings; so if expecting new you will be disappointed but all rooms are highly furnished and refurbished at least once a year.
Since we have taken on our new catering team, I am again surprised that your meal was not to your likely and can only stress that you should have brought this to the Duty Manager's attention who would have investigated this with the Head Chef!
Again, your comments will be investigated, and can only thank you for bringing your thoughts to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Stayed here as part of the Groupon voucher and having read a number of reviews like the person before me I wasn't expecting too much but I was pleasantly surprised.

The staff on arrival were polite. We stayed in Room 1 - Paper which was clean and tidy. It was a little on the small side, but this didn't put us off at all, it had a cosy cottage feel to it. We were booked for dinner at 9pm and although there was a fair few people in there we didn't wait too long for our courses. Food was delicious, couldn't fault it at all.

We used the spa (hot tub and hydra pool), again after reading others complaints I wasn't holding my breath but the Spa is lovely. The decor is ultra modern and chic with GHDs in the changing rooms (ladies will know what I mean!). The lady at the spa reception was attentive and helpful.

After the success of spa and dinner I was waiting for a let down, but breakfast too was fine, lots of choice and enjoyable.

If you've read some of the 'horror' reviews I must say I am surprised because I/we had a lovely experience at Rooker Manor.

The groupon deal was brilliant value for money and if it comes up again for this place, I'll be returning!

p.s. Impressive gardens with loads of paths you can walk around and have a sit down on the many benches.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RookeryManor, Manager at Rookery Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Thank you kindly for your review; it is heartwarming to read your testimonial.
We take all comments seriously and will respond as fairly as possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Many thanks,

Nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We bought a groupon voucher for a Garra Fish pedicure costing £45.00 each, to include a day pass for the spa, which at the time seemed reasonable.

The spa from the outside looks a bit like a motorway service station, quite modern and clean but not much character.

The fish treatment was amusing, but as you have to sit up on boxes with the fish tank beneath you are dangling your legs, which I found very uncomfortable. I also cant see any particular benefits, I would much prefer a 'human' pedicure.

There was very little else to warrant spending a day there, unless you wanted to spend lots more money on other treatments.

The pool area is small and very noisy when the pool jets are going, and if someone starts up the power plate too it's deafening. Its not very relaxing if you want to lie and read a book.

The outside hot tub area is very noisy as you can hear the traffic noise from the busy road, so again not a great place to relax.

Two small luke warm hot chocolates cost us £5.00.

All in all not a great experience and certainly not value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RookeryManor, Manager at Rookery Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Thank you for bringing the comments to our attention!
I am very surprised you can hear the traffic from the Spa Garden, as this is very enclosed and the furthest point on the site from any noise pollutioin and set within a very tranquil setting.
The Garra Spa is a proven treatment world-wide, at least you have experienced this historical tratement and decided it is not for you, unfortunately not all treatments are suitable to everyone.
I am sorry you found the spa not to your taste, but as clearly stated the spa is not a leisure area it is a treatment centre with the benefit of wet facilities.
Again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edingworth
4.8 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
464 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
650 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
194 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
5.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Manor

Address: Rookery Manor Edingworth Road | Weston-super-Mare, Edingworth, Weston-super-Mare BS24 0JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare > Edingworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edingworth
Price Range: £54 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and exceptional service awaits you at 16th century Rookery Manor – the South West's award-winning, 4-star boutique hotel and spa.Set in the heart of Somerset, this historic estate is a beautiful backdrop for your spa break, wedding, corporate event, private party or dining experience.Owner Ian Clapp, whose family has lived at the manor for four generations, has created a unique venue with stunning lakeside gardens and a luxurious Elemis spa.Ideally situated in 28 acres of countryside, yet with easy access to the M5, Rookery Manor is the perfect hotel for all kinds of special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Rookery Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Manor Hotel Edingworth
Rookery Manor Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset - Edingworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing