We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rookery Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rookery Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edingworth
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just spent a very relaxing spa break at rookery manor with three family members. Spa was great and staff were very friendly. We had a couple of problems with our rooms but they were delt with very quickly. Good choice at breakfast. Altovether a very relaxing break. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 715joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    216
    134
    73
    48
See reviews for
107
436
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed lastight. My lovely daughter bought it a a xmas pressy. Our room was lovely in the lodge with terrace outside. Very clean ! The spa was lovely too and just what i needed. I didnt have any treatments but my daughter had a head massage . The pool wasnt as warm as i would have liked but the hot tub was nice and warm. Spa staff were very nice. One of the massage chairs had seen better days though. We had a lovely 3 course dinner and were served well. Not too sure about the breakfast though, although the hotel was not busy we waited for ages for food:( only honey available for the toast and no butter on the tables. The only other niggle i had was that to get to reception you had to walk round the outside of the place and not get to it internally. But i would go back

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lulah_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have just got back from a 2 night stay at Rookery Manor. Our room was in the lodge and was lovely with a nice bathroom, large bed, terrace, elemis toiletries and free wifi. Unfortunately we could everything in the room above ours including snoring and them walking across the room which made it very difficult to sleep. The spa is small but pleasant however they are very keen for you to book in advance even if you don't want any treatments. We had a lovely three course meal in the restaurant and both breakfasts were good. We got our stay as a Groupon deal but I would have been reluctant to pay full price due to the poor sleep quality.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KattyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, Manager at Rookery Manor, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
I am pleased you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant however it's disappointing that you didn't have a good night's sleep. We are in consultation with our architects about options for sound proofing in the Lodge and hope to get this work done as quickly as possible. We do offer Manor House rooms on the special deals we run and these can be requested at the time of booking if preferred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

My wife and I stayed for just one night. The venue was easy to find and check in was easy. Room very pleasant, clean and well appointed and no traffic noise from the nearby motorway.
We had arranged to meet friends for dinner. The menu in the room pack (dated Nov 2013) contained a good selection of dishes so we were looking forward to a good evening meal.
However, when we arrived at the restaurant ( a huge, overblinged room with a rather spookey piano playing by itself on the stage) we were disappointed to find the menu contained a choice of only 5 main courses.
More disappointment when the waitress arrived to tell us "Sorry the fish is off "
OK, that left only 4 choices so we all ordered the chicken dish. "Sorry," said the waitress, "we only have 2 chicken dishes left."
OK, that left a choice of 3, one of which was a vedgie meal so really, a choice of 2.
The meals served were not the best. The chicken was dry and the pasta overcooked. Portions were also rather small. Not what we expected and all round a rather disappointing meal.
It was a great pity as the rooms and hotel grounds were excellent.

Room Tip: Bring your own food, Fish and chips, pizza, kebab. All would be better than in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaptainkrunchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, Manager at Rookery Manor, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Our customer feedback is very important to us and we have had very positive comments about the current menu, however, in aiming to meet the expectations of all of our guests the menu is being updated again this week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We visited mid-January on a one hight DB&B (Groupon) dealfor our 41st Wedding Anniversary. On arrival all seemed very impressive (there was a Wedding Fayre in Progress so very busy) and we were allocated our room in the lodge. The room was more than adequate and very comfortable - no complaints here. However, when we went to the Spa we were informed that there had been a power cut the night before and that the pool temperature was not as high as it should have been. It might not have been quite as warm as it should have been, but it was still usable. However, whilst sat in the pool, there were very noticable brown stains on the laminated ceiling (between the panel joins). I stood up and wiped my hand across them and they came off quite easily. Why the hotel cannot clean these stains off I do not undestand as it detracts from the experience.

Dinner. Well what can I say? I think I was served the smallest Scallops one could buy (3 of them, each less than 2cm in diameter). The main course of lamb arrived, and was again a very small portion, not only this, but only luke warm. I did complain and was told that it had been on a hotplate so should have been fine. It was taken back to the kitchen and heated through, but this led to it being overcooked and dry.(We were not charged the supplementary cost for our meal choise as a result)

Breakfast. The cooked breakfast was adequate for our needs, although a distinct lack of the advertised breakfast buffet, only a single choice of cereals, a few fruit juices and some Danish pastries being available (and a restaurant manager who looked as though he slept in his suit and lost his tie) Service was very slow.

All in all, this was reasonable value as a Groupon, however, if this is the normal standard, I would not dream of paying full price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kd2001Swindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, Manager at Rookery Manor, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Please be assured that the Spa is deep cleaned on a very regular basis and the water marks you refer to are highly unusual. I'm disappointed to receive negative feedback about your restaurant experience and your comments have been passed to the chef. The menu is changed on a regular basis and I hope you have not been deterred from visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

My husband booked a night at Rockery Manor as a surprise for my birthday. It is a wonderful venue, peaceful and relaxing, a good place to recharge your batteries. The staff were very attentive and our room was light, spacious and very comfortable. The food was delicious although the portions were perhaps smaller than usual. We both enjoyed the spa facilities which were small but adequate and I had a back massage which was superb.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theblondespider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, Manager at Rookery Manor, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for this review, I am really pleased you had a good stay. However, I note your comment about the portion size and will review this with the chef. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Me and my husband have just got back from a spa break at rookery spa and manor hotel and was completly amazed at what a fantastic time we had! The staff at the spa were so kind and helpful and really made the experience unforgetable. The food was exceptional and served in the beautiful iris restaurant and the staff really made the experience personal and were very attentive to all the guests! We stayed in the sapphire room in the manor house and the views of the gardens were absolutely delightful! The room was clean and had everything you would need, including some very seductive twinkling lights on the ceiling. Im very jealous of the people getting married here because the venue is gorgeous and the staff are superb! !!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexy199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, Manager at Rookery Manor, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
It's always a pleasure to receive great feedback about our staff - they work hard at trying to ensure all guests have a good stay and I'm pleased that yours was so enjoyable. Thank you, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edingworth
4.8 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#4 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
8.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#5 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Manor

Property: Rookery Manor
Address: Rookery Manor Edingworth Road | Weston-super-Mare, Edingworth, Weston-super-Mare BS24 0JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare > Edingworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edingworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and exceptional service awaits you at 16th century Rookery Manor – the South West's award-winning, 4-star boutique hotel and spa.Set in the heart of Somerset, this historic estate is a beautiful backdrop for your spa break, wedding, corporate event, private party or dining experience.Owner Ian Clapp, whose family has lived at the manor for four generations, has created a unique venue with stunning lakeside gardens and a luxurious Elemis spa.Ideally situated in 28 acres of countryside, yet with easy access to the M5, Rookery Manor is the perfect hotel for all kinds of special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rookery Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Manor Hotel Edingworth
Rookery Manor Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset - Edingworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing