We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant drags hotel down”
Review of Rookery Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rookery Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edingworth
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Booked late after trip to Cheddar Gorge and the hotel itself was set in a nice setting but the noise from the M5 (am guessing) was loud, thank god for double glazing! Bed was comfy and room was alright but the branded shampoo bottles had been filled with non branded products according to my expert wife and there was no hair dryer in the room although there was supposed to be.

The real issue with this place is the restaurant, my daughters (6yrs old) meal arrived and the beans were microwaved burnt and dry, the mashed potato was so lumpy we thought it was cauliflower at first. My wifes soup came in a tiny bowl with no bread and my pate looked more like two scoops of ice-cream, nothing as you would expect from a 4 star establishment. It was so bad we ended up walking out and went down the road. The restaurant manager actually agreed with our comments, so the one good thing is they tell the truth at the Rookery!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barkie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (913)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Looking for a place to stay as we where due to attend a wedding at nearby Clevedon, my husband found this with a Travel Zoo offer. £110 per room, with dinner, bed and breakfast. As my mother in law was with us, Colin contacted the hotel direct and they did a good rate for her as well of £70 for the same. Arrived at about 7pm after a short in distance, but long in time (Friday of the may half term!) To discover the hotel was hosting the local senior schools prom! However, despite the small inconvenience of finding the temporary reception, we where greeted warmly by the head waiter of the resturant, Martin, who made us feel very welcome. Our room was located on the top floor of the manor house. The room was "boutiquie" with a lovely view of the garden, although we did also get a view of the M5. Because if the prom, we where told that the dinner would need to be served after 8.30, which actually suited us as we were still full from the afternoon tea we had eaten in Bath. Unfortunately, the walk to the restaurant took us right past the prom venue, but this really was the only issue as the noise did not reach our room. The food was very tasty with special mention to the Lemon Parfait dessert, but portion sizes where small and I'm not sure if they would have been enough if we where paying full price or where still full from the tea. Also, the voucher did include prosecco, which we didn't get. However, the service was very good with special
mention to Martin and Margaret. Breakfast in the morning was all self-service, but was hot without being dry, and plenty of it.

The room was very comfortable. It was in the eaves of the building and the access staircase has a height issue, so would be challenging for anyone over about 5ft 10ins. The shower in the en-suite was fabulous, hot and strong. 2 minor complaints, there is obviously a damp issue with the bathroom as the toilet roll holder and radiator had rust on them and the mirror over the basin was damaged and not well lit, which made putting my make up on a challenge. Also, may I suggest umbrellas in the wardrobe of the rooms, or available at reception? When we arrived it was extremely wet and there was no way to avoid going away from cover to get to the bedroom. However, despite the small gripes, we had a very pleasant, hospitible stay and would consider staying again if back in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had two days at this lovely hotel. Food excellent service the same. Quality of accommodation very good. Spa pool not really for swimming but very relaxing. Beautiful grounds pond and gardens well kept.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariepritchard-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked a one night stay and had a fairly negative experience. We tried to get some tea and cake and the waiter could not have been less helpful (audibly huffing at our request). We were served some cake we had not chosen (take it or leave it effectively). We then went to the spa as we had booked and it was closing at 5:00 (bank holiday - fair enough) but were turned away at 4:10 as they don’t allow entry after 4:00. This was handled very curtly, particularly as we had not been informed of this either when booking or upon arrival at the hotel an hour earlier.
The room was pleasant and quite comfortable and clean but stiflingly hot overnight. Opening the window was the only option but the hotel is immediately adjacent to the M5.
The evening medal was mostly good but we were served pink pork meat and when we pointed it out there was no explanation/apology. The aforementioned waiter was on duty - he really does not know how to relate to customers. The other (female) waiter was very good.
Breakfast was very average - all the items overcooked.
We would not return or recommend it. Such a shame as the building we stayed in and the grounds are beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the motorway as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JDButters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I spent a night at the Rookery Manor on a deal, which included food and breakfast. We had a room in the annex next to the hotel, the room was very clean and modern with a small area outside to sit and overlook the garden. My only complaint is that you could hear people in the room above, and in and out of attached rooms. The food in the restaurant was excellent, But there was no ambience and the room was a bit dark. The breakfast finished at 10.00 am you had to check out at 10.30. so when we got down to breakfast at 09.30am there was not much choice left.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICKFBERKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked on the phone as heard an advert about a blissful spa package, rang up and booked to be told everyone needed to put down a £10 deposit which we wouldn't get back if cancelled. So I collected everyone's despoits and called again one week later to be told that they no longer do £10 per person deposit and that I needed to put down 50% per person. I spoke to the manager and told them they can't tell me one thing then change their minds. We had an agreement! With some persuasion they let us book with just £10 per person as agreed.
As we booked it early in the year by the time the day came I had a few cancellations who lost their £10 deposits, on the day one of my friends couldn't make it, I had no phone credit so I left it till we got there in half hour to tell them.
They then followed to tell me as the hen of my hen do I have to pay the full amount of my missing friends treatments. At not any one point did they tell me that within 48 the full amount has to be paid! So I refused up to a point it nearly ruined my stay, I did not have that kind of money especially as I am getting married in a weeks time!
I explained to the manager that I booked over the phone and that they never told me about their cancellation policy other than any one person would loose their £10 deposit. She then went on to explain that its in black and white on their website so they didn't have to tell me over the phone. So I went on to say that o never went on their website so I didn't know and its they're fault for not telling when I booked. I got so angry about them not removing it off my bill as I had absolutely no way of paying it, one of my girls had to pay it!! Very angry!!!

This place needs to learn how to give 100% customer service...

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank xxx-Mrs-Dean-xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

my mother had her party booked here there was 32 of us the service was slow the roast dinner for the main course was cold and one person had cheese and biscuits for dessert which came without butter so he asked for some butter which never arrived when mentioned to a waitress was told they dont serve butter with cheese and biscuits then proceeded to laugh

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edingworth
5.5 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
634 reviews
4.8 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
453 reviews
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
658 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
849 reviews
6.0 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Manor

Address: Rookery Manor Edingworth Road | Weston-super-Mare, Edingworth, Weston-super-Mare BS24 0JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare > Edingworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edingworth
Price Range: £51 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and exceptional service awaits you at 16th century Rookery Manor – the South West's award-winning, 4-star boutique hotel and spa.Set in the heart of Somerset, this historic estate is a beautiful backdrop for your spa break, wedding, corporate event, private party or dining experience.Owner Ian Clapp, whose family has lived at the manor for four generations, has created a unique venue with stunning lakeside gardens and a luxurious Elemis spa.Ideally situated in 28 acres of countryside, yet with easy access to the M5, Rookery Manor is the perfect hotel for all kinds of special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Rookery Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Manor Hotel Edingworth
Rookery Manor Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset - Edingworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing