We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time here again!”
Review of Rookery Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rookery Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edingworth
Reviewed 4 July 2014

M friend and I spent 3 nights here and our rooms were superb, having been moved by the owner Ian Clapp, as our other room didn't receive wifi. Special mention to Julie she is a lovely lady and very helpful. We found the manager of the restaurant to be quite rude. The spa is lovely, peaceful and relaxing.Special thanks to the owner Ian Clapp, who took time to listen to us and made us very welcome. we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roushka1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

618 - 624 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

I visited Rookery Manor Spa with a group of friends to celebrate a Birthday!
We booked a spa day that included the spa, lunch and a treatment. When we arrived we were shown around the spa and given a locker with a towel and robe. We had all chosen slightly different treatments, I had a pedicure which was done in a Massaging Chair, which was a lot more comfortable than a traditional pedicure!
We spent most of our Day in the Outdoor Hot Tub which was lovely in the sun!!

I would defiantly recommend as the Staff were fantastic, Facilities Brilliant and Treatments sooo Relaxing :)

Definatly 5 Stars *****

Cant wait to revisit again!!

X

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

At first this was a shock. Hard by the M5 built on a former pig farm but this really really grew on us. Don't be shocked by the fact that this place looks as if it is a Channel 4 wedding venue for chavs and the traffic sound is relentless (but the double glazing very good so you don't hear it inside). The new restaurant manager, Murat, is excellent and has brought in great local produce and so the food is now superb (and I am used to fine dining, Claridges etc). The spa was professional and all staff very friendly ( we were given a full day, despite being late). I even forgave the fact there was no hot water in our room because everything else was so good. We will be going again and my wife is one of the pickiest people around.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MHristov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Booked a small double room via laterooms, therefore price was reasonable, would not pay full amount. Hotel is slightly out of town, nearest pub cost £11.50 in taxi each way. There is a bistro on site but this is not for a quick meal and is expensive and indulgent. The room was ok, clean and warm. Gardens are lovely. The restaurant is not usual type and seems more of a wedding reception room ! However breakfast Was ok but be warned don't arrive late as by 9.45am all pastries are gone. Overall the experience is more of a wedding venue, lucky for us there was no wedding but think it would be noisy if there had been so may be worth checking when booking!
Spa is small but nice, staff can be a little rude !

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alisood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We went to Rookery for dinner, B&B and a spa day booked through Spabreaks.com, we upgraded the 30 minute treatments to an hour before arriving. The hotel isn't much to look at as you arrive, reception feels like a conservatory showroom but the receptionist was lovely. We stayed in a 4 poster suite which was beautiful; comfy bed, bathrobes, beautiful furniture, massive jacuzzi bath, big shower, loads of fluffy towels, just amazing, looking out onto a delightful and interesting garden. Unfortunately, if you went into the garden or opened the windows, the noise of the M5 was so loud we couldn't relax in it. We had a drink in the bar before dinner, charming barman, nice wine list, the bar/restaurant was a bit cavernous but nicely done (the decor felt a bit like the night after a wedding). We were shown to our table and, well it just smelt a bit vomity. We asked to move and the next table was fine. Dinner was delicious. After hardly sleeping because of the motorway noise we went to breakfast; full English and continental, really tasty, nice staff. We went to the spa; lovely ladies took our lunch order and showed us around. Good things: the massages we both had were amazing, the staff are really nice, the indoor pool was clean and warm, the hot tub outside was lovely, changing rooms clean and well equipped (GHDs etc), plenty of room to flop around, lots of magazines. Bad things: the place is clearly newly built so while you're having a massage or trying to sleep in the cosy dark sleepy lounge, you can hear everything: the hairdryer, people talking, doors banging, squeaky flip-flops. Lunch was tasty (chicken ceasar salad), but in the same restaurant shared with a bunch of men on a conference. My husband was terribly embarrassed sat there in his robe! Some great things, some not great things. I'd be massively disappointed if we'd paid full price, as it was, we had a really good romantic break.

Room Tip: Our 4 poster suite was simply lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We went on a voucher for a 6 course meal. Tried to review in restaurant section but only restaurant they say they have is Truffles which is now closed and we ate in Iris restaurant.
The restaurant is a barn of a room with no charm and dodgy décor. A grand- white piano that played tinned musak, which was like a dripping tap- elevator music, but lifts take minutes only, this lasted much longer with Xmas and New year tunes too!

To the food, canapes okay, but I swear the tiny goats cheese and onion tart is from the same supplier as M&S, a stuffed baby tomato and asparagus wrapped in Parma ham- okay, but not great- just safe

Next a shot glass of hot tomato ,basil soup with croutons, hot soup, which by time cool enough , shop bought croutons had dissolved.

Scallop, belly pork and asparagus- nice but world not set on fire.

4th course the most enormous plate of lamb, roast potatoes, roasted veg and pots turned up, a Sunday lunch size and this was a taster menu. Lamb three pieces with all the veg, was a bit like a bad carvery, tough and basically tasteless.
When we mentioned to waitress on a taster menu the size of lamb was daunting, she said " I shouldn't complain the size might be smaller next time"- duh- yes that's what we were saying and why should we not share our feedback.

Next course a palate cleanser, blood orange sorbert- nice- lastly Eton mess, bought/ sweet meringue.

All in all glad I did not buy at full price as totally underwhelming-one good thing male waiter was accommodating and swapped our Bellinis as part of price for other drinks. Thank you for that.

Would not go again.

Room Tip: Did not stay in any rooms as just dined
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful place, fabulous grounds and great food. We stayed in "leather" room which was like a little cottage and suited us (a couple and five year old) perfectly. We had a Groupon deal which included evening meal and was very good value, although the al a carte menu was a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edingworth
5.5 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
651 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
871 reviews
4.8 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
5.9 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
679 reviews
6.1 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Manor

Address: Rookery Manor Edingworth Road | Weston-super-Mare, Edingworth, Weston-super-Mare BS24 0JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare > Edingworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edingworth
Price Range: £54 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and exceptional service awaits you at 16th century Rookery Manor – the South West's award-winning, 4-star boutique hotel and spa.Set in the heart of Somerset, this historic estate is a beautiful backdrop for your spa break, wedding, corporate event, private party or dining experience.Owner Ian Clapp, whose family has lived at the manor for four generations, has created a unique venue with stunning lakeside gardens and a luxurious Elemis spa.Ideally situated in 28 acres of countryside, yet with easy access to the M5, Rookery Manor is the perfect hotel for all kinds of special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Rookery Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Manor Hotel Edingworth
Rookery Manor Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset - Edingworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing