We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday lunch”
Review of The Chequers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thompson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chequers Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Thompson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2013

we were a party of 14 (including one toddler) booked for a Saturday lunch. No complaints at all, food was very good, staff were excellent and a great time was had by us all. this was the third time some of us had been here and it definitely won't be the last.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CathyR388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

The pub is a real olde worlde thatched building tucked away in the village of Thompson.

Have eaten here many times in the past and have always been perferctly satisfied. However on this occassion things were not quite so good. Service was very slow and when the food came the chips were hard and gave the impression that they had been in the kitchen for some time. The burger in spite of being described as coming from a local butcher in all honesty was not the best I had eaten.

The pub was quite full which may have contributed to the slow service. Perhaps it was the usual chefs day off.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 01760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Parked here early on Sunday, walked locally then took our seats for lunch.

Low thatched building with several small rooms/bars, good range of beers. Sunday lunch is a fixed price roast (2 or 3 courses) or a La Carte. We had three roasts and an A La Carte. Roasts were nothing exceptional, potatoes were probably last nights roasted for Sunday, meat was not a good cut and yorkshire puddings were firm to hard., A La Carte looked good (Lasagne).

If visting again would only have sandwichs/chips as these would be freshly made; not convinced what we had was not pre-prepared a long time in advance.

Lots of character as a country pub but not somewhere we would recommend for an evening meal.

Did not stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack-Plane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Visited the restaurant here on two consecutive nights whilst staying at a local B&B, on both nights the food was most enjoyable and the service friendly and efficient – my husband can certainly recommend the steak & kidney pudding!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank AuntEek2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Firstly the Chequers is not in Thetford, it is much closer to Watton in Norfolk and adjacent to an excellent walk called the Great Eastern Pingo Trail, so if you enjoy a brisk walk followed by a nice meal in welcoming surroundings then the Chequers fits the bill.
The staff are very welcoming friendly and attentive.
We enjoyed an excellent Sunday lunch, having a good choice of dishes as well as a wide range of drinks.
The building itself is a lovely olde worlde thatched inn tucked away in the village of Thompson.
Do take the time to find this well hidden Norfolk gem!! It will be worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GromitNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Didn't stay here, as we were B&B ing just round the corner, but enjoyed a very honest and tasty meal on Sunday evening. The place was well patronised by locals which is always a good sign, the building itself is very interesting, although being 6'3 it was at times challenging, especially after a couple of delicious pints of Adnams bitter.

Steak done to perfection with perfect fries and a flavoursome peppercorn sauce for me, and trout and creamed leaks for Janet.

Very sweet staff as well, knowledgable and keen to help.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank beulah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

We had to travel up to norfolk to visit realatives who live in watton we could not find anywhere in watton its self to stay on the web and so booked the chequers a pub with accomodation when we arrived we discovered it was a thatch long house with the accomodation in a seperate barn building the room was good clean and warm the best bit was the inn its self for a wendsday night it was busy we had a meal and it was excellent and the bar was lively and very friendly when we are next in watton we will stay here it was excellent value for money the breakfast was scrummy and the guy who ran it was great

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomtib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chequers Inn

Address: Griston Road, Thompson IP24 1PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thompson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thompson
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chequers Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Chequers Inn Thompson, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing