We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Period charm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thompson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
College Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Thompson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Have just spent a lovely couple of days in this charming and delightful house. Our host Katherine was fantastic and did everything to make our stay a memorable and enjoyable one. The house is steeped in history and character. A lovely base to explore the surrounding countryside. We went on some lovely walks from the house. Be sure and visit the old church at Thompson. Untouched virtually since it was built several hundred years ago. Rooms are pretty and well equipped with all mod cons. Will be back!

Room Tip: They are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trishz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katharine W, Owner at College Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your very kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

My Dad and I stayed at College Farm with some friends over the weekend and felt compelled to share some thoughts. From the first call to Katherine to book our room, we felt incredibly welcome and so well looked after. Our twin room on the first floor had a lovely view of the grounds and fields beyond, populated with free range chickens, alpacas and goats. The room was immaculately decorated, clean and alive with history and character. Katherine was an amazing host, on-the-go constantly but always making time for a chat, ask what we needed and to cook up a delicious breakfast. Along with some friends from the village she also cooked up an amazingly, special dinner for our choir topped off by a wood-fired stove, some fine wine and lovely conversation. What stood out was that all our friends in the choir had had the same very positive experience too. It was also the small touches that made such a difference - a welcome email the day before we arrived, an electric blanket for the beds, a pot of tea with home-made cake on our arrival... Would definitely recommend a stay here and if we find ourselves back in the area, we certainly hope to be lucky enough to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katharine W, Owner at College Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you Paul for your very kind review of College Farm. I thoroughly enjoyed having you all to stay and it was a pleasure to meet you all. Thank you also for the stunning concert you gave on Saturday night - I have never heard such beautiful singing - and it was a real treat to hear you all singing in the dining room before supper. Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This little bit of heaven in Norfolk was a real find, it is absolutely charming. The wonderful old house is full of character, not to mention the owner, Katharine. We were given such a warm and friendly welcome that continued throughout our stay. Lovely home cooking and baking was provided and even my allergies were catered for. Great surrounding area, will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katharine W, Owner at College Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you Elaine for your very kind review. It was such fun having you and your group of girls to stay and I hope you will come again soon, especially now we have finished the building work and all the new carpets are down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

What a beautiful place this is - College Farm is a wonderfully quirky building set in lovely grounds and Katherine's welcome could not have been warmer. Breakfast round the huge table in the panelled dining room was a particular delight. We enjoyed meeting the goats, alpacas, chickens and pigs, not forgetting Mr Figgis the cat with the very loud voice.
We shall definitely be returning to this lovely place in its unspoilt corner of Norfolk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katharine W, Owner at College Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It is always a pleasure to have people to stay who appreciate the house and the animals - especially Mr Figgis who relishes all the attention he gets! Please come and stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This amazing 14th century farmhouse is an absolute treasure. Katherine could not have done more for us and her wonderful home cooking is a delight. The house is in a beautiful part of the country and I cannot reccommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stella b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katharine W, Owner at College Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you for your very kind review, particularly about my cooking! I always enjoy cooking for my guests and it is so nice when my food is appreciated. I hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We loved every minute of our stay at College Farm. Katharine is a wonderful host and made us feel very welcome. Our 9 year old loved staying on the farm and feeding Katharine's pigs. We enjoyed having afternoon tea in the garden with some of the other lovely guests and look forward to returning in the future. Thank you Katharine and Richard

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hove156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katharine W, Owner at College Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and I'm glad you had a good stay. I hope you will come again to sample my new cake recipes I am working on. Enjoy the summer holidays and I hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Had a really great time. Katherine made our stay really wonderful. Felt like a home away from home... She really made us feel welcome and the house is absolutely beautiful. The breakfast was a proper full English and the afternoon tea was a real treat. We would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katharine W, Owner at College Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you for your kind review. It is always nice to get such positive feedback and know that people enjoy staying here as much as I enjoying having them to stay. I hope you will come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thompson
2.8 mi away
The Willow House
The Willow House
#1 of 3 in Watton
163 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aldercarr Hall
Aldercarr Hall
#2 of 5 in Attleborough
150 reviews
3.7 mi away
Phoenix House
Phoenix House
#1 of 1 in Little Cressingham
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Hare And Barrel Hotel
Show Prices

Been to College Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: College Farm College Farm Lane | Near Watton, Thompson IP24 1QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thompson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thompson
Price Range: £40 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B in a restored medieval farmhouse, originally built as a college of priests in 1349 by the owners ancestors. Licenced for weddings & private parties. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
College Farm Bed & Breakfast Thompson, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing