We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pure Beauty, Exciting and Peaceful”
Luxury Cabo Matapalo Vacation Estate Home, steps to beach, sleeps 20, private suites, chef, tours.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Luxury Cabo Matapalo Vacation Estate Home, steps to beach, sleeps 20, private suites, chef, tours.
Infinity Pool after a rough day at the beach steps away. Tres Palmas, 8000 sf estate
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Luxury Cabo Matapalo Vacation Estate Home, steps to beach, sleeps 20, private suites, chef, tours.
Infinity Pool after a rough day at the beach steps away.
Tres Palmas, 8000 sf estate
1500 sf pool deck, yoga deck, barbecues, star gazing!!!
Luxury Cabo Matapalo Vacation Estate Home, steps to beach, sleeps 20, private suites, chef, tours.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Cabo Matapalo, Osa Peninsula, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
LindaLBec...
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
“Pure Beauty, Exciting and Peaceful”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

If you’d like a vacation like none other, “Tres Palmas” is the place.

Starting from the moment you step out of the car, and walk down the steps into the main house, you are awed with the beauty. Your instantly looking out over the horizon pool, across the jungle out to the ocean. In the morning you are awaken to the sounds of the Howler Monkeys, Macaws and Toucans. The Howler Monkeys are moving through the jungle for their morning trek to find food, the Macaws flack over head in pairs and the Toucans are picking the fruit from the tree next to the house. As we lay in the pool we take in the pleasures of these events throughout the day, even a friendly Hawk comes by for a drink out of the pool occasionally. We had the chance to feed some bananas to the White Face Monkey that came down from a tree in the yard.

If the beauty of “Tres Palmas” experience isn’t enough for you, you have a 5 Star Chief (Marvin) that is more then happy to fix your meals (for a nominal fee). He’s an artist in the kitchen, try the Chicken Condo Bleu. For a casual evening he makes one of the best pizza’s we’ve ever had. Yerlin and Marjorie set a beautiful (romantic) dinner table with candles and fresh flowers from the yard. Perfect setting! You will be so spoiled, I Love It!!!!!

While your there you might want to try Friday night at Martina’s where you can experience a lot of the local art booths, as well as a nice dinner. It is the Friday night happening place.

Don’t miss a visit to the water falls, it’s not only pretty, but the waters are refreshing. We like to call them the “LeLe falls” in memory of a dear friend.

For the surfers, and beach goers you will love the trek down to the beach through the jungle. There’s a lovely path right from the house that takes you down the hill to the Backwash Bay. You’ll find a number of surfers down there. After your walk back up, I highly recommend a WONDERFUL massage from Marjorie. If you’d like a good nights sleep there’s nothing like having a massage after dinner and just before bed. You’ll sleep like a baby.

George, thank you for allowing us the pleasure of staying at Tres Palmas and having an unbelievable vacation. Staying here was a much greater vacation experience then staying at the usual Resort areas, Tres Palmas is devine.

Pura Vida our friends
Garry and Linda Beck

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoowaa
Winnipeg
1 review
“Perfect paradise in every way imaginable !!”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Just returned from a 14 night stay at Tres Palmas.

Group of 16 that consisted of 4 families of 2 adults and 2 children (There were 6 girls 8-11 and one 14 years of age plus one boy 10 years of age).

We drove ourselves from SJO. 4x4's are an absolute necessity for the trip to/from Puerto Jimenez. We enjoyed this part of the adventure !

The sleeping arrangements:

The two, two bedroom Cabinas slept 2 of our families, whilst the loft slept 4 of the more adventurous girls with their parents sleeping in the two other one bedroom Cabinas. Perfect for our group in all respects !

The cabinas are very well appointed and comfortable with bathrooms with outdoor showers and fans.

The huge thatch roof covered main living area is absolutely stunning, needing to be seen to be believed yet so very practical:

A loft area that sleeps 4 very comfortably (could sleep 6), with a 1/2 bath below for those in the loft.

The kitchen has everything needed for a large group.

Huge pantry, large chest freezer, large chest fridge, multiple coolers for beverages.

The multiple lounging/living areas were very comfortable and allowed our group to congregate together or spread out as desired. Hammock was used always, two large tables for playing games or for dining, several areas with couches for relaxing, reading or napping were enjoyed as well. A perfect place to "hide" from the sun and catch the breezes during the day and take a siesta or hang out when the sun went down.

The deck area is huge, offering indescribable, postcard views of the gulf and surrounding property. Watch the sun rise, enjoy the daily shows that the Toucans, Green Parrots and Scarlet Macaws put on a show every morning and evening. Catch the full power of the near equatorial sunshine during the day, take an outdoor shower then slide into the infinity pool to cool off.

The kids and adults spent countless hours in both areas during the early morning, all day and into each evening. Simply perfect.

We chose to have the property caretakers (Marvin and his wonderful family) shop for, prepare and perform clean up for our breakfast and supper meals. This was one of the best decisions we could have made for the group as everyone raved about the quality of the food and the service. Pizza in the outdoor stone fireplace was one highlight, grilled tenderloin and seafood on the outdoor grill another. Guacamole and chips every night was enjoyed by all ! Authentic Costa Rican Cuisine with Marvin's personal touch and flavoring must be sampled !

The property manager Brad, whom I and others on the trip engaged with in order to plan the entire trip (including fishing and other local tours) and also arrange for the meal services provided by Marvin and his team was always available to discuss any aspect or potential concern we had prior to our arrival was an invaluable and thoughtful resource

We had one girl with with peanut and shellfish allergies to consider in terms of her ability to eat what was prepared. Brad listened and made all of the concerns disappear with a caring and understanding attitude prior to arrival and Marvin executed his mastery in the kitchen without a hitch "in spite" of any limitations in this regard for the entire group.

One issue that arose once we arrived was that the two safes were no longer functioning due to the salt air affecting the locking mechanisms. We made mention of this with a text to Brad, and the next day the two safes were replaced; now that is service ! I have no clue where the safes came from so quickly in the middle of the Osa but there they were.

The refreshing pool, the unbelievable view, the abundant wildlife, the excellent planning advice from Brad and Marvin's on site services, the beautiful natural property and the extensive amenities of Tres Palmas itself were simply perfect for our entire group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, service, pool, weather.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdb777201...
San Jose, California
1 review
“Amazing place for kids and adults”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at Tres Palmas last summer for 5 days with 3 families and a total of 12 people. Was 5 adults and 7 kids (ages 8-14). We have traveled a few times with this group to Hawaii and rented nice places to stay in over the years. But Tres Palmas was by FAR the best place we have stayed.
Marvin was awesome host and he and his wife cooked breakfast and dinner for us each day. Was so nice to have authentic Costa Rican food while we were there.
It was so nice to have such a luxurious place so far off the beaten path (even for Costa Rica) to stay at.
The view we had the first time we walked in the front door just blew everyone away. So peaceful and relaxing. I would absolutely recommend Tres Palmas to anyone going to Costa Rica. It was an experience you should not miss.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Thank you for a great review!!!
I am so glad that you all had a great time at Tres Palmas, and Cabo Matapalo. I must agree the property, the Rancho and its luxury suites are ?Mesmerizing? and you must agree now that you have shared its pleasure. We offer the beautiful beaches below, rain-forest in our back-yard, animal filled walking trails, water-falls within walking distance, and then the Infinity pool once you return from your day?s adventures. It is truly paradise and I am so glad that you all had a chance to enjoy ?The Good Life? with us for a while. Come back and visit us again soon. We would love to have you. And thanks so much for the kinds words about Marvin and our cooking staff, we do all we can to make your vacation an unforgettable one!!!
Pura Vida,
Brad Shenko,
property manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Living_it...
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Paradise ... simply paradise!”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Tres Palmas exceeded our expectations... from the moment we walked in to view the beautiful gulf over the expansive living space and further on, the infinity pool, we were mesmerized. The home and cabanas were perfectly appointed down to the smallest detail - and the professional kitchen was amazing.
We really enjoyed the grounds, snuggled in the jungle, and daily walked down the mountain to the beach where there are some of the best point breaks in the world with toucans, lapas, monkeys, and hawks keeping us company all the way. We loved the peace and rejuvenation it gave us to be so close to nature.
Let me put it this way... it is like being on the movie set for Jurassic Park with all the majesty and beauty.. without the scary parts ... We would highly suggest you make this your next vacation destination - there is no way you'd be disappointed. Would go back in a heartbeat - thank you, George!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Villa and Hosts”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Tres Palmas Villa's pictures do not give it justice. This place is absolutely gorgeous. Marvin & Patricia were perfect hosts and excellent cooks. We looked forward to our dinners every night. The guacamole dip every night was fantastic (we got the recipe). The villa had outstanding views of the ocean especially from the beautiful pool. It was so fun getting up every morning to the howling monkeys and the macaws as well as the spectacular sunrise. This vacation was definitely the highlight of our trips so far and we have been to Italy, Ireland, China, Taiwan, Thailand, and Singapore. With our Facebook posts I am sure we will have family and friends who will be booking this Villa in the future, as well as ourselves. Thanks so much for such a memorable trip to your beautiful country, Costa Rica.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Mosquitos but really not that bad.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty W
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly, Paradise on the Osa!!”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Tres Palmas is absolutely breathtaking. The attention to detail in respect to the lodgings were far beyond my expectations. The craftsmanship of the main building and cabanas showed all the hallmarks of skilled crafters, even down to the hand carved reliefs on all of the solid wood doors. The grandeur of Tres Palmas is further heighted by the fact that this beauty is in fact smack dab in the middle of the Jungle The surrounding jungle and trees were teaming with wildlife every day. We spotted the majority of the may species from the comfort of the negative edge pool or within a short walk from the houses. I read that this area was rich in plant and animal species but never expected it to be literally outside my bedroom door. But wait.... as if this was not enough sensory overload it got better. World renowned surf was breaking just a short, but steep hike, away. The hike down to the beaches in the mornings were fantastic. The caretaker (Marvin) and his wife (Yerlin) were first class all the way. From the superior meals they cooked for us (there were 6 in our party) to the cleanliness of the house. Marvin was also very informative about the local culture, terrain, safety precautions, pointing out wild life and just being an all around wonderful person. Thinking back now, after being back in the states for a week, all I can say is WOW!!! Words really can not describe this place. One has to immerse themselves in order to get a full understanding.
THANK YOU!! Marvin, Yerlin and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything, too much to write here.
Liked least: Nothing. Way beyond any expectation
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2015nikki...
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

"Wow!" says it all. Amazing vacation...completely different from other vacations I've taken. Tres palmas itself is amazing! Then you add in the incredible ocean view, jungle, and incredible sightings of monkeys, makaws, etc (while sitting in the pool!) Oh...and not to mention the excellent meals prepared by the caretakers (Marvin and Yerlin), so worth the $5 per meal! Best guacomole I've ever eaten! I loved this place!!!!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing