We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Davie Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 28 August 2008

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in mid Aug, 2008...The hotel /lodge was super clean, people and staff very friendly and accomodating, ambiance and food excellent, room and panaromaic views above expectations and eco friendly

If you have a chance to stay at this reserve it is well worth it..We didnt want to leave

Irwin and Maxine Brand

  • Liked — Everthing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WINNMAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    47
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
146
336
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, CT
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Althought our travel agent had a difficult time contacting Lapa Rios, the place was amazing and we can't wait to go back! We did their honeymoon package and have amazing pictures and stories to tell. There are a lot of bugs around, but you get used to it after about a day. The staff was amazing and would go out of their way to meet your needs, totally professional, friendly, and accomodating! We recommend the waterfall tour, surfing lessons, and dolphin watching! The bungalows were private and quiet (with the exception of monkeys and birds outside), with beautiful views! The food was fresh, original and delicious! All was very affordable too! We can't wait to go back for an anniversary!

  • Liked — the view and the ambiance
  • Disliked — there are a lot of bugs in the middle of the rainforest
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carpozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2008

We flew to Lapa Rios from Arenal and were transfered by the Lapa Rios shuttle directly to the property - about 45 minute bumpy ride on unpaved roads. We absolutely loved our stay and would recommend to most! It was extremely peaceful and relaxing and we could barely keep our eyes open past 9pm each night (we are age 29 & 31)

Rooms - no A/C, mosquito nets on beds, wake up to monkeys at 5-6am, big bathroom, everything is recycled, outdoor desk with lounge chairs and hammock. Occasionally we would see bugs or small lizards in our room - - not a big deal, more authentic!

Hikes -- We had an amazing guide - Tino -- for both the Night and Waterfall Hike. Both were very interesting and we highly recommend. Not very strenuous and it is amazing how much wildlife and fauna Tino was able to point out.

Pool -- good place to relax in between hikes or during the day. Beverage service available.

Restaurant - PHENOMENAL - all meals are included and you never leave hungry from any meal. The Tican bfast is delicious and every meal is so fresh and delicious. There are plenty of lighter options on the menu as well - you get the opportunity to order dinner at lunch time.

Surfing - we booked through Lapa Rios and do not recommend for beginners. The surf is too rough near Lapa Rios and the instructor was not the best. Save surfing for anywhere else in CR. Waste of money.

Beach - 10-15 minute walk to beach. Very pretty, lots of young surfers around. A bit rocky, no beach chairs, lots of secluded little beaches. Careful, it gets very hot and is hard to find shade.

Our room at Lapa Rios required us to walk nearly 150 steps uphill to the main lodge! We welcomed the workout but note that this may be difficult for older people or small children. While we did see children at the ecolodge, it could get a bit boring if you stay more 3 days, in my opinion.

  • Liked — The property, staff
  • Disliked — Remoteness
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nycnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2008

My wife and I just returned from 5 nights at Lapa Rios this was the end of our 2 week stay in Costa Rica. We have been to Costa Rica many times(apprx 12) we have never been to the OSA region and had read great things about Lapa Rios.
The ride from the airport is about a 45 minute very bumpy but scenic ride the staff greeted us at the airport and allowed us to use the internet in the office, there as none will be available at the resort.
Upon arrival we were greeted by a welcome committee like something out of Jurastic Park they knew everyone by name without asking,very nice touch. Each party was assigned a guide to explain the property and answer questions while bags were taken to the rooms. Beware that the rooms from 9 to 14 have a very severe hike to the restuarant and pool.We enjoyed it but knew some would not or possibly may not be able to do it at all. You are rewarded with an incredible view and a very nice room,no a/c,just ceiling fans and you are in 100% humidity it is not the "Four Seasons". It is quite possibly the best "Eco Lodge" experience in Costa Rica.
The food was superior to any we have had in Costa Rica,all included in price just order what you want off the menu like a cruise ship.The only real complaint we had on the food was at times the fish tasted a bit off not as fresh as we would have expected;also the coffe was extremly bitter possibly the worst we have had in Costa Rica.Overall the food was excellent.The food service staff was very attentive and friendly as were all the employees always willing to accomodate in any way.
In regards to the activities we found the hikes to be informative ,the guides very knowledgible;but we would consider these more walks than hikes we were expecting more of a challenge in the hikes as we are avid hikers.We did the Ridge Hike and the Montapalo Road Hike.We made up for it by walking each day down to the beach and back up the extreme hill to the property this gave us our excersise fix,plus we would see plenty of animals along the way,monkeys,scarlett mackaws,couti's,etc.
Make sure you do the "Living Green Tour" (free tour) this is a tour of the property to see how the are a leader in sustainable tourism and see first hand all they do to achive this.
We are glad we went and experienced this area,we probably would not return , for us the area is one we are glad to have experienced but do not need to do again as there are still other parts of the country we wish to explore.

Chris and Kelly Atlanta,Ga.

  • Liked — food,staff,service,relaxing experience
  • Disliked — coffee
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweatjunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2008

Our family of four with girls 8 and 14 thoroughly enjoyed Lapa RIos. It does fit the bill as an "ecolodge." Not luxurious but very comfortable with gorgeous views. The facilities are all very open air. We enjoyed the feel of the Main Lodge with its soaring roof and circular stairwell. The staff made us comfortable from the moment we got off the plane in Puerto Jimenez. They were great at spotting wildlife, which is abundant both on and off the property. There are many monkeys, sloths, iguanas and other lizards (fortunately very few snakes as we're not fans!) as well as exotic birds. The tours were fun. I'd highly recommend the night hike and the waterfall hike. We enjoyed jumping into the waterfall pool. There also is horseback riding and zip lining offsite; we did both and they were great. We heard from others that the trip to the animal rescue across the Golfo was terrific--a real hands on experience with the animals there. The property does not emphasize the beach, which is a 30 minute walk down and a longer steep walk back uphill if you don't catch the twice daily ride offered by the hotel. The beach is rocky and you really need water shoes to navigate it; however the water is beautiful. No beach services or bathrooms either. There is a small pool also at the lodge. But the beach and pool are not the focus of the lodge--it's to get you out into the forest and to enjoy nature, which we very much did. One note--because the very nice rooms are so open air, they are "naturally noisy" due to the cacaphony of animal sounds ranging from insects to howler monkeys. We found it hard to sleep as a result. The food was solid if unspectacular; we enjoyed the local CR dishes and flavors. Bottom Line: Lapa Rios delivers on its ecolodge promise. If you're looking for a nice beach or pool with all the associated amenities go to the Four Seasons Papagayo.

  • Liked — A great ecolodge experience
  • Disliked — Very hard to sleep due to the racket from the wildlife!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deneuchre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our trip around CR. We had an initial problem with our bungalow - we had emailed and requested a room near the main building due to health problems and we had been given one of the very isolated bungalows at the bottom of the steps, we had to spend a night there and were moved first thing the next morning with many apologies. The rooms are amazing, no AC which can make it a bit uncomfortable but the sound of the forest and the views more than make up for that and there is a pleasant breeze. Please take advantage of the guided tours, they are amazing and you will see so much wildlife and birds, as others have said Nito is a real gem. The food is good but my advice would be chose local choices from the menus, the cooks are locally trained people not qualified chefs, in keeping with the Lapa Rios philosophy , and their skills are with local recipes, we had a couple of problems with steaks & ribs but we should have made better choices and found the local choices excellant. The staff are wonderful and always willing to do anything for you. Lapa Rios would be difficult if you were very unfit, but if you have walking difficulties and are still really keen request rooms 1 or 2 at the time of booking as these are situated near the entrance and avoid the numerous steps.

  • Liked — the wonderful views
  • Disliked — loved it all
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2008

This was an outstanding destination. One thing I can add is that it was not as hot and humid as I thought it would be. I live in Washington DC and expected it to be like July and August here. I actually found it cooler and more bearable then our summer weather. We stayed in villa 8 which I heard (along with 7) has the best panoramas of the ocean. There are lots of exotic bugs in your room but it didn't bother us because we love the outdoors and the natural world. Also, we have done alot of camping. There were 50 steps from our bungalow to the diningroom which is about average. We are 59 and 65 and did fine but we walk briskly on a regular basis. Nothing out of the ordinary but we are not couch potatoes. The hiking trails were also easy for us but if you aren't at all in shape it might be a problem. We loved the naturalist guide Nito but all the guides were good. The food was superb and the staff was from the local community and warm and friendly. I got to practice my halting Spanish with them and was so encouraged I signed up for Spanish lessons when I came home.-

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
1.7 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
0.8 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 42 in Osa Peninsula
615 reviews
12.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#4 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
167 reviews
9.8 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula

Property: Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Address: Osa Peninsula, Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a 1000-acre private nature reserve in Central America's last remaining lowland tropical rainforest in Costa Rica, Lapa Rios Ecolodge overlooks the pristine point where the Golfo Dulce meets the wild Pacific Ocean, a destination matching everyone's idea of paradise. Much more than a luxurious eco lodge, Lapa Rios is a model ecotourism project and a sustainable tourism pioneer. Over the years, we have received many awards for social and environmental excellence. Home to a plethora of incredible wildlife, including monkeys, scarlet macaws, pumas, toucans, tree frogs and thousands of other creatures, a trip to Lapa Rios Eco lodges Ecolodges will be the experience of a lifetime. Lapa Rios is one of only 24 National Geographic Unique Eco Lodges of the World ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Hotel Playa Matapalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing