We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Lapa Rio. The staff was great very friendly and helpful.
We did have the notorious room 14. It is definitely not for the faint hearted. It is very private and has a great view.
We enjoyed the waterfall hike, canopy tour.
I highly recommend surf lessons with Pollo. He is a great instructor for beginners.
The food was great as was the service in the dining room.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank luckyr7063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    45
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
136
321
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Amazing stay. We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2014. It was one of the best places we have ever stayed. Everything from the location, accomodation, food, staff and activities were all top class. The only complaint was that our stay was too short. We should have stayed for longer.
Looking forward to our next trip there. Only issue was that we had room 14 that was the furthest away from the lodge 300 steps away. We were offered a change to a room that was nearer the lodge but we had become attached to our room so decided to stay where we were.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZIGBAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

My husband and two kids (ages 6 and 8) were at Lapa Rios for five nights in mid-March. It was a truly wonderful vacation. Lapa Rios took care of all of our needs. The staff was so helpful and accommodating. There were special juices available throughout the day and the food was very good. They deliver hot chocolate or coffee (tea as well I believe) in the morning so you can sit on your private balcony overlooking the most beautiful scenery and enjoy the sunrise. The rooms are beautiful and open to the amazing sounds of the jungle because several walls are screens. We loved the natural sounds we heard at night - rain, birds and howler monkeys.

The hiking at Lapa Rios was amazing for many reasons. The rainforest is, of course spectacular, but the natural beauty was enhanced by the extremely knowledgable guides. The waterfall hike and night hike were both incredible. We were greeted with juices or cold water after many of our hikes.

This is a truly spectacular place that we feel lucky to have been able to share with our children. Our kids loved it. They have decided that it is where we have to go every March and my husband and I agree. Our children saw so much wildlife - lots of monkeys, a sloth, toucans, macaws, agouti, red eyed tree frogs, iguanas, coati, and more. What a amazing experience! A huge thanks to Lapa Rios for the wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Boothbay, Maine
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I spent four nights at Lapa Rios in January. We had the farthest room which was fine with us except I was really bothered by the hum of the generator which was just beyond our bungalow. The food and service were excellent and the guided tours wonderful. The bird life was amazing and the monkeys were so entertaining. I really recommend the waterfall walk and be sure to wear your bathing suit for the last pool. One must be in reasonable shape to hike up and down all the steps so if you're physically challenged in any way, be sure to request a room higher up. We did move to a different room and that eliminated the annoying generator hum. It's a remote location but there is road noise, generator noise(from other properties in the area) which surprised me. The price of remoteness + comforts=noise. Not a big fan of listening to air conditioners or refrigerators to put this noise issue in context. Remote for me means natural sounds regardless of how loud they might be. Give me the howler monkeys anyday. I think I would have loved the place in it's early days when I'm guessing it was more of a camping experience.

Room Tip: Room 14 is next to the generator. If you dislike constant hums, beware. Room 4 was better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayuga S, Manager at Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Molly,
greetings from the Osa Peninsula. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the noise situation you encountered during your stay. We had one of our generators break down before your stay and had to bring in a backup generator that is not noise insulated. This is why you heared the humming in bungalow #14. The situation is fixed now. Thankfully, we were able to move you to another room during your stay and we were happy to read in your review that the rest of your stay was rated as "excellent". Thanks for pointing out how much you liked the food and the service by our staff. We hope to have you back again so you can have a more "quiet" stay. Thanks again and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed in Lapa Rios for three days during a 3 week holiday and it was the best run lodge/hotel of our entire holiday. The staff, guides, facilities and food were excellent and like a previous reviewer every aspect of Lapa Rios was unbeatable and worth repeating. We don't normally write reviews but this place is a MUST on any Costa Rican holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Lapa Rios is a beautiful eco-lodge set in a 1,000 acre preserve on the Osa peninsula. The accommodations were wonderful with personal touches that were over the top. Bird watchers will love all the wildlife right off your private deck! The scarlet macaws were spectacular and in the tree outside our bungalow. Couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna139138207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Lapa Rios is an unforgettable experience through and through, with an amazing location in the heart of the rainforest. The wildlife viewing is out of this world. You can see all 4 species of monkeys from your bungalow, as well as macaws, parrots, and other birds. The lodge itself is clean, and spectacularly built with a wildlife-viewing platform above the trees. The staff is very helpful and knowledgable and the guides are great! If you go be sure to take part in all the hikes they offer. Also the food is delicious, there are lots of great options and the juice of the day is always a refreshing antidote to the tropical heat. There are two small caveats to a 5-star reivew. First, despite having a "no cell phone" policy in the open-air lodge, we were disappointed to find that there's a local American ex-pat that this rule apparently does not apply to. He was allowed to drunkenly and loudly talk on his cell phone in the restaurant, and when we complained it was explained that he's an exception to the rule because "he has money." Secondly, and sadly, the road up to Lapa Rios attracts a lot of motorbikes and 4x4s which you can hear during daylight hours. One of the main reasons to go to Lapa Rios is to enjoy the sounds of the rainforest. Motorbikes revving their engines is not a relaxing sounds.

Room Tip: Choose one of the lower bungalows; it's a sweaty hike to the main dining area but worth the isol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sligo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayuga S, Manager at Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Sligo98,
greetings from the Osa Peninsula and Lapa Rios Eco Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about your stay with us, especially about the incredible wildlife that you experienced during your stay. No better place in Costa Rica to see rain forest wildlife than Lapa Rios and the Osa Peninsula. We also thank you for your feedback on the two things that held you back from writing that perfect five star review. First of all, please accept our apologies on the episode with the neighbor speaking on his cell phone in the restaurant. You are absolutely right to point out that this was handled very poorly by our staff. We have made appropriate changes and situations like this will not happen again. In terms of the noise from the road, there is unfortunately not much we can do about this. February is one of the busiest months here and probably road traffic was much more than usual. This typically does not affect the experience of our guests, but we take note. Thanks again for your great comments on the delicious food, fresh tropical juices and the quality of our guided hikes in the Lapa Rios Reserve. We hope to be able to conserve the wildlife in this special part of Costa Rica for many more years and with your help and travelers like you, we feel very positive that it will be possible. Please come back soon. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
1.9 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
12.5 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#4 of 45 in Osa Peninsula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
18.6 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
7.5 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula

Property: Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Address: Osa Peninsula, Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a 1000-acre private nature reserve in Central America's last remaining lowland tropical rainforest in Costa Rica, Lapa Rios Ecolodge overlooks the pristine point where the Golfo Dulce meets the wild Pacific Ocean, a destination matching everyone's idea of paradise. Much more than a luxurious eco lodge, Lapa Rios is a model ecotourism project and a sustainable tourism pioneer. Over the years, we have received many awards for social and environmental excellence. Home to a plethora of incredible wildlife, including monkeys, scarlet macaws, pumas, toucans, tree frogs and thousands of other creatures, a trip to Lapa Rios Eco lodges Ecolodges will be the experience of a lifetime. Lapa Rios is one of only 24 National Geographic Unique Eco Lodges of the World ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Hotel Playa Matapalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing