We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 April 2006

When I got off the plane, I could tell that the service at Lapa Rios was out of this world, as SEVEN, yes SEVEN staff members were waiting for me. I am not sure if this happens all the time but it was really nice to have that many people waiting for you.
They let you go to their little office just a stroll away from the air strip, there you can use the bathroom and enjoy a glass of water or have a soft drink.
They then take you in a van and drive you up to Lapa Rios.
Our bungalow was luckily pretty close to the lodge. The rest were all a long walk up. Hard work.

The beach was nice! There were jellyfish there and unfortunately I got stung by one. It wasn't too bad, though.

There were lots of insects in the room at night even though we kept the lights off. The rooms have screens and use no glass. There was a poisonous toad outside of our door and numerous insects that entered our room. I got bitten by a spider one night.
The food was good, breakfast was good, lunch was nice. They had a certain kind of chip, dip, and juice every day at lunch. Dinner was a lovely three course meal, and I got sick of the food after 4 days but I have to give them props for having great food in the jungle.

Within 15 minutes of going to the observation tower I saw:
a flock of about 6 Scarlet Macaws
a toucan
monkeys!
Howler monkeys make noise often during the night and the first time I heard them it scared me really really bad.
The Ridge Hike was really nice. Ulices is a really great guide!

The service was so great. Best service I've ever had anywhere. They pay attention to your every need.

I would recommend Lapa Rios to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway from civilization.

It is a memory to remember.
Thank you Lapa Rios.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kd2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
There are newer reviews for Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2006

We stayed at Lapa Rios 2 years ago and absolutely loved our experience there, hoping to visit again next year. Nature is the focus at this wonderful place, every one was very friendly and knowledgable about the area and the food is excellent gourmet. We would describe Lapa Rios as Jungle Luxury.
Nature is up close and personal everywhere you turn, Macaws, Parrots, Toucans, Hummingbirds, many kinds of birds, Monkeys (Howler monkeys sound like gorillas), Agouti, giant Iguanas, butterflies, I could go on and on... One morning they had to use the net to clean the pool with to get a beautiful 3 ft emerald green Iguana out of the deep end of the pool, he got in then the cool water must have put him into hyperthermia but they saved it with no harm done.
LR has about a dozen thatched roof bungalows built on the mountainside with special screened walls on two sides with a view of the Golfo Dulce where it meets the Pacific. Views are to die for...
Each bungalow is arranged for privacy with a large deck, an indoor bathroom with shower, you feel like you are outside but have a thatched roof overhead and a screen between you and the jungle and a garden shower just off the deck. They even offer early morning coffee delivered to your bungalow for those not ready to hurry off to breakfast.
The wildlife is VERY abundant as they have not disturbed the wilderness except where absolutely necessary, a true Eco-Lodge and absolutely a nature lovers paradise. There was some kind of fruit bearing tree just outside of our bungalow (tree top was at eye level) that attracted monkeys and toucans so we could watch them undisturbed having a snack only a few feet away.
The large open dining area has a good size deck with viewing telescope and a spiral staircase up to a rooftop lookout that is at the highest point in the area, incredible!
They offer guided hikes with friendly knowledgable guides from easy hikes to vigorous for the enthusiastic.
The downhill walk to the beach is an adventure and fun, we had the beach to ourselves during our visits and they even offer to pick you up so you do not have to hike back up the mountain if you are feeling lazy.
We rate Lapa Rios as a Five Star Jungle Luxury Lodge and a memory to cherish.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2006

I just returned from Costa Rica and the Lapa Rios lodge is amazing. Complete eco experience, with top luxury touches. Unbeatable service, great food, knowledgeable guides. Highly recommended.

6  Thank daffypuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2006

Lapa Rios has won many travel awards and testaments to the lodge and to eco-tourism are displayed prominently throughout the building. However, this is probably the first destination where the reality of the place actually exceeds all that is written about it. From the moment of arrival, you are made to feel like a very honoured guest. Everything is so well organised and the staff carry out their tasks with such a quiet efficiency that you just know everything will work and be wonderful. Bungalows are all the same and are designed and situated to give maximum privacy. If you are not able to walk well, it is definitely recommended that you request room numbers 1 & 2 as there are a number of steps and gradients between all the other rooms and the reception area. However, you do spot loads of wildlife on your walks from the rooms to the public areas. All rooms have a huge decked area with sunbeds, garden furniture and a hammock, where you can just while away the time watching the birdlife, the monkeys and the calm waters of the Golfo Dulce. The food is excellent (we bought the cookbook) and is on a full board basis. It prepared and served by local people with the same friendly, calm efficiency as everything else. There are a diverse number of tours available ranging from easy, gentle walks to long hikes and nights spent out in the jungle - something for everyone in fact. The pool area is quiet and restful and is kept beautifully. Most guests typically spend 3/4 nights here, but I would really recommend that if you can, spend a week (or more). It charges top rates but is worth every cent!

11  Thank The Penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2006

Lapa Rios was our first experience in "eco-tourism" and I should say that our visit there was not inspired by that genre of tourism. My wife and I, both in our early fifties, were just trying to get away, for the first time by ourselves, and Costa Rica and LR fell into our itinerary. We both have come away inspired by the LR mission and the experience that we had there as participants.

The accomadations and food experiences were unique. Each of the bungaloes are completely private one from the other. We stayed in #16. The bungaloes are all placed on a descending slope from the Main Lodge, which in our case meant 189 steps up. I viewed the walk back and forth as guilt free enjoyment of the exquisite food offered!

Lapa Rios is enjoyed by people that are interested in hiking and learning about the rain forest. Because we love to hike, and entered into the experience with no other expectations, we loved it. Our guides were welcoming, extremely knowledgeable. You can take as much as you want from the hiking and educational side of the offerings, or just sit and wait for the Scarlet Macaws to fly by, or Howler Monkeys to wake you.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Porch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Philadelphia, PA
15
Reviewed 21 January 2006

  • Stayed: January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2005

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lilacrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
1.7 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
12.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
320 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#4 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
168 reviews
9.8 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula

Address: Osa Peninsula, Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range: £471 - £967 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a 1000-acre private nature reserve in Central America's last remaining lowland tropical rainforest in Costa Rica, Lapa Rios Ecolodge overlooks the pristine point where the Golfo Dulce meets the wild Pacific Ocean, a destination matching everyone's idea of paradise. Much more than a luxurious eco lodge, Lapa Rios is a model ecotourism project and a sustainable tourism pioneer. Over the years, we have received many awards for social and environmental excellence. Home to a plethora of incredible wildlife, including monkeys, scarlet macaws, pumas, toucans, tree frogs and thousands of other creatures, a trip to Lapa Rios Eco lodges Ecolodges will be the experience of a lifetime. Lapa Rios is one of only 24 National Geographic Unique Eco Lodges of the World ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Hotel Playa Matapalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing