We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Still the Best”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

After our 4th trip to Bosque del Cabo I can honestly say that you should stop reading the reviews and just contact them to book your stay. You will not regret it. All of the reviews are true. If you like nature and wildlife there is no better place. On top of it all the staff is excellent and the food is tremendous.

So, stop researching other places to stay, you have found your paradise in the rainforest.

With that said, after 4 trips we did see a lot of the same wildlife this trip. But, we also really learned to recognize the sounds of the rainforest and see unique animal behaviors this trip. After talking with Philip one day we learned that the agouti will stamp it's foot loudly if a snake is nearby. The next day we heard a pounding sound and traced it to an agouti that was stamping it's foot in the forest. We couldn't find the snake but just experiencing the behavior was great.

Not only did we see all 4 monkey species in one day on multiple occasions (something we call "going card") but we also saw all 4 monkey babies in one day which was a first. Couple that with a close up encounter with a Tamandua, our first ever Tayra sighting and 7 snakes in 7 days and you have the makings of another outstanding trip.

When you go, do take advantage of the activities offered by the lodge. Both Philip and Carlos are a wealth of knowledge and their love of the area flora and fauna is contagious.

Photographers out there should know that you can get really close to the wildlife so all you need is 300mm. No need to pack really big lenses but a tripod is essential for sharp pictures. Trip pictures and trip reports can be viewed here: http://www.focusedonnature.com/

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EDH_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    41
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
251
351
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We just got back from a few days at Bosque -- it is my fifth time visiting that property over the past 15 years. So clearly, we are big fans. I've stayed at a number of the ecolodges in Osa and Bosque ranks as my favorite, with Nicuesa my close second. The staff, the trails, the accommodations and the food are all wonderful at Bosque. The place is a gem.

As to the "disaster" talked about by BostonDenver, we had the same thing happen to us last week. Costa Rica doesn't have any poisonous insects or human-eating predators but it does have a few poisonous snakes (I think only Hawaii doesn't). I see them on every trip I take there but they don't want anything to do with people. Snake bites are usually due to humans being distracted or sloppy. When we found the Fer-de-Lance, Bosque's naturalist safely and humanely moved the snake back to the jungle where the snake (and guests) were much happier.

I agree with BostonDenver that Bosque may not be suitable for small children (under 4), although we have met a lot of families at Bosque and kids have a great time. But young ones will need supervision, just as they would in any remote area. If you are in the Osa, you really should check out Bosque.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IDOUCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston - Denver
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This is a difficult review for me - I really loved going to Bosque except for one thing.

All the amazing stuff in the reviews is true - a special one of a kind place surrounded by wildlife, nice cabins, good food, nice people, views, hiking...

But on the last night of our trip, we found a Fer-de-Lance snake on the walkway right next to our cabin -- we could have very easily stepped on it. A bite from this snake doesn't just hurt - it is seriously dangerous. I couldn't sleep that night and I still sometimes have nightmares about it.

So if you go, and especially if you go with your kids, remember this is not Disneyland. You need to watch where you're walking, look around when you enter a room, check under your pillow, stay on the trails, hike with a guide, etc.. Many people have taken their kids and had a wonderful time, but I personally have decided not to take my kids here because even though it's a very small risk I don't think it's a risk I want to take.

Room Tip: We stayed in Mariposa and like it very much, a deluxe cabina on the end. It was very private and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BostonDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Five friends stayed in Casa Blanca in early May and had one of the best trips ever! Casa Blanca has been recently renovated and it is absolutely stunning. The addition of the outdoor tubs and showers to both bathrooms was great and the wraparound covered porch leading out to the 40' deck overlooking the Pacific is where we spent the majority of our time. The two bedrooms have wide louvered doors that open to the porch/deck and we kept them open at all times. There were lots of chairs and tables on the deck and hammocks at each end. The fully stocked kitchen was nice for Happy Hour supplies and snacks, but we took all of our meals at the lodge.

The wildlife on the grounds is wonderful - four species of monkeys, toucans, scarlet macaws, agoutis, frogs, snakes, hummingbirds, honeycreepers and manakins, to name just a few. The lush landscaping near the cabins and restaurant is beautiful along with views of the Pacific. We loved sitting on our deck watching the scarlet macaws and pelicans fly past. Every day the white-faced capuchins and spider monkeys were feeding in the fruit trees by the deck. The howler monkeys started roaring around 4 am and we always got up to start our wildlife watching at that point.

The food was delicious from banana pancakes to tuna melt sandwiches to mahi mahi at dinner. It was amazing that we didn't gain weight, but all the hiking kept it off! We enjoyed the communal dinners and sharing wildlife viewing tips with others.

There are numerous trails to hike, but my favorite was the Titi Trail where I was able to see a large troupe of squirrel monkeys for the first time. We also visited the pond by the road every evening after dinner to check out the frogs and snakes. The Creek and Vista trails had loads of black/green poison dart frogs hopping around each morning.

The staff members were a delight to get to know. Although the owners were out of the country the lodge operated flawlessly.

I have visited Costa Rica on five previous trips and have to admit that this is the best place that I've ever stayed - it's true paradise!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hummingbird51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This rainforest lodge should be the standard for rainforest lodges. This place is amazing in every way. The cabinas all overlook the Pacific. The main lodge is very impressive and blends into the environment seamlessly. The property around the main lodge and the cabinas is also a botanic garden. The breakfasts and lunches were really good but the dinners were just as good as any 4 star restaurant in the United States. The main attraction of the lodge is the rainforest reserve. Because of the rainforest corridors that exist between Bosque del Cabo and Corcovado National Park, the wildlife is everywhere. Toucans, scarlet macaws, motmots, trogons, manakins, all 4 native monkey species, peccaries, tapirs, ocelots, pumas, deer, currasow, sloths, coatis, tamanduas, poison dart frogs and lots of snakes, and much much more just outside your cabina. I can't recommend Bosque del Cabo enough.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This is a long-overdue review of Bosque del Cabo. Our family of 5 (2 adults, 3 kids under 15) stayed over Christmas 2011. Although the place was fully booked, it never felt overcrowded. The staff was simply wonderful, they always seemed as if they were happy to see you and went out of their way to fulfill whatever need you had.

We stayed in Pizote, a family deluxe cabina with two queens on the main level and a loft with two twin beds. There was a small bathroom with a toilet and sink, and a separate dressing room with a sink, which led to the outside shower. The key to getting a hot shower was to shower late in the afternoon when the eco-friendly hot water system had spent all day in the sun. We had lots of wildlife in and around our cabina, including a scorpion (!) up in the loft and a toad that kept coming back every night, right in front of the sliding screen doors. Beautiful views of the Pacific, gorgeous sunsets, scarlet macaws flying by, troops of monkeys traveling from tree to tree below us . . . . what more could we want?

We took advantage of many of the guided walks around the property. Philip the naturalist was a great guide. The kids especially loved the night walk which revealed many birds and crawling critters we never would have seen ourselves. (All guided tours are an extra fee.) We did a full day trip out on the Gulfo Dulce--saw two different types of dolphins in the bay, visited an animal sanctuary, and went up the Esquinas river and saw tons of birds. Bosque packed up huge lunches and snacks and water bottles for us to take on the day trip. You could do many self-guided walks as well. One day we hiked the trail down to the Pacific and then about a mile along the beach to a waterfall. The hike back up the 500 or so steps was less fun than the trip down, but the big troop of capuchin monkeys that seemed to follow us overhead made the walk more interesting. We also had a fabulous early morning bird walk with Carlos, who was terrific at spotting birds hiding out in the dense forest. He even spotted a sloth high up in the trees! We were not fortunate enough to see the mountain lions our fellow guests saw, but we did see some peccaries, agoutis, and about a million leaf-cutter ants.

The food at Bosque was delicious. There are two rotating menus for breakfast, I believe two or so for lunch. Before dinner we often went to the bar to have a drink and chat with the other guests. At dinner, the staff would sit groups of people together, and usually put different people together each night, so you got to really know some of the other visitors. We personally enjoyed meeting other folks. For those who want a more intimate experience, you could request a private table. Dinner was different each night, and every night was a treat. Many choices for each dinner, so even picky eaters will find something to enjoy. Desserts were yummy too.

Overall, this was an amazing experience and I wish we had had more time to spend at Bosque. This is not a hotel, so you need to be prepared for a different experience. You really feel immersed in the rain forest around you and that is an amazing thing. Again, the staff was just wonderful, from the moment you stepped out of the jeep and they offered you a cool fruit drink, during every meal, and all the time in between. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: A few of the cabinas are located in the forest, a ways away from the dining room, requiring a walk a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EmmaKayOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My husband and I were guests at a friend's wedding in early May 2012. We spent 6 nights in a deluxe cabin, staggering views, fabulous food, incredible wildlife everywhere, including monkeys in the trees surrounding our beautiful accommodation.

The standard of everything in our cabin (Pizote) was fantastic, the staff are charming and well informed - they arranged a birthday cake for one of our party at very short notice and had a staff member bring gift wrapping paper up to the Lodge of us to wrap a present we bought at the Lodge gift shop.

If you want to get away from it all, but have all the luxuries to make you feel pampered, this is the spot.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaireadBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
1.7 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
12.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#4 of 45 in Osa Peninsula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
9.4 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
11.0 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge

Property: Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Address: | halfway between Puerto Jimenez and Corcovado National Park, Cabo Matapalo 60702, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bosque del Cabo is a romantic getaway and a naturalist’s dream, come true. Crowning a point 500 feet above where the Golfo Dulce meets the Pacific Ocean, nestled in the unspoiled jungles of Costa Rica’s Osa Peninsula is a paradise found. Located in a unique and fortunate position at the very tip of the Osa Peninsula in the southern Pacific region of Costa Rica, this 750+ acre forest reserve features private, spacious bungalows and gorgeous houses perched atop the cliffs of Cabo Matapalo, each with beautiful ocean views, tropical breezes and the rainforest at your doorstep; or choose beautiful and rustic garden view accommodations surrounded by thriving rainforests. Hiking trails lead you through the forest to deserted beaches on both the Golfo Dulce and Pacific Ocean. Bosque del Cabo, which opened its doors as a hotel in 1990, is owner operated and dedicated to forest preservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bosque Del Cabo Rainforest Hotel Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing