We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely slipping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Definitely slipping”
Reviewed 4 February 2008

Our first stay at Bosque del Cabo was wonderful!! We were hoping for a similar experience when we stayed there in 2007 but had a less than enjoyable vacation. The house we rented was under renovation and the power never worked so our food rotted. Of the two chefs working at the lodge, one of them was terrible so we tried to avoid eating when she was cooking. There was a general "who cares" attitude and not much effort was made to correct the problems we had. Compared to our first trip this was a big disappointment. I will not be returning to this lodge.

  • Liked — wildlife and scenery
  • Disliked — Maureens cooking, problems with the accomodations
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank shutterbugAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    41
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
251
351
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
united states
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2008

All reviews are biased by our own expectations. I expected the following out of Bosque: exceptional wildlife viewing, relaxation in a beautiful setting (both natural and manmade), friendly and down to earth staff, the same goes for the management, and guided fishing from the beach. Bosque delivered all of these except the last two. The opportunities to see wildlife here are incredible. Focus your time during the dawn and dusk. During the heat of the day the wildlife are taking a siesta so do the same and go to the pool or beach (the walk to the beach is beautiful, challenging, and rewarding). The grounds, lodge, pool, bar, and cabins are casually beautiful and maintained with an eye for detail. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, local, and casual. I did not expect the food to be anything to rave about. After all this is hard to accomplish buffet style. Bosque does accomplish this and I especially appreciated the local vegetable served every evening. This all added up to an exceptional experience. I only had a couple disappointments (nothing is perfect for everyone!). The guided bird hikes start too late in the morning. By the time you get going things are starting to heat up and the birds are quieting down. This will be a disappointment for any serious birder. We inquired about the guided inshore fishing (offered on their website), but no one ever got back to us. I found the management a bit unfriendly. I also prefer to not have to dine family style. Yes, they offer a few table off to the side, but be prepared to stick out like a nonsocial sore thumb. Lastly, the price is inflated. We stayed in nicer, more remote places, than Bosque on this trip and paid less. Bosque is not that remote. I expect that the sustainable practices of the lodge equate to higher overhead, but others are doing this and are not as expensive. In all, if you can afford it, this is an incredible place to stay.

  • Liked — asthetics
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveling_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2008

Bosque del Cabo is an absolute must for any nature lover. The wildlife seen in one visit will amaze you! You don't have to leave your bungalow to see wildlife either, it's all around you! Some favorites of mine are the scarlet macaws, howler monkeys, toucans, poison dart frogs, coatis and spider monkeys. The owners are wonderful and the staff is amazing. I have now been there 3 times and am always amazed at what a magical place this is!

  • Liked — Honestly, everything! The people and wildlife really make the trip.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KarmaLover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2008

Bosque del Cabo gave us an experience of life in the jungle at the edge of the Pacific, while enjoying a beautiful setting, attractive accommodations and great meals. After an night in San Jose, we flew a 19 passenger Nature Air plane on a 45 minute trip to Puerto Jimenez, a remote location near the southern tip of the Osa Peninsula, located on the southwest coast of Costa Rica. The plane was painted with tropical colors, the ride over the mountains was beautiful and the touch down at the small landing strip was fun. We were picked up by Bosque's driver for the 45 minute ride to the lodge, where we were warmly welcomed by the staff and shown to our deluxe cabina, named Mariposa, a thatched roof palapa at the edge of the jungle overlooking the Pacific. (The deluxe cabinas feature large sitting areas not featured in the standard cabinas.) We explored the grounds with beautiful tropical plants and saw and heard howler monkeys and toucans near our cabina. We enjoyed drinks before dinner in a palapa next to the pool. A delicious buffet dinner is served in a large palapa with guests seated at 8 person tables for conversation. Breakfast and lunch are ordered from menus with most guests choosing separate tables. The food and service were wonderful. There are many long and short hiking trails available directly from the lodge. Some go through the jungle and some lead down the 500 feet drop to the water. Our favorite was the hike down the Pacific Trail. We saw and heard lots of howler monkeys on these hikes, as well as toucans, scarlet macaws and coatis. We took an early morning birding tour and an evening snake, frog, toad and spider tour with flashlights, given by the lodge's excellent naturalists. We appreciated Bosque's commitment to maintaining and enhancing the natural environment of this special place.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JungleTrailJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2008

There is not much I can add to the 80+ excellent reviews of BdC except to say that we have stayed in resorts all over the world and this is, by far, one of our most favorite places on the planet. This was our first trip to Costa Rica, and we were blown away by the natural wonders all over the country. That being said, BdC is the complete package - tremendous accommodations, great food, knowledgable guides, seemingly endless trails - right in the middle of pristine rain forest packed with all the nature Costa Rica has to offer. You can see more here from the deck of your cabana than you can in most of the National Parks. I am a bit of a photography freak, and I could have stayed here two more weeks (easily), snapping pictures until my index finger fell off. A special thanks to all the wonderful staff who made our stay enjoyable - particularly Eduardo, who went out of his way to come out with us and our flash lights to look for (and find) red eyed tree frogs by the pond. We left BdC with a better appreciation for the precious resource that is the rain forest and a gazillion pictures to help keep our memories fresh.

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank awc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2007

It's difficult not to be redundant. Bosque has an unbelievably loyal and enthusiastic fan club. After spending 6 days [12/15-21/07] there, I understand why. Bosque does everything right, from meeting us at our cruise ship dock in Puerto Caldera, delivering us to San Jose airport, meeting us at the PJ airport, etc. etc. etc. Logistics, food, accommodations, privacy, setting, service, Spanish lessons, wildlife, absence of mosquitos, ... no reason to go on and on. Just keep reading more reviews should you need more convincing. Remember to bring flashlights and sturdy trail shoes that can handle slippery, muddy surfaces. No need for the knee boots you used in the Amazon, though.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bnaysrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2007

We returned to Bosque after a great stay last year. It didn't disappoint. The cabin was comfortable, albeit small (we like the small cabins in the garden area), the food excellent and the trails wonderful. Great wildlife sighting. Great proximity to the beaches. It is a hikers and photographer's paradise. Moreover, the staff is excellent. Their masseuse, Jutta, is special....really special. Their guide Carlos is excellent; knowledgeable and personable. We would not qualify our recommendation of this property.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IDOUCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
1.7 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
12.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#4 of 45 in Osa Peninsula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
9.4 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
11.0 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge

Property: Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Address: | halfway between Puerto Jimenez and Corcovado National Park, Cabo Matapalo 60702, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bosque del Cabo is a romantic getaway and a naturalist’s dream, come true. Crowning a point 500 feet above where the Golfo Dulce meets the Pacific Ocean, nestled in the unspoiled jungles of Costa Rica’s Osa Peninsula is a paradise found. Located in a unique and fortunate position at the very tip of the Osa Peninsula in the southern Pacific region of Costa Rica, this 750+ acre forest reserve features private, spacious bungalows and gorgeous houses perched atop the cliffs of Cabo Matapalo, each with beautiful ocean views, tropical breezes and the rainforest at your doorstep; or choose beautiful and rustic garden view accommodations surrounded by thriving rainforests. Hiking trails lead you through the forest to deserted beaches on both the Golfo Dulce and Pacific Ocean. Bosque del Cabo, which opened its doors as a hotel in 1990, is owner operated and dedicated to forest preservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bosque Del Cabo Rainforest Hotel Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing