We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our grandkids loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Went to BdC in August with our grandkids and they loved the waterfall and the night walk and just laying on the deck and watching the Macaws fly by. We stayed in the well equiped Casa Blanca with 2 bedrooms was perfect for our group our grandson preferred the large couch. We chose the meal plan option and everyone, even our somewhat picky granddaughter, enjoyed the variety of finely prepared options at each meal. Our hosts were extremely knowledgeable and helpful and have truly created a unique vacation experience.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank showkit33048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

Bosque del cabo the most amazing rainforest lodge I could ever Imagine. It is my favorite place in all of Costa Rica, if not the world! The owners are amazing and really care about Their guests, the food, and the entire experience. The service is beyond belief and the lodge continues to get better every year. I cannot recommend Bosque Del Cabo highly enough!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chip-toft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

As a world traveler, l have stayed in more than my share of resorts and lodges. The staff, facilities, food and experts at Bosque Del Cabo have meet and exceeded my expectations by 10 fold. My room is super comfortable with a view to die for. The owner Phil and his staff go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. I would recommend this resort to all my friends and family. Thanks Phil, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CFargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Bottom line: if you are looking for a relaxing nature oriented place away from the typical CR trial (Arenal, Monteverde, Jaco), this is a great place to visit. My wife and I are already discussing when to go back for a long weekend getaway.

My first time to Osa was just last week and we stayed at Bosque. I've been to CR three times over the past 10 years and this is by far my favorite place to stay. I instantly felt comfortable there. Great place for small groups, families, couples or friends traveling together. An amazing family run place with instant access to all the wildlife you would expect to see in Osa. Most cabins have great sunset views of the ocean, porches, hammocks, ocean breezes, etc. Meals are healthy and great; dinners served family style, lunch and breakfast selections are via menu. Staff was always helpful and available. Plenty to do at Bosque: popular tours included early morning birding, zip line, waterfall rappelling, night hike and river tours. Our favorite thing to do was just walking the well maintained/marked trails looking for wildlife. Animals we saw with little to no effort in just four days and without a guide: all four types of monkeys, 150+ species of bird, arachnids, snakes, frogs, toads, aguti, coatis and tayra. If we had spent more time walking the trails I think we would have spotted peccary, anteater, skunk and porcupine. Pumas are in the area, but are hard to find. Book early to get good rooms and to ensure availability during the peak season. Set your expectations for humidity and no A/C. Hot water might take a few minutes to get to your cabin. Not the roughest of the eco places I've been to, not the swankiest either. Just right.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ForrestJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This place is absolutely amazing! I went on a weeklong girls trip and we had the best time. I would really like to go back on a romantic getaway, or on a family trip.

The staff and other visitors were wondeful. The food is 5 star and the dining area is beautiful. Every room is private, secluded and full of wild life. ..........go visit, it will be a trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NBSailorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights and 4 days at this gorgeous place. It was a short, easy flight from San Jose, Costa Rica to Puerto Jimenez, where we were picked up by very friendly hotel staff and driven to Bosque in a Range Rover. While we ate a delicious lunch in the outdoor shady restaurant -pool area, our bags were delivered to our cabina Vista Del Mar. The bedroom and porch overlooked the Pacific Ocean where we spent hours in our rockers and hammock on our private porch watching and listening to McCaws and Toucans in the trees . The indoor-outdoor private bath was a wonderful way to cool off while immersed in the exotic surroundings.
Orchids and Hybiscas were all around. We hiked the jungle trails where howler monkeys screamed at us, made an unforgettable trek down the mountain to the beach, took a guided night tour of Bosque to see hidden wildlife. Landscaping around the whole area is amazing ,with,beautiful paths among the cabinas leading down to the ocean. In the evenings, dinner was served buffet style in huge wooden bowls lined with palm leaves. Cooling overhead fans and tiki lights made for a party atmosphere. The food was unbelievably delicious, varied and plentiful. Guests could eat at small private tables or larger ones with visitors from all over the world. The owners of Bosque were especially hospitable, welcoming each guest . We felt we were part of a family, getting to know the staff after a day or two. The price of our stay was very reasonable considering the all-inclusiveness of Bosque, the fabulous meals, the service, the closeness to wildlife, and comfortable accommodations. We are planning a return trip with our grandchildren.

Room Tip: Rooms near the ocean get cooling breezes and are closer to the eating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

In Costa Rica, one expects a rougher vacation with great exposure to wildlife. Bosque del Cabo sells itself as a more luxurious way to experience it. But what it was to us was a bit confusing.

We saw the resort-y features, such as:

Food: really good! Satisfying buffets for dinners an a good selection for breakfasts and lunches.

Bar: a comfortable place to meet fellow travellers and enjoy a mixed drink or beer. Not pricey.

Staff: with one exception, everyone was really friendly and knew us. There were about 30 guests when we were there.

Pool: small, but pretty good if you're bringing children. But it's not conducive to relaxing with a book as there aren't enough chairs and tends to be a bit splashy.

Landscaping: the grounds have been largely clear cut for installation of hedges and manicured lawns. This comes at a cost to local wildlife.

But it also has things that make it feel like a traditional ecolodge, some which are in conflict with the above:

Hot water: there was no hot water in either rooms we stayed at (Aracari and Casa Teca). The book that comes with the room makes it clear there were no guarantees, but that doesn't make it much better. It seems at odds with the lawns, pool and restaurant. We've stayed at lots of places in CR with solar hot water, both on the grid (Talari, Savegre, Cerro, others) and off (El Copal, Rio Tigre). This is the first time we've had no hot water.

Wildlife: excellent. We saw about 100 species of birds without a guide. If you're only into the bright things (toucans, aracari, macaws), you'll do well. Frogs were easy to find too. We saw 3 monkeys species without really trying and heard the fourth.

Trails: the trails we followed were steep and a bit muddy. And there's lots of wildlife on Titi and the road. The signage to the waterfalls was non-existent and we never found them. The trail map they provide is useless. Think tough, sweaty hiking, not a stroll in the park. Watch for snakes.

Roads: The directions from Puerto Jimenez were easy to follow, but the quality of the roads was inexcusably bad. One should never expect asphalt roads in CR, but the potholes and ruts could be filled of they took the time. This is on both the public road and the grounds themselves. We have forded rivers and done quite difficult terrain, but this is the hardest 4x4 driving we've had to do in CR in our 3 trips here.

If you're after a luxury resort, the cold water and rough terrain would put you off. If you wanted a wildlife experience, the manicured lawns, price and largish place might be off-putting.

We chose Cabo as a more luxurious break from our usual rougher ecolodge experience and didn't feel we got that either.

We didn't have a bad time, but we didn't have the great time the promo video promised. And it was pretty expensive for us.

We were there from Dec 24-27, 2012.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
1.7 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
1.2 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#2 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
621 reviews
12.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
342 reviews
1.5 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#4 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
169 reviews
4.8 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge

Address: | halfway between Puerto Jimenez and Corcovado National Park, Cabo Matapalo 60702, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range: £313 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bosque del Cabo is a romantic getaway and a naturalist’s dream, come true. Crowning a point 500 feet above where the Golfo Dulce meets the Pacific Ocean, nestled in the unspoiled jungles of Costa Rica’s Osa Peninsula is a paradise found. Located in a unique and fortunate position at the very tip of the Osa Peninsula in the southern Pacific region of Costa Rica, this 750+ acre forest reserve features private, spacious bungalows and gorgeous houses perched atop the cliffs of Cabo Matapalo, each with beautiful ocean views, tropical breezes and the rainforest at your doorstep; or choose beautiful and rustic garden view accommodations surrounded by thriving rainforests. Hiking trails lead you through the forest to deserted beaches on both the Golfo Dulce and Pacific Ocean. Bosque del Cabo, which opened its doors as a hotel in 1990, is owner operated and dedicated to forest preservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bosque Del Cabo Rainforest Hotel Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing