We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay In a wonderful place high in the rainforest over the ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Bosque del Cabo was the perfect place to stay on the gorgeous Osa Peninsula. We stayed in 2 different beautiful cabinas, one with a high thatched roof, both with incredible ocean views. We hiked daily on both difficult and easy trails and saw a vast variety of birds, mammals, and frogs, none of which we had ever seen before. Some trails lead to the ocean and deserted beach. We watched 4 different species of monkeys swing from trees just by sitting on our chairs on our deck. We paddled with dolphins on our kayak trip.
The staff at Bosque del Cabo are wonderful. I have Never stayed in a place where across the board the staff were so warm and helpful. The guides are incredibly knowledgable and Phillip's Primary Rainforest hike is a must. The food is good and healthy. Ten days at Bosque del Cabo was not enough!

Room Tip: All cabinas are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hikergirl260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed at the BDC as part of a vacation organized by "Anywhere Costa Rica". Please see my comments specifically reviewing them/their services.

I should preface my comments to follow with an acknowledgement that the BDC, like much of our itinerary as organized by Anywhere Costa Rica, was a LONG way to go! It is possible (even advisable) to fly into Puerto Jiminez, rather than endure the dreadful roads. By the way, Puerto "Hellmenez" is very hot, in the temperature sense!

However, once we actually arrived at the BDC, we really enjoyed the beauty and solitude of the place. Don't go to the BDC if you need entertainment, nightlife or a beachfront experience! Fortunately, we're all readers; we did a lot of reading!

It's a bit of an adventure getting to the BDC. If you get a car, you will need a 4x4 as the roads are very rutted and you'll need to cross a few stream/rivers along the way. The BDC is not that far from Puerto Jiminez, 20 km or about a half-hour drive.

Our family of 5 stayed at the Casa Coco, which is one of the bungalows set apart from the main hotel area. "Bungalow" doesn't really do this place justice though - with a nice kitchen and two large, comfy King-sized bedrooms (with outdoor showers!) and a huge deck somewhat overlooking the ocean and the private "plunge pool" (which we used a lot). It was pretty sweet! We were there for 3 nights. Please note - the property is heavily treed and with lots of foliage, you can kind of see the ocean, but it's quite distant and screened by the greenery.

If you stay at the Casa Coco (as with other of the separate residences at the BDC), your meals are not included so be sure to stop at one of the grocery stores in Puerto Jiminez and pick up the food items you'll need. Have a meal plan & grocery list to work from. Alternatively, you can take some meals at the main lodge, but you will pay an extra fee (and it's pricey). There are at least 2 decent size grocery stores in Puerto Jiminez, on the main drag (which is the only road to Cabo Matapalo and the BDC). The "BM" (seriously!) is impossible to miss.

Daily housekeeping service is provided for the Casa Coco.

My only complaint was, like other locations on our trip, there was no easy access to the beach from the BDC. We did have a car and we did go down to the closest beach (about a 15-minute drive from Casa Coco). The beach was very rocky, although it was postcard beautiful (and virtually deserted). A cooler for a picnic would be a great idea!

Apparently you can hike down to a beach from the BDC, but the beach is not swimmable, due to the riptides and heavy surf (and it was too hot to hike and not be able to swim). Rats! Foiled again!

We did see a lot of wildlife while at the BDC, including two families of spider monkeys who came by and ate in the fruit trees located right off the deck of the Casa Coco (they were about 20' away). We also saw a snake, a scorpion and about a million "Halloween" crabs, which have a penchant for sneaking into the Casa Coco, under the doors or up through the floor boards. Kinda' creepy at first, but they're harmless and we got used to them. They're actually kind of cute! And as visually stunning as a Scarlet Macaw looks, they sound like nothing I've ever heard before - their screech is unbelievable!

This was a really quiet, very relaxing end to our two weeks in Costa Rica. The BDC is a very nice, although expensive, destination resort.

Room Tip: No air conditioning at the Casa Coco, but there are ceiling fans which keep things comfortable. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Legalm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

but, what the heck, I'll add a bit to this many times stated opinion. I was here as a casual "birder" with a group from Wisconsin and the "serious" birders were not disappointed here. Why, even the lodge's deck offered good avian viewing; morning Costa Rican coffee in hand, binoculars at the ready on the table, that's my kind of bird watching. I especially enjoyed the night hikes and seeing some of the nocturnal residents of the rainforest; next time, though, I'd bring my night-vision scope to see what might be "lurking" just beyond the headlamp lighting. As for the lodging, food, staff, etc., that's been covered positively, in triplicate or more, by other reviewers already. As for the group that I was with, a good time was had by all and one certainly can't ask for better than that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ridingEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I wanted to love the Bosque del Cabo - if for no other reason than that it was the most expensive place I've ever stayed. But, despite the unbelievable location, wildlife, trails, and cabanas - and the fantastic food - there was something missing. I couldn't exactly put my finger on it, but I never really felt welcome.

When we first arrived, it took awhile to get anyone's attention to check us in, and then they didn't seem interested in letting me where to go or what to do with my car. When I wanted to sign up for activities, it was never clear who to ask or where to go...

Also, the pre-arrival information was often incorrect: they said there would be no internet, but the internet worked fine. They severely discouraged driving, but driving was easy and is definitely the way to go, especially when travelling in a big group.

There were lots of spiders in our room (we killed them the first day and didn't have much problems after that), but that is to be expected in the jungle.

Here's the best example: we wanted to go on the horseback riding activity. When we found someone to ask about it, he just wrote it down on a little piece of paper and I had to ask 3 or 4 times before he understood that I wanted to know when/where to meet. Then, when we went to the place they told us to go, we sat there for 30 minutes before someone approached us and told us we were supposed to drive to a house down the road. They gave us no directions - just said to find a house with horses. The horse guide didn't speak English and it was never clear if we were supposed to pay him or pay at the hotel.

I think if you are old and rich and want a beautiful, all-inclusive jungle lodge with great food - this is the place for you. If you are an independent traveler, you'd probably be better off somewhere else...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PLCallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

we stayed here for 4 days in February and had a magical trip. We stayed in Casa Coco which is a stand alone house that is a short drive away from the main lodge. It's perfect for 2 couples with beautiful bedrooms, kitchen, bathrooms (out door showers that are wonderful) and an amazing wrap around porch/deck with chairs, hammocks, dining area and then your own private pool...tiny but perfect for just the four of us and really needed with the heat down there. The Lodge has great meals that we chose to have 2 dinners at. Carlos the bird guide and the nature guide (sorry his name escapes me) are stellar. Really top level and so knowledgeable. We enjoyed the hikes and had a nice rhythm of getting up early to hike/walk come back for a lazy day in the heat and then going back out again around 4:00 to do another walk. Tons of birds, monkeys, really cool insects/ants, coati and others...but never saw a sloth :) So it goes.

They were also super helpful in securing our flights to and from, plus our rental car. All went off perfectly.

Room Tip: Loved Casa Coco if you want to do some of your own cooking and like being off a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmass15584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

It's difficult to select what was better; the unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean, the very comfortable bungalow, the outdoor shower, the trails, the wildlife, the friendly and accommodating staff, or the gourmet meals. Definitely go to their web site for a detailed description of this eco-lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenMyrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Six of stayed for 5 nights. It went by like 5 hours, ALWAYS something to do or see. Wonderful staff, very helpful. Terrific meals everyday, everything home made even the bread!! We have been to Costa Rica a few times before but this was our favorite. As many animals on the BDC grounds as we saw in Corcovado Park.

Phillip, the nature guide, could use a little more personality, seems very burned out. But all other staff were extremely helpful and eager to show new animals or flowers. We usually do not repeat vacations but will definitely go back to BDC.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own charaacter. We stayed in the Garden area Casa Teka and Almendra. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bob g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
1.7 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
1.2 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
644 reviews
9.4 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#5 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
174 reviews
12.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
337 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge

Address: | halfway between Puerto Jimenez and Corcovado National Park, Cabo Matapalo 60702, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range: £294 - £485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bosque del Cabo is a romantic getaway and a naturalist’s dream, come true. Crowning a point 500 feet above where the Golfo Dulce meets the Pacific Ocean, nestled in the unspoiled jungles of Costa Rica’s Osa Peninsula is a paradise found. Located in a unique and fortunate position at the very tip of the Osa Peninsula in the southern Pacific region of Costa Rica, this 750+ acre forest reserve features private, spacious bungalows and gorgeous houses perched atop the cliffs of Cabo Matapalo, each with beautiful ocean views, tropical breezes and the rainforest at your doorstep; or choose beautiful and rustic garden view accommodations surrounded by thriving rainforests. Hiking trails lead you through the forest to deserted beaches on both the Golfo Dulce and Pacific Ocean. Bosque del Cabo, which opened its doors as a hotel in 1990, is owner operated and dedicated to forest preservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bosque Del Cabo Rainforest Hotel Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing