We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Encanta La Vida(Cabo Matapalo)
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$881
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Remanso Lodge(Osa Peninsula)
US$670
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iguana Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agua Dulce Beach Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Resort(Puerto Jimenez)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$383
US$360
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Bambu Resort(Cabo Matapalo)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ojo del Mar(Cabo Matapalo)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
829
42
5
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
829
42
5
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacific trailsuspension bridgebreakfast and lunchresident biologistdeluxe cabinaother guestsscarlet macawshiking trailscosta ricatide poolsprimary forest tourtropical gardenanimal sanctuarymaintained trailssunset tourowners phil and kimtree climbing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
739 - 744 of 883 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2008

As true wildlife lovers, we found great joy in seeing Capucin, Howler and Spider monkeys literally swinging from the trees outside our casita as well as seeing scarlet macaws and amazonian parrots flying overhead and coatis running across the immense gardens. There are also agoutis and of course lizards and at night, by the pond, one can see snakes and all kinds of frogs, toads and yes, some pretty big spiders. . But this is a place of great beauty where the wonders of nature really don't frighten as much as they do amaze. And everyone there who was a guest seemed equally enthralled with the nature around them - after all, i think this is why one goes to Bosque del Cabo. This is not a place to go if you are not fascinated with the natural world and want to just lounge by a pool. The casitas have tall a-framed thatched roofs and they are partly open to the sky. Yes, i did say open and surprisingly, bugs & rain don't seem to get in - we found this to be quite beautiful but this could take a little bit of getting used to for the squeamish. Also, with all the trails and nature tours to be had on the property, we were so tired by 8:30 p.m. we didn't have the energy to worry about the open roofs if we wanted to and we were not bitten by anything in the rooms over our 5 nights there, staying in 2 different casitas ( we were moved from one to another at their request ). There are also bats flying around the balconies in the evening which we were happy about as they can eat hundreds of mosquitoes per night ( - hey, maybe that's why we never even saw any mosquitoes near our casita ) ! The tours led by Philip are , as stated in other reviews, a must. The primary forest tour is 4 hours and is jam packed with detailed information regarding the amazing variety of trees and plants and the ways in which they defend themselves against predators and other plants all aiming for the same precious sunlight. We also very heartily recommend A) the nature sanctuary tour ( 1/2 hour car to boat, 1/2 hour boat - then tour & return - around $160 for 3 I think it was ) where you can engage with monkeys one on one who are being reintroduced to the wild by some very dedicated caretakers B ) waterfall rappelling which visits 4 waterfalls; the last one being about 75' high C) surfing down at pan dulce beach ( renting board is $40. - hotel brings you there ( 15 min. drive ) & back and gives you a packed lunch on request. There are also a lot of trails as the property is pretty substantial - around 200 or more hectares, I think. The staff is quite laid back and you'll find that you have to ask them about what there is to do rather than the other way around. Views from the casita balconies are stunning and their hammocks are a great place to nap! Also as mentioned in other reviews - showers/tubs are in a walled & tiled area outside of each casita and this also takes a few minutes to get used to but no, no one can see you! Both of our casitas had king beds downstairs w/ loft beds up that had small open balconies - I would not recommend these loft beds for very little children . The casitas are quite bare but charming. Note - there are some casas to stay in as well but these are a lonnnnng walk from the main part of the lodge and other casitas and I don't think I would want to stay that far away Restaurant staff is very sweet and the food is between average and very good. Five nights for 3, all meals & tours around $2800 not including tips which were another few hundred ( waiters, maids, guides, bartenders ) An unforgettable place to let you & your children see the dwindling natural world up close & very personal.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thewindatourfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

If you want a holiday which will exceed all your expectations then Bosque del Cabo on the Osa Peninsula is the place to go.

On arriving at Bosque we were met by friendly staff who greeted us with an ice cold drink before showing us to our cabina.

The cabina was clean with an outside shower, which I loved, and a hammock on the porch, where we could relax with a good book while listening to the monkeys calling to each other in the distance.

Bosque del Cabo is a small friendly privately owned property set in over 200 acres of jungle with amazing walks and guided tours.

One of our favorite trips was the hike we took along the Pacific Trail to the beach. We made our way passed tidal pools to the waterfall not meeting a soul on our way. The photos we took were fantastic, it was such a beautiful place. The photos we took now take pride of place in our home.

We were sorry to leave Bosque but hope to visit again as this holiday destination proved to be the perfect choice, providing us with good customer service, dramatic views, wildlife on the doorstep and relaxation. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Christine81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

Our family recently stayed in the Casa Blanca House at Bosque del Cabo and had one of the best vacation experiences ever. The house was clean, comfortable and had an amazing porch overseeing the Pacific Ocean. We loved watching the monkey troops swing in the trees as we sat on our porch. I was expecting the bedrooms to be uncomfortable for sleeping, but the ceiling fans provided plenty of cool air to keep us comfortable, however the howler monkeys making a racket at 4:30am were another story! (Actually, we thought that was a pretty cool way to wake up!)
We really didn't need to leave the premises to see incredible wildlife including toucans, macaws, coatis, sloths and a variety of monkeys were everywhere. The hikes were led on the beautiful lodge grounds, by guides who were extremely knowledgable and could spot all kinds of critters from a mile away.
The dining room was beautiful, the food was outstanding and the help was great when planning our excursions. Thank you Kim and Phil for making Bosque del Cabo such a great lodge where wildlife and humans can coexist happily!
Beth

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dixieanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We travelled with our twin six year old boys. Extremely active, beautiful casitas and perfect for our family. The staff was lovely. The chef, Maureen was more than happy to cook up a platter of mac and cheese , chicken fingers or whatever was requested for the little ones, while the adults dined on delicious local food. And if you prefer to take it easy, there's a lovely pool and you can just wander around the stunning grounds and be sure to see plenty of wildlife. But for the ultimate CR experience, take advantage of the wonderful activities and the knowledgeable guides. We love showing our childen various parts of the world. Bosque in Costa Rica is going to be hard to beat.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank minska55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

When my girlfriend and I were planning our trip Costa Rica we knew that we only had a limited amount of time to stay and wanted to see only the best places. I had travelled to the Osa Peninsula before and knew that there was a magical place at the tip of Cabo Matapalo called Bosque del Cabo. We ended up staying at Bosque our entire trip and weren't disappointed in the slightest. From the moment we arrived in Puerto Jimenez we were treated not like guests of the hotel but as friends. All the employees were incredibly friendly and helpful. As a romantic getaway location Bosque cannot be beat. We were even treated to a surprise candlelight dinner for two one of the evenings. I didn't even ask for it, the staff was just that thoughtful of the guests staying at their lodge. Costa Ricans are known for their friendly personalities and Bosque picked the cream of the crop to work at their lodge. The employees wouldn't hesitate for a second to help us out or even just talk and help me practice my espanol. Phil and Kim, the owners, are hands down the most personable managers of any hotel I have ever stayed at. They were constantly interacting with guests, greeting us with smiles, and were never too busy to answer a few questions or just chat for a while. I cannot say enough good things about these two incredible people. They are the epitomy of great hospitality. The location of Bosque is noteworthy as well. Situated right on the tip of Cabo Matapalo we were treated to the magnificent Pacific Ocean on one side and the perfect surf breaks of Matapalo and the Golfo Dulce on the other. The tours that Bosque offers were easy to sign up for and impossible to forget. There are so many amazing things to do around Bosque that it was hard to get back in the car to leave. I have travelled extensively around Central America and have never been to a place as magical as Bosque del Cabo. I highly recommend it as a romantic getaway but it is suitable for any one looking to get away from the bustle of busy tourist towns and escape to a place of tranquility, beauty, and comfort.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Cykout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews