We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote, Unique, Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Summit, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Remote, Unique, Beautiful”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our friends went to Bosque and loved it, so we basically just copied them. Very good decision! I don't usually write reviews but in this case I feel compelled because Bosque del Cabo was just that good. It was unlike anything I ever see in New Jersey. The wildlife was not just in the books; we saw many different monkeys and lizards and many others. Unfortunately, we did not see any jaguars. There are many fun activities, the food is really good ( also the smoothies), and the tour guides and everyone else are smart and very nice. The 4 hour ecology tour was interesting because the tour guide was very good. Very fun and rewarding. 5 star

Room Tip: We are a family a five and we chose to room in one of the two houses. These are about a mile or so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    42
    5
    7
    0
See reviews for
268
362
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Bosque is beautifully situated on a bluff of the Osa Peninsula overlooking the Pacific and Gulfo Dulce. The open air, thatched roof cabinos are perfect, each with a beautiful view, outdoor shower, wildlife at your door. Sitting on our front porch, we photographed scarlet macaws, capuchin monkeys, howler monkeys, toucans. There are red eyed tree frogs, leaf cutter ants, many kinds of birds, just about anything a rain forest has to offer on the property. The food was terrific. Philip Davison, the resident naturalist, is a real asset. My wife and I spent 5 days there and would happily go back for another week. They arrange various day trips, boat rides, horseback riding, etc., but really, everything you want is right on the grounds within walking distance. The only minor downside is the steep trail to the beach, not recommended except for the fit.

Room Tip: All the ocean view cabinos are fine. There is a forestview room that would be less desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LosGatosPlumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Loved it - extended our 3 day booking to 10 days. They moved us to different places to accommodate us so we stayed at Bambu, Sol and Casa Blanca, …. all comfortable with great views. Wonderful staff – cheerful, friendly, accommodating. We did all of the rainforest trails and hiked down to the beach several times. The morning tour with Phil (the naturalist) was one of the highlights. Every meal was terrific. We met great people when we joined communal tables for dinner and felt comfortable staying on our own for some meals. Amazing there weren't more Canadians there. There are daily direct flights from Toronto to San Jose which connect easily with regional flights to Puerto Jimenez.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I don't usually write reviews but this is one I definitely want to do. I have been putting it off for two weeks as I really wanted to be thorough and have the time to express what an amazing place Bosque is, unfortunately I think words wont be enough. The location is incredibly beautiful. It feels very secluded yet if you fly from San Jose it doesn't take more that 1 1/2 hour in al to get there. The accommodations are the perfect combination of comfort and beauty in the jungle. The staff is very well trained and nice yet not in your face all the time- perfect balance. The food is superb and there's always plenty of choices, and they are happy to accommodate any special request if in their hands. There's plenty of activities to choose from, and to be honest just being in such a special place sitting on a terrace is an incredible experience. It's like staying in a botanical garden + safari + star rated restaurant at the same time..The fact that the owners are involved in the business shows a great deal from all points of view. They are not only running a great place to stay but contributing to the conservation of the area and making it possible that other enjoy and learn about it. THANKS KIM and PHIL!! We'll be back with more friends and family for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 844janinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Helena Island, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our 3rd. stay at Bosque. The property is well-maintained, the staff is courteous and helpful. Plenty of trails on property to choose from. Hike to the Pacific and play in the tidal pools. Go down to the Gulf to watch the surfers (we do not surf, but it is fun to watch). See all 4 types of monkeys. Macaws. Toucans. Too many other birds to list them all. The cabins are located to maintain privacy. Gather at the pool if you are too tired to hike any more and tell stories about what you have seen. Good food. Nice bar. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: You will be assigned a cabina when you arrive. Walk around and check out other cabins and they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

What a wonderful place. Piece of paradise on earth. Thanks to Fill and Kim for their exceptional conservation work and for the wonderful place they have created and running, so we can experience the beautiful and pristine rainforest.

Room Tip: Most (if not all) of the cabins oversee the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orlin05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Unique accommodations, great food, great service, lots of activities , trails, great guides, lots of rainforest animals and insects, pool, waterfalls, pristine beaches, tide pools…. and above all a true rainforest experience! One of the few places left in the country were you can experience the real thing.

Room Tip: All rooms have incredible designs and locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puravidaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
1.7 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
1.0 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 42 in Osa Peninsula
615 reviews
12.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#4 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
167 reviews
9.4 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
335 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge

Property: Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Address: | halfway between Puerto Jimenez and Corcovado National Park, Cabo Matapalo 60702, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bosque del Cabo is a romantic getaway and a naturalist’s dream, come true. Crowning a point 500 feet above where the Golfo Dulce meets the Pacific Ocean, nestled in the unspoiled jungles of Costa Rica’s Osa Peninsula is a paradise found. Located in a unique and fortunate position at the very tip of the Osa Peninsula in the southern Pacific region of Costa Rica, this 750+ acre forest reserve features private, spacious bungalows and gorgeous houses perched atop the cliffs of Cabo Matapalo, each with beautiful ocean views, tropical breezes and the rainforest at your doorstep; or choose beautiful and rustic garden view accommodations surrounded by thriving rainforests. Hiking trails lead you through the forest to deserted beaches on both the Golfo Dulce and Pacific Ocean. Bosque del Cabo, which opened its doors as a hotel in 1990, is owner operated and dedicated to forest preservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bosque Del Cabo Rainforest Hotel Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing