We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bosque Del Cabo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Jensen Beach, Florida
1 review
“Bosque Del Cabo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Fantastic vacation! Beautiful grounds filled with scenic hiking/walking trails, lush land scaping, and multiple outside lounging areas. The ocean views from the rooms is amazing. Great accommodations with comfortable rooms and great food. I am still raving about the fresh fruit. This is a destination for those who want to escape the busy outside world

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    41
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
241
349
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

After not having been to BdC in 2 years (health problems) we just got back down there at the end of May. All I can say is things are just the same. Some of the waitstaff/workers remembered us. Which was an amazing feeling.

This time I actually made the entire trip to the waterfall. Last time I walked down, just didn't climb up to it. It was amazing and felt SO good. The ice cold water was wonderful after we'd gotten a little "warm" on the way down the beach.

I didn't see the Puma (one of these days I will). But all the other animals were there in abundance. We went to a surfing beach and while looking at the water we heard noises behind us and there were white faced capuchins AND spider monkeys playing together. No fighting. We got some amazing photos. Now that was fun!!

The food was wonderful (as expected). Love the breakfast/lunch menus and the fact that dinner is served buffet style is great. I especially like the fact that the dinner tables are pushed together and you can sit and visit with "new" people. Met some really really nice people (some even live close to us)..

We stayed in a new cabina. Orchidea.. Gorgeous.. Everything was so well thought out. We really enjoyed it. Since it is upstairs there was not an outdoor shower. I missed that. Once you've used an outside shower you love them..

Philip the forest guide is so knowledgeable and can basically answer any question you can think of. I didn't get a chance to go on a birding tour this time, but would love to go again.. good reason for going back...

All in all... BdC was GREAT (as I expected).. SO glad even though there were new/updated things there... overall it was the same wonderful place we remembered...Thanks to Phil and Kim (owners) who happened to be there while we were.. BdC is an amazing place. We don't hesitate to pass the word to anyone who might be looking for a little adventure. Thanks again and we'll be back...:-)

Room Tip: Any of the cabinas on the ocean are great. They usually catch a good breeze. I've never stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This trip was my seventh visit to Costa Rica, my third to the Osa and my first to Bosque. I went solo in mid June and stayed at the Lapa Cabin for one week. The cabin is a bit tired and showed signs of wear and tear. It can definitely use some revamping however the breathtaking view and the sights and sounds of the jungle more than made up for it. Besides, I greatly enjoyed the company of a gecko who took up residence in the roof and helped keep the bugs in check.

The suspension bridge at Bosque is currently closed. There is some work being done in the Tropical Garden and some upgrading to the Garden Cabinas. In addition, the two Classic Cabinas, Sol and Bambu, are undergoing refurbishing.

On the road from Puerto Jimenez to Cabo Matapalo you will see an extensive patch of land that have been cleared for a future teak farm. It was sad to witness large scale logging in the least developed area of CR and dangerously close to Corcovado National Park.

I found the Bosque grounds to be excessively manicured (think lawn mower), something that is at odds with the spirit and intention of the lodge. However, the open grassy fields make it easy to view the wildlife that ventures around the lodge.

Agoutis, coatis and monkeys (Capuccin, Spider, Howler) are everywhere. You do not even have to go on the trails to see them.
Iguanas, lizards and basilisks come out in the morning to sunbathe and can be observed right on the restaurant's deck.
At night, bats, several frog species, snake species and a dizzying variety of spiders, scorpions and other insects make their appearance. This fantastic "nightlife" is best appreciated on the guided evening tour conducted by Philip (highly recommended).

Peccaries, sloths and squirrel monkeys are not as common but may be seen on the trails if luck is on your side. My "luck ratio" was a bit low: I hiked the Titi Trail six times and saw the peccaries twice. Needless to say, I was enthralled with this brief but intensely close encounter. Nobody could tell me when was the last time a Puma was seen at Bosque, but I am hopeful some may still be around...

Bird watching opportunities are excellent. Tinamous, kurassows, several species of hawks, turkey vultures, crested caracaras, tiger herons, scarlett macaws, red lored parrots, toucans, violacious trogons (!!!), golden naped woodpeckers, three species of hummingbirds and many more species can be seen in the early morning. I suggest the 5.00am bird watching tour with Carlos who knows the area's bird population very well.

A memorable moment came one afternoon when a pair of scarlett macaws, a toucan and a kurassow converged on a fruit tree next to may cabin. It was wonderful to contemplate these beautiful creatures going about their business up so close!

For the people who have wondered whether Corcovado offered more opportunities for wildlife viewing than Bosque, the answer is a definite yes. You will see a larger variety of animals at Corcovado but you may have a closer, more intimate wildlife observation experience at Bosque (not to mention the comfort level at Corcovado cannot compare to the relative luxury of Bosque!).

Dinner, which is served in a communal table, was always delicious and gave me the opportunity to meet other guests (families and couples). Aside from hiking the trails and doing the guided nature tours, I did not participate on the many "entertainment activities" available such as waterfall rappelling or horseback riding.

Lastly, the only reason that I am rating Bosque with 4 stars and not 5 is the fact that families with very young children and toddlers are allowed. An age limit of 8 or 9 should be set, not only for the enjoyment of adult guests who seek quiet nature observation, but for the children's own safety.

In closing, I had an excellent time and would love to visit again - hopefully before climate change, deforestation and tourist overpopulation take their toll on this magical corner of the world.

Room Tip: Nicest ocean view cabin is Pizote.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank crazy4nature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We rented Casa Miramar which has stunning views of the Pacific and great sunsets.It was like a scene from life of the rich and famous.You don't feel like you are in a resort.We had total privacy and where surrounded by Scarlet Macaws,Howler Monkeys and many other creatures 24 hrs. a day.The deck has its own pool which was fabulous at happy hour after a great day hiking,horse back riding,surfing or whatever your heart desires.The food is excellent.Buffet style,fresh every night.The staff bent over backwards to help us out.Non of the all inclusive feel at Cabo.You are in the forest with no one around but yourselves and the sounds and sites of the beautiful rainforest.It was our first visit to the Osa region and Costa Rica and we are just trying to decide now when we are going back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We recently stayed at Bosque del Cabo after winning a voucher as a prize for the 10km race in Puerto Jiminez. Phil was brilliant by letting us stay with only one weeks notice, we were very lucky there was a cabina free.

The grounds in which the accommodation is set is the best in the area. We have spent a lot of time on the OSA peninsula doing scientific research on the local ecology and Bosque has such a rich a healthy ecosystem all around it.

Great walks all around with well maintained trails and easy access

Staff are very friendly and will help with anything they can especially Phil the resident biologist

A great stay and we will definitely be returning

Room Tip: All the cabinas have a fantastic view of the ocean, nice and private with your own deck and hammock
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexg7828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovenia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed 4 nights in June 2013, and have a really great time. The grounds are filled with wildlife, and a paradise for any serious animal lover or photographer. The staff friendly, helpful and always smiling. Food … excellent. We specially loved family style dinners. One word of caution … if you are going to one of the trails on your own, do write it in the log book at the reception. As the photos are better than words, for the rest look at them.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our friends went to Bosque and loved it, so we basically just copied them. Very good decision! I don't usually write reviews but in this case I feel compelled because Bosque del Cabo was just that good. It was unlike anything I ever see in New Jersey. The wildlife was not just in the books; we saw many different monkeys and lizards and many others. Unfortunately, we did not see any jaguars. There are many fun activities, the food is really good ( also the smoothies), and the tour guides and everyone else are smart and very nice. The 4 hour ecology tour was interesting because the tour guide was very good. Very fun and rewarding. 5 star

Room Tip: We are a family a five and we chose to room in one of the two houses. These are about a mile or so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
1.9 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
1.0 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#4 of 45 in Osa Peninsula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
12.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
9.4 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
20.5 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge

Property: Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Address: | halfway between Puerto Jimenez and Corcovado National Park, Cabo Matapalo 60702, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bosque del Cabo is a romantic getaway and a naturalist’s dream, come true. Crowning a point 500 feet above where the Golfo Dulce meets the Pacific Ocean, nestled in the unspoiled jungles of Costa Rica’s Osa Peninsula is a paradise found. Located in a unique and fortunate position at the very tip of the Osa Peninsula in the southern Pacific region of Costa Rica, this 750+ acre forest reserve features private, spacious bungalows and gorgeous houses perched atop the cliffs of Cabo Matapalo, each with beautiful ocean views, tropical breezes and the rainforest at your doorstep; or choose beautiful and rustic garden view accommodations surrounded by thriving rainforests. Hiking trails lead you through the forest to deserted beaches on both the Golfo Dulce and Pacific Ocean. Bosque del Cabo, which opened its doors as a hotel in 1990, is owner operated and dedicated to forest preservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bosque Del Cabo Rainforest Hotel Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing