We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brooklyn, NY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Recently returned from 5 unforgettable nights at Bosque. From the moment we arrived, we could tell it was a special place. We woke up the first morning to the sound of howler monkeys overhead. A black and green poison dart frog was hopping around our outdoor shower and a pair of macaws was perched in a tree above our deck chairs. That’s the thing about the place – you’re not in a hotel near a rainforest, you’re in a beautiful cabin right in the middle of the rainforest and it’s alive all around you. We did a ton of hiking while we were there, but often the best wildlife sightings were just feet from our cabin. While there, we saw 4 species of monkeys, coatis, agoutis, snakes, frogs, lizards, toucans, and macaws. On a boat trip in the bay and up a river, we saw alligators, dolphins, a sea turtle, and more.
The staff were all warm and welcoming. Guided hikes were informative. The food was uniformly fantastic, as were the cocktails! Bosque attracts a great group of guests – interesting folks, willing to make the trip to this relatively remote location. Getting to know our fellow guests was a highlight.
The owners, Kim and Phil, have created a truly special place. It’s relaxing in a way I have not experienced on other vacations. So many people on Trip Advisor seem to have returned to Bosque for multiple visits. I totally understand why. We’ll be back.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong, but we stayed in Mariposa and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBC747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    42
    5
    7
    0
See reviews for
268
362
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was our third visit to Bosque and it was our best trip yet!! The hike to the waterfall was easier than in the past. It made for an easier excursion, with grandparents in tow. We saw more monkeys and dolphins than on previous trips, and we have always seen A LOT!! The food is always exceptional. My new favorite drink is lemonade with ginger. My children are 11 and 14 and can't get enough of the pool at Bosque. This year we went kayaking on the Gulfo Dulce and LOVED it!! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Our stay here was absolutely incredible. If you're looking for acres of neon, you won't find that here - you'll find 750 acres of rainforest and animals. I can' say enough positive things about this place - it's just incredible. The staff were always there with a smile, the owners mingled about offering tips and ideas, telling stories. The communal meals were fantastic - I loved getting to know the other visitors and the food was delicious - among the best meals we had in Costa Rica. The Osa Peninsula is a bit off the beaten path but well worth the journey. We hope to be back again some day!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I am not the type to revisit even if it is a great place because I love exploring new places. Bosque del Cabo actually makes me want to come back! I loved seeing the animals go by, and you can tell that they aren't there because people feed them (like the ones in Monteverde), but they are just passing by. I loved the ambiance, the accommodations, the service, the 750 acres of land. I would be HAPPY just hanging out at the hotel in different areas. I really miss that place, and I've never said that about a hotel! Phil and Kim are wonderful owners! I plan on coming back with my future kids.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daredevel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Let me start by saying I fell in love with Costa Rica 8 years ago and have returned once a year ever since. Because I love researching extensively I was lucky enough to discover this out of the way gem, Bosque del Cabo, on my first trip and even though there are several other places I love going back to this is the only lodge I’ve made sure to include every single time. There are really no words that can describe it well enough. It’s just magical. From the time you touch down on the landing strip by the cemetery, to the 40 minute drive on a bumpy road with stream crossings, to entering the driveway where you have your first “AAAAAH” moment, and everything thereafter…it’s simply bliss. I’ve been here solo, with my tween daughter and with friends. Each time was just as wonderful as the next and there is something there for everyone. This trip included 8 nights at BDC in Casa Blanca, but prior stays were in different cabinas and Casa Miramar. All are wonderfully unique with spectacular views. Besides the views you will find all the accommodations to be nicely appointed with tasteful décor, comfy furniture and bedding, nice cross breezes on the bluff, and awesome outdoor showers (some with huge outdoor stone tubs). I will admit that Casa Blanca is my favorite thus far with its gorgeous woodwork, outdoor decks with plenty of tables and lounge chairs and hammocks overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The kitchen is fully stocked with the necessary housewares, there is a spacious living room for indoor visiting, plus two bedrooms and two full baths. The baths have the partial height walls with no ceiling so you can shower or bath in the stone tubs while watching wildlife all around you. So awesome! This trip, we had monkeys in the trees directly next to Casa Blanca literally every day, usually at least twice a day. The grounds were full of Toucans, Macaws, Caracaras, Crested Guan and a large variety of other birds plus Spider monkeys, Capuchins, Howlers and Titis (I did not see the Titis this trip, but have several trips before and other guest saw them while I was there). We also saw a Tayra, lots and lots of agoutis, snakes, frogs and Coatis. There really is so much wildlife around you that every minute of every day is filled with new sightings and surprises. All over the grounds in the trees that have fruit, nuts or beans you can literally stop and watch for several minutes or more at a time. It’s really quite amazing! The “human food” is more than plentiful with numerous selections on the menu for breakfast and lunch, all fresh and delicious. Dinner is themed fare, served buffet style, loaded with various vegetables, starch and protein options, probably 10 or so dishes every night plus soup and dessert brought to your table. Dinner is top notch, and seating is family style which is a great way to meet people, share stories and discuss sharing tour costs. There are also snacks available after lunch and happy hour tapas before dinner. YOU WILL NEVER GO HUNGRY! We hiked every trail, some several times, except the Creek Trail which was flooded so we could only go so far. The two trails to the beaches are probably my favorite, but I love them all because they are spectacular in their own way and unique in the flora and fauna you will see, in addition to the length of the trail and intensity level. Again, there really is something for everyone. A typical day for me consists of waking up at 5:30am, lounging on the deck having coffee and watching wildlife, breakfast around 7:00am, hiking, lunch, pool, hike, dinner, lounge and bed by 9:00pm separated by probably 3 showers a day, seriously, and taking lots and lots of pictures. Last, but not least, the owners Kim and Phil are 100% hands on and show utmost concern for the happiness of their guests in order to make sure everyone has the best time possible. Their dedication to sustainability and preservation has been proven by successfully earning 5 Leaves for Sustainable Tourism, the highest award and accomplishment possible. In addition, many of the amazing staff have been there since my first trip. They are like friends and family to me now and another reason I feel so fortunate to have discovered this wonderful place. Pura vida. You really must just go…

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank storm_puravida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband, two teenage boys (17 and 19) and I just spent a week here staying in "Casa Coco" and it was absolutely perfect. I was looking for somewhere that we could get away from screens and usual life, and have a bit of adventure without sacrificing all comfort, luxury or good food -- and Bosque del Cabo delivered! The house had amazing porches and comfortable chairs from which we could watch monkeys in the trees and all manner of other creatures, and look out to the ocean and hear the crashing waves. The beds were comfortable, the showers very acceptable, and the house beautifully decorated. When we wanted meals made for us we could go to the lodge where the drinks and food were delicious. There is more than enough to do: we climbed and repelled from a tree, surfed, took a night hike (scary toads, snakes and spiders) and bathed in a natural ocean jacuzzi along the edge of the Pacific. The staff is really helpful and friendly, and the guides are really knowledgeable and interesting. The vibe of the place creates a friendly atmosphere even between the guests -- you'll make new friends! Wish I could go back right away.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. I have to laugh at the question about noise level, though -- you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a great time, again at Bosque del Cabo. After visiting another resort in the area multiple times, we tried Bosque Del Cabo last year when we visited the Osa peninsula. It was very nice last year, so we thought we would try it again. Wow, this place does not disappoint. Our room was very nice, the bathroom and shower was beautiful and we had a forest and ocean view. We love the food, breakfast, lunch and dinner and were able to maintain our healthy eating habits - due to their great choices. The grounds are perfect, we saw agoutis, cotimundis, curassows and scarlet macaws on the walk from our cabin to the main building ! Everyone we met at Bosque del Cabo was fully enjoying the amenities. People were surfing, hiking, running the trails, kids were playing in the ocean (a little hike to get there), taking the night hike with Phillip (the great guide) and enjoying the pool. The rain storms that blew through quickly were spectacular and added to the ambiance of living in the rain forest. We will return !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
1.7 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
1.0 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 42 in Osa Peninsula
615 reviews
12.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#4 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
167 reviews
9.4 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
335 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge

Property: Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Address: | halfway between Puerto Jimenez and Corcovado National Park, Cabo Matapalo 60702, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bosque del Cabo is a romantic getaway and a naturalist’s dream, come true. Crowning a point 500 feet above where the Golfo Dulce meets the Pacific Ocean, nestled in the unspoiled jungles of Costa Rica’s Osa Peninsula is a paradise found. Located in a unique and fortunate position at the very tip of the Osa Peninsula in the southern Pacific region of Costa Rica, this 750+ acre forest reserve features private, spacious bungalows and gorgeous houses perched atop the cliffs of Cabo Matapalo, each with beautiful ocean views, tropical breezes and the rainforest at your doorstep; or choose beautiful and rustic garden view accommodations surrounded by thriving rainforests. Hiking trails lead you through the forest to deserted beaches on both the Golfo Dulce and Pacific Ocean. Bosque del Cabo, which opened its doors as a hotel in 1990, is owner operated and dedicated to forest preservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bosque Del Cabo Rainforest Hotel Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing