We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

I'm a little delayed in writing this review. My husband and I travelled to BDC In Jan 2009. This place and the staff are amazing, all the great reviews are true. Rather than repeat what others have already written, let me say a few things I wished I had known before going.

There are a lot of reviews that say quick-dry clothing is a must. We were there in January and it really was not necessary. I did bring a small length of clothesline and clothespins and eveything dried just fine. I assume it is different if you are there in the wet season. I would bring a few extra clothes next time since they do get dirty fast. The drinks at the bar are very reasonably priced. $2 for a local beer and around $4 for a pina colada. If you really need shade at the beach you can usually find a somewhat shady place to sit on both the gulf and pacific side. The only exception would be in the mid to late afternoon on the pacific side. You can get beers/sodas at the bar and they will put them in a small cooler with a little ice for you to take to the beach. The cabin we stayed in (Sol) is an amazing place for watching the sunset. The standard cabinas do not have the sunbathing decks with lounge chairs, just regular chairs on the little covered porches. There is a great waterfall about 30 minutes walk up the pacific beach, but ask at the front desk how to get there (there is a certain number on a tree where you turn into the rainforest) or you probably won't find it. We both loved the 45 minute drive from the airport, it's nice to see a little more of the area.

Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank nearsnowline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    41
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
241
349
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Monroe, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

One of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. The service, the staff, the food were exceptional. The owners, Phil and Kim, have created a little piece of heaven on earth. Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyhiker56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

We traveled here with our two adult ( 18 and 20) children and had an amazing time. We all like active vacations vs. just beach sitting so this provided so many great adventures. The marked trails are fabulous - so many beautiful flora, fauna and monkeys!! We woke up to monkeys every morning and loved all the beautiful birds and butterflies. The primary rainforest was incredible. It was also so fun to be able to walk ( tough hikes!) to both the Pacific ( incredible hike to a waterfall) and the Gulfe Dulce ( the kids took a surfing lesson). THe food was amazing. It is an impressive Eco Lodge, obviously concerned with sustainability yet we felt very well taken care of - spoiled even. The happy hours in the bar and library were so relaxing with wonderful evening talks if you wanted to partake or just enjoy hte snacks and drinks. It is truly a special place and we'd love to go back. It is a long trip though and the last 45 minute drive on the bumpy roads is kind of a drag. We were glad to have 5 nights there and no need to really go off property.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank margiemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2009

Stayed 3 nights in March of 2009. Our first night was in the Congo cabina which has one of the most incredible views you could expect anywhere. Amazing. Our next 2 nights were in Manglillo, which is larger and more room, and has a different view, yet still of the ocean. The grounds are beautiful and there are a myriad of private trails to satisfy your appetite to get out into nature. Breakfast and Lunch are served in their very nice open-air restaurant; dinner is also served there but is family style. This is a nice way to meet fellow travelers. The hotel will reduce your rate if you do not partake of all meals on property, but be sure to notify them in advance. It is a relatively easy drive to Puerto Jiminez, which is a nice town to visit for a little change of pace.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGMWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saipan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2009

Bosque del cabo is one of a kind. Pristine rainforest with maintained eco friendly trails winding thru, customized first class accomodations, and a wonderful staff makes any stay at Bosque remarkable. Phil and Kim are incredible hosts, ensuring the last detail is attended to. My wife and I got married on the grounds with only family and wildlife in attendance. Phil and Kim made sure everything went off without a hitch. I still can't figure out how they arranged that scarlet macaw to do a flyby just at the right time... Combine this level of service and accomodation with the unique wildlife and setting and you cannot miss. I would reccomend this place to anyone with a sense of adventure. Not for the TV/room-service/fitness center/laptop type of traveler. By the way, the food was the best in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JP_CNMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirano, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2009

The day we left, looking back at pacific sunrise........it was like leaving home.
We'll never forget the beauty of this place, never.
Thank you Trino "Ramazzotti", Carlos, Laura, Rolando, Gerlin, Pinguino and the other guys at restaurant, thank you people of Costarica.
Pura Vida
Carlo y Deborah

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2009

Our family of four (girls 9 and 12) just returned from 4 nights at Bosque del Cabo and we loved it. The staff are extremely friendly and professional, the food was phenomenal, and the setting -- howler monkeys in the jungle canopy to one side of our casa, the pounding Pacific surf on the other side -- was very hard to leave.

The resort is small -- I'm guessing they can accommodate about 40 people -- and you have to travel the unpaved, bumpy dirt "highway" from Puerto Jimenez about 45 minutes away. Once there, you can relax and breathe in the lush green surroundings. We saw plenty of animals (which is one of the main reasons we went there, as opposed to more developed parts of CR), including two species of monkeys, coatis, agoutis, frogs, anoles, and many bird species (including Scarlet Macaws).

We can specifically recommend Casa Blanca, a 2-bedroom house with a 50+ foot deck high above the Pacific Ocean... the sound of the surf lulled us to sleep each night and greeted us each morning.

Be sure to try surfing (about 15 minutes away) and a trip over to the animal sanctuary -- for the latter, you have to go back to Puerto Jimenez and then take a boat across the Golfo Dolce... a hassle but worth it. I understand that those who rode horses also loved that but we didn't have time to do it.

The pool was small but a lot of fun for the kids, and they have a great open air bar next to it (in case you need a cold beer). I definitely recommend Bosque del Cabo.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TerraIncognita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
1.9 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
1.0 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#4 of 45 in Osa Peninsula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
12.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
9.4 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
20.5 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge

Property: Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Address: | halfway between Puerto Jimenez and Corcovado National Park, Cabo Matapalo 60702, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bosque del Cabo is a romantic getaway and a naturalist’s dream, come true. Crowning a point 500 feet above where the Golfo Dulce meets the Pacific Ocean, nestled in the unspoiled jungles of Costa Rica’s Osa Peninsula is a paradise found. Located in a unique and fortunate position at the very tip of the Osa Peninsula in the southern Pacific region of Costa Rica, this 750+ acre forest reserve features private, spacious bungalows and gorgeous houses perched atop the cliffs of Cabo Matapalo, each with beautiful ocean views, tropical breezes and the rainforest at your doorstep; or choose beautiful and rustic garden view accommodations surrounded by thriving rainforests. Hiking trails lead you through the forest to deserted beaches on both the Golfo Dulce and Pacific Ocean. Bosque del Cabo, which opened its doors as a hotel in 1990, is owner operated and dedicated to forest preservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bosque Del Cabo Rainforest Hotel Puerto Jimenez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing