We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful place in Costa Rica”
Review of Encanta La Vida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Encanta La Vida
Certificate of Excellence
Canada-ĆostaRica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place in Costa Rica”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our family enjoyed a visit to Cabo Matapalo. Encanta la Vida is the perfect location for exploring the Osa. 3 kinds of monkeys, scarlet macaws, parrots, toucans...........all passed by our cabinas every morning and afternoon. The salt water pool was a fantastic way to cool off-and the pina coladas are the best in CR! The meals are made with fresh local ingredients with a touch of Tico-absolutely delicious. The staff were kind, helpful and made helpful suggestions for activities suitable for the 3 three year olds in our family.
There is a short walk to the most breathtakingly beautiful beach on the planet.
We have alfeady made reservations for our next group of Canadian visitors.
ELV is highly recommended by our family.

Room Tip: The deluxe cabinas are terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dottyCanadaCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    18
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
69
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at Encanta for 4 nights while we were in Costa Rica and we couldn't have had a better experience. When flights went wrong, Encanta helped us get a hotel in San Jose for a night and made sure we still got to do everything we wanted to do since we missed a day. The food was more than amazing and the staff was so warm and welcoming. We loved the family-like atmosphere that was built so quickly with the staff and other guests. The less than 5 minute walk to the beach was lovely. This is a perfect place for families, friends, couples, and solos and is also perfect for adventurers or people looking to relax. During our stay, we were in the Honeymoon suite. I highly suggest it for anyone, even if you aren't on a honeymoon. It was off on it's own and had a queen size bed as well as a twin size and lots of wild life around. If you are planning on taking any tours, I suggest the waterfall rappelling/tree climbing combo tour and surf lessons! They were both so much fun! Do yourself a favor and stay at ELV while you're in Costa Rica. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: I suggest Pole House or Honeymoon Suite. The other rooms are great, but not as private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashlee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midway, Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Great place to get away! Lots of animals and beautiful trees! Excellent food and I really enjoy the peace a quiet of not having a TV! More people should try it!!!! Katie was in charge during my stay and she did an excellent job!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenflo11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Once I arrived at Encanta La Vida, I immediately felt welcomed and at home. The staff is very friendly and helpful getting you settled in to your home away from home. The manager is so lovely, makes sure you are comfortable, and sets up any activities that you want to do during your stay. The food is absolutely amazing which the chefs prepare according to what is fresh, in season and also to your dietary needs/restrictions. It is so wonderful to have 3 delicious, healthy meals everyday ready for you before and after your daily activities (all meals included with your stay). The wildlife is very abundant here and you don’t have to go far from your room to see birds, reptiles, insects, and of course, monkeys. I wasn’t able to take advantage of the massage services, but I heard from other guests that they are fabulous. ELV has a multitude of surfboards to rent for all ability levels and the beach is a very short walk just past the yoga deck. There are 3 point breaks in the area including one very close to the lodge which is perfect for beginners. There are many hiking/walking trails in the area and some that will lead to beautiful waterfalls or outstanding views. Even just walking around the resort is so beautiful as the gardens and yard are very well maintained. The pool is so refreshing after a hot day at the beach or walking around in the jungle watching wildlife. It even has a swim up bar where a very charming bartender will serve you a frosty, cold beverage of your choice. After comparing prices of the surrounding resorts in the area, Encanta La Vida is the most affordable and the closest to the beach. It is truly a surfing, yoga, beach, and wildlife paradise and I can’t wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: Pole house is great! Pole 2 has a balcony and hammock which is a great place to watch wildlife. Hone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynDinRust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Encanta La Vida was such a wonderful place to stay. The food was delicious and the staff was very kind! The location of ELV is ideal for people who like to explore the jungle (hikes and tree climbing) and the ocean (surfing or swimming), as well as those who like to lounge around a pool. We stayed at ELV for the first half of our trip to get to know some people around the area. This was a great way to meet people and find the neat things to do. After that, we moved to a house and did our own cooking and own exploring. That was fun too! I really recommend ELV for anyone!

Also - we did the tree climb/waterfall rappel with everyday adventures and it was an excellent time as well!!!

Room Tip: We heard the pole house was supposed to be amazing! We didn't check it out though. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I've now stayed at Encanta La Vida a handful of times and have yet to be disappointed. Having extensively traveled the country of Costa Rica, Matapalo and Encanta La VIda is now and will forever be where I stay whether I'm alone on a surf trip or with family and friends. There is really no comparison if you are looking for adventure, surf, yoga, wildlife, or just simply reading a good book in paradise. The staff at Encanta are all locals (with the exception of the work trade help) and it is very obvious that they enjoy their jobs and care about the success of your stay. The cooks are incredible. The bartender is bilingual and good at what he does. The maintenance and cleaning crew seem to have it figured out as well because the rooms are always spotless and the yard gorgeous. Encanta La Vida is off the grid, therefore logistics seem difficult but the staff has figured out how to be accommodating using minimal energy provided by solar and generators. Being younger and traveling on a budget, Encanta's price I have realized is very fair due to the fact that they are off the grid and everything including the cold delicious beers have traveled extensive distances. With three meals included, not needing to cook or do dishes is so rewarding after a long day surfing or hiking in the jungle. I have yet to explore the nearby Corcovado National Park but I do know from conversations with other guests that Encanta is a great starting and stopping spot to either get prepped for the mission or to wind down after seeing the most untouched track of land in Central America. I'm already looking forward to my next trip to Encanta and it is truly a place where one can "love life".

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We recently returned to Encanta La Vida for the second year in a row for yoga and surfing in paradise. Most importantly, the staff at Encanta are amazing. From that fact, everything follows... The rooms are nice and very well kept, the meals and drinks were amazing, the yoga deck is spectacular and you can coordinate all sorts of great activities through the Encanta staff. The location is truly magical. Multiple surf spots with great waves in the middle of the most beautiful rain forest. We travel a lot and this is on the top of our list.

Room Tip: Just ask to look at the room to make sure you will be comfortable. They have various rooms so if on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa H, Manager at Encanta La Vida, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Michael,
We really appreciate your kind words. You guys are such wonderful people and great guests. We hope to see you again next year! Thank you for your love and light -- Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
1.5 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
0.3 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
13.0 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#4 of 45 in Osa Peninsula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
3.5 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
8.1 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encanta La Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encanta La Vida

Property: Encanta La Vida
Address: Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encanta La Vida is an all inclusive jungle retreat located amidst the beautiful beaches of Cabo Matapalo. The hotel offers direct access to amazing wildlife and world class surf, and features a stunning, private, chemical free soft water swimming pool - the only of its kind in Matapalo! Encanta La Vida is the ideal vacation spot for families, honeymooners, and surfers alike. Garden trails lead you to private cabinas nestled throughout the property. The beautifully landscaped grounds provide privacy and wonderful wildlife viewing opportunities. Our rooms are clean and spacious with queen-sized beds and open decks. Enjoy three DELICIOUS meals a day in the Encanta La Vida restaurant featuring fresh fruits, veggies and meats all locally grown or caught off shore. The hotel bar is located just off the swimming pool and serves up blended tropical drinks and ice cold beer. Encanta La Vida is also a fun and easy destination for family reunions, weddings and yoga groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Encanta La Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encanta La Vida Hotel Osa Peninsula
Encanta La Vida Osa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing