We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Osa Paradise”
Review of Casa Bambu Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabo Matapalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Bambu Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Osa Paradise”
Reviewed 12 January 2008

How cool to come home and tell friends you spent a week in a jungle on a remote beach in Costa Rica. Becky and I are entering our sixtieth year and we wanted to do something memorable.. We took our three daughters and their husbands and lived like the Swiss Family Robinson at Casa Bambu. Weather was fabulous. The house was roomy and comfortable and adaptable to weather and time of day--wide open to the jungle or closed up and private. William, the caretaker, taught us how to catch dinner out of the ocean by surf fishing, which we did. He took us on an amazing wildlife photo hike through the famous Corcovado National Park. We had four kinds of monkeys all around us in the trees. Plus three toed sloths and anteaters and scarlet macaws and toucans. Casa Bambu is superior to the swank Lapa Rios up on the hill. We went up there to eat breakfast and lunch and have happy hour, but far preferred living right on the beach at Casa Bambu.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank vpcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
131
65
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British COlumbia
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2007

My husband and I just spent 12 days at Casa Bambu and it was a completely laid-back, wonderful time. The wildlife is amazing! We saw monkeys, scarlet macaws, and toucans around the house every day, as well as lots of other animals when we went for easy hikes with the house's caretaker, William. We hiked, swam beneath beautiful jungle waterfalls, lazed on the beach, kayaked... it was the perfect lazy holiday. You do need to be comfortable with the out-of-doors, as the house is open to whatever wildlife might be passing by. The bugs weren't too bothersome but they were there (the fireflies at night were magical!). It does require some organization to bring all your food for your stay with you (the owners were terrifically helpful in this respect) - or you can walk to a couple excellent nearby restaurants for dinner, if you don't mind a 15-minute walk in the dark down a muddy jungle road. Flashlights are critical! We definitely hope to return and will take our 12-year-old daughter with us next time - she'll love all the animals!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZLOBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2007

This tropical hardwood house sits in reforested rain forest. It has its own lovely beach at the bottom of the garden and you can watch the wildlife from the hammock on the veranda. The best feature of this house is its remote position on an already isolated peninsula. We are from England and we found the people and the place very welcoming. The house was extremely well organised, with everything considered and catered for. In terms of value the house was good value. The strong pound made it very affordable and the house can sleep five or six people easily.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bit noisy sometimes
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aristotleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2007

In 2004 after the hurricanes canceled our honeymoon cruise, Jackie and I decided that we would like to visit Costa Rica and never having been there, Jackie picked a lodge from the Internet. With some stroke of luck or maybe genius she chose Casa Bambu. We have just returned from our second trip to Casa Bambu as we have fallen in love with Costa Rica and the Osa peninsula.

While staying at Casa Bambu you will see great flora as the property has been carefully cleared from the jungle so that animals are still attracted to the area. You will see monkeys, toucans, coatimundi, iguanas and other animals right at your doorstep or out the kitchen window.

The view from the lanai is spectacular as you gaze across the Golfo Dulce. The water is an azure blue as far as you can see, and there are usually a couple of surfers riding an extremely long breaking wave. The sound of the breaking waves will lull you to sleep each night and the howler monkeys will provide an early morning wakeup call.

The beach at Casa Bambu is called Pan Dulce, (sweet bread) and while there is a long wave break, the waves are not particularly large. This makes for a great swimming beach. The salinity of the water in the Golfo Dulce seem lower, especially in the green season, from all the fresh water that comes from the rivers. The result is that after swimming you wont feel sticky from the salt.

One of the areas attractions is a waterfall that is a couple of miles away and hike into the jungle. We had William (Casa Bambu caretaker/guide) lead us on an expedition to the falls. William is very knowledgeable and was able to show us animals that we would have missed. The hike is of medium difficulty. On the way there you will pass by Matapalo beach, which is a great surf beach with larger waves.

Our stay afforded us with a much appreciated peaceful and stress free vacation. This beautiful and serene place is not for the “Mall Lovers” of the world. We are both people who love the outdoors, peace and quiet setting and the lovely and interesting things that a rain forest afforded us.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VernSWFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
1.6 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
0.3 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
0.7 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 41 in Osa Peninsula
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#4 of 4 in Cabo Matapalo
165 reviews
13.0 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
316 reviews
7.9 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bambu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bambu Resort

Property: Casa Bambu Resort
Address: Playa Pan Dulce, Cabo Matapalo 0000000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a secluded five acres of pristine rainforest beachfront in one of the most biologically diverse areas on earth, this unique resort lets you escape civilization while safely and comfortably enjoying countless natural wonders. The property fronts on Playa Pan Dulce, famous for it's long right point surf break, an SUP surfers dream break. Located in the same vast rainforest as Corcovado Park, Casa Bambu Resort is on the tip of the Osa Peninsula, where the rainforest meets the sea. After visiting our house, Lonely Planet recommends Casa Bambu Resort as a place to visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Bambu Resort Hotel Osa Peninsula
Casa Bambu Hotel
Hotel Casa Bambu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing