We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Casa Bambu Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabo Matapalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Bambu Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Casa Linda was the last stop on our month long trip in Costa Rica and it is the place that we talk about as being simply the most awe inspiring and beautiful, it felt like living in the jungle book. We were travelling with our family - 2 teenage girls and our 9 year old son and their jaws dropped as they saw the house. Facing the beach with a wonderful porch, large and spacious inside with a beautiful kitchen and bathroom we knew it would be very hard to leave. Its quiet here apart from the animal cries but far from boring. Life slows done which is good because you want each day to last as long as possible. Every day we woke and just felt so lucky to be there, the nature is extraordinary, the beach beautiful with very calm (and warm) sea that time of year, the jungle paths simply wonderful to wander down with tall reaching trees and monkeys all around leading to other more or less deserted beaches. We brought all our food for 5 days and a block of ice, which lasted less, and we didn't hire a car, you only really need one to buy food back in Puerto Jim. We hiked to the waterfall which was quite an adventure - almost giving up - not knowing we were almost there. If you try this just keep going up the river and scrambling over the rocks. We took endless photographs of Monkeys and Scarlet Macaws, and loved seeing an anteater walk past our door. Washing up while looking at a black hawk who sat in a tree feet away from the kitchen's open window looking back at me from his daily perch, put a totally different spin on scrubbing plates. We all want to go back, the colours are still vivid in our minds eye and keep us going through England's grey winter days. There is absolutely nothing I can say that is negative about this place. We really loved it, and Lynn and William take great care in making sure that everything is ok while you are planning your trip and while you are there. Thank you! All the best, Cathy and family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CRR-Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed in Casa Bambu, which is one of 4 houses on the property. We absolutely loved the house – and the birds! the animals! My idea of a real vacation was met: waking up with scarlet macaws eating beach almonds in the trees overhead, being serenaded by howler monkeys, and watching a courtship display of black vultures at the bottom of the stairs. The design of the house makes it seem that you are outdoors, yet sheltered, all the time. Gorgeous sunrises across the Golfo Dulce, a beautiful beach with lovely warm water, and many possibilities for excursions, or you can simply enjoy the property and relax (which is what we did). William, the caretaker, is very attentive and helpful, even taking us to the airport when the taxis were unresponsive. The internet works well, and there is good cell phone service for those of us who can’t quite leave work behind. A wonderful experience, and we’ll be back.

Room Tip: All of the houses have their strong points, but if you would like to be on the beach, either Casa Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyn Kirk U, Owner at Casa Bambu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Thanks for sharing about our place Erin. So glad you had a great experience! We’re proud to let you know that were just awarded two of TripAdvisor’s 2014 Travelers’ Choice Awards for Top Hotels. We rank #6 in Costa Rica and #7 in all of Central America in the “Family” category! This is because of reviewers like you, so muchas gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We spent four nights in Casa Pina. If you're interested in visiting the Osa Peninsula, you've probably done enough research to know that it is an incredibly bio diverse place and well off of the beaten path compared to many destinations in Costa Rica. We had originally planned to enter Corcovado National Park, but found that there was plenty of wildlife and natural beauty to see within short walks and hikes of the Casa Bambu compound. Without even leaving the house, we saw wild turkeys, lizards, toucans, scarlet macaws, three different kinds of monkeys and seemingly infinite varieties of butterflies, including the large and beautiful Blue Morpho.

Casa pina and all of the bamboo houses on the property are spacious, charming and comfortable. The kitchen is large and highly functional with a large refrigerator and a gas stove/oven fit for a chef.

Owners Lyn and Kirk provide highly detailed information regarding what to expect during your stay there and what necessities to pack, as well as thorough instructions on how to operate everything in the house. Lyn's suggestions and help throughout the planning and execution of our trip were greatly appreciated. In short, there are no gaps in this operation - nothing that hasn't been thought of.

William, a native of the Osa who manages the property year round, is a wealth of information. He took us on a couple of wonderful nature hikes and led us for a sunrise kayak trip one morning, during which we were greeted by a pod of black dolphins who played near the kayaks for a half hour or so.

Our trip to the Osa Peninsula was just what we were hoping for and a whole lot more. We will be back to Casa Bambu!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We flew into Puerto Jimenez from San Jose. We then rented an SUV for our drive down to Casa Bambu. We stopped at the grocery store in town to buy groceries for a few days bought a block of ice for the ice chest. We then headed to Casa Bambu about a 30 minute drive on a pretty good hard packed dirt road. (Easy drive) very clean, cool looking, comfortable house. The wildlife is absolutely amazing. We did the Changing Tides tour which was also excellent and climbed to strangler fig tree in a separate tour we booked with a hotel up the street. (So fun). Don't miss Buena Esperanza rest. Up the road. Just FYI it was worth renting a car!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texashorns91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our trip was a celebration of our family! Our stay at Casa Bambu in the Osa Peninsula was the highlight of our Costa Rica experience. With the help of Lynn we were able to plan our excursions ahead of time and without her help I doubt we could have pulled it off ourselves. We took surfing lessons with Poyo, went on a guided rainforest tour with William, and set out on a boat tour with the dolphins! The house was everything that was promised and more. We were 50 yards from the ocean and they were experiencing some of the strongest surf when we were there. I remember getting up in the middle of the night to check if we were going to get pulled out by the sea! Thanks again Lynn and Kirk for a fabulous vacation!

Room Tip: Casa Bambu is closest to the ocean which can be enjoyed from the front porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jags915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I want to thank Lynn and Kirk for yet another perfect vacation in Matapalo. I stayed six nights this time with my three sons and we enjoyed every minute. Casa Bambu and Casa Pina are both equipped with everything you need so you can just relax and enjoy. There are four species of monkey's frolicikng in the yard while the scarlet macaws fly overhead. We surfed, paddle boarded, kayaked and just kicked back in our beach chairs. At night the absence of modern world noise lulls you to sleep...perfect vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osprey-Sportfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our stay at the Casa Sonrisa on the Casa Bambu property in the Osa Peninsula was the highlight of our trip! We traveled from the northern to the southern tip of Costa Rica and this was, by far, the best place to visit! We thoroughly relaxed in the beautiful bamboo home which offered gorgeous views of the jungle and beach. We saw the most wildlife on this property than in the other three regions we stayed. The girls, ages 14, were able to have their own room on the lower level and we had our privacy as well on the upper level. We all enjoyed hanging out together on the spacious covered porch upstairs watching three species of monkeys travel by as well as numerous birds, butterflies, and other small animals.
I did not think I would like to cook while on vacation, but this place is so relaxing it was actually a pleasure! In addition, we had a Costa Rican woman cook us a meal which was fabulous! Also, there a few great places to eat nearby.
William, the property manager, took us on a really fun tour of the Rainforest near this property. The swim at the waterfall at the end of the hike was refreshing and fun, especially for the girls who safely jumped off the rocks beneath the falls several times.
We have traveled quite a bit in this country, and I think one of the best things about this property is the beach! Playa Pan Dulce was perfect for the girls! The surf there is safe for children and beginning surfers, unlike so many other beaches we have been to. In fact, when we traveled up the coast further to Carate we ended up coming back to this beach for more!
Yes, this is the reason we travel to Costa Rica.
We will definitely be back for a much longer stay next year.
Thanks Kirk and Lyn for everything!

Room Tip: We, as a family of 4 including two 14 year old girls, really enjoyed the Casa Sonrisa. It was set b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4travelres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
0.3 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
1.6 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
0.2 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#4 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
321 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
620 reviews
8.0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bambu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bambu Resort

Address: Playa Pan Dulce, Cabo Matapalo 0000000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range: £87 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a secluded five acres of pristine rainforest beachfront in one of the most biologically diverse areas on earth, this unique resort lets you escape civilization while safely and comfortably enjoying countless natural wonders. The property fronts on Playa Pan Dulce, famous for it's long right point surf break, an SUP surfers dream break. Located in the same vast rainforest as Corcovado Park, Casa Bambu Resort is on the tip of the Osa Peninsula, where the rainforest meets the sea. After visiting our house, Lonely Planet recommends Casa Bambu Resort as a place to visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Bambu Resort Hotel Osa Peninsula
Casa Bambu Hotel
Hotel Casa Bambu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing