We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Paradise”
Review of Casa Bambu Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabo Matapalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Bambu Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 April 2009

My husband, 3-year old son and I spent six glorious days as Casa La Pina. The house was luxurious enough to make our stay completely comfortable yet removed from the unnecessary distractions of home. The Casa Bambu property is nothing short of amazing. The beds are comfortable, the kitchen is well equipped and made cooking easy. I especially loved the Tico coffee pot. Laying in the hamock enjoying coffee and watching monkeys swing through the trees, coatis seek out scraps of food, and toucans flying was a one of a kind experience. Williams and the others on the property were incredibly hospitable. We had a wonderful trip to Corconvado with him and were lucky to see an abundance of wildlife. I highly recommend this property and the entire area as a whole for a wonderful Costa Rica experience.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cher78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2009

What more can I say that hasn't been said already? Lyn and Kirk.... how lucky are you to have such an awesome piece of Paradise? Thanks for sharing your beautiful retreat with me and my family as this was a trip we will never forget and definitely will be repeating very soon. William the property manager/guide/all around great guy was one of the highlights of our stay. What a great eye he has for wildlife.... definitely do the waterfall hike with William and if you have the legs, the Corcovado hike is a must. Also highly recommended is the cooking services of Leda and Vicki. Two of the sweetest ladies will cook up some great Tico cuisine... just supply the groceries and they work their magic in the kitchen. Outstanding.
And the Casa itself? Nothing short of fantastic.... I'll always remember waking up to the howlers and macaws... looking at the sun rise over the water. Night time board games with the extended family in the kitchen drinking cervesas, laughing and listening to music and nature. And the days kicked back in the hammock and watching the "monkey show" in our own yard. And best of all, living on Tico time...... no TVs or computers. Active days... asleep by 10... up by 5 and feeling unbelievable.
Lyn and Kirk.... thank you again. Such awesome hosts and it was great to finally meet you. Leda and Vicki... send food. We miss your cooking. And William... I hope you catch more fish with that pole than I would have.
We will see you again! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunkeeMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

We were awe struck as soon as we pulled in. The feeling never left the entire time we were there. The owners are amazing and give you all the needed information to make your stay easy going. I would highly recommend hiring William to take you to see the waterfall and if you are a hiker, into Corcovado. He will point animals and interesting sights that you would never find on your own. The beach is great, with plenty of shade and the water is always warm. Our 6 year old loved it too, the hermit crabs and sand and adventure at every turn. The locals are all very friendly and willing to help if you need it. We can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trucking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2009

The location on the Osa is amazing on its own, but it was a treat to get to explore it from such a clean beautiful place. We stayed in La Sonrisa, which was so clean and so thoughtfully made up when we arrived. The beds are amazingly comfortable, we even tried to figure out what type of mattresses were used before we left we liked them so much. The porch was a great place to escape the heat of the day, and we spent lots of time hanging out and talking there. The beach is a short walk away and perfect for relaxed wading or swimming, and we liked exploring the other nearby beaches and swimming in bigger waves or watching the surfers. It was cool to walk on miles of beach without seeing more than a couple people. Matapalo is very quiet and peaceful. The wildlife was as good there as any national park, we got to see tons of macaws, monkeys, jungle raccoons, as well as sloths right outside our windows. If you're not a nature person, however, this might not be right for you. We thought the cicadas and howler monkeys were cool...but it might be easy to find them overwhelming if you're not comfortable in the outdoors. I would love to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wells86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

We just returned from the most wonderful place on Earth! We stayed in Casa Linda and what a great way to experience Costa Rica. The house was everything we expected and we enjoyed the open air every day. Waking up to the Howler Monkeys was an interesting way to start every day and to see the sun rise was fabulous. The kids enjoyed every minute or our trip. We watched monkeys daily and really enjoyed the beach. The beach is a very kid-friendly, you can just walk into the warm water and swim. We spent hours in the water and watched the pelicans dive all around us! We did the waterfall hike with William and that was a wonderful way to spend a day! We will definitely be back! Wonderful place!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konrathfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

We just returned from Casa Bambu. It was my husband and I, our nanny and her fiance, and our two small children. We only took one tour during our week-long stay, because we were content to just stay at that beautiful house. To wake up every morning to the sound of the beach, the sound of the howler monkeys, and the sight of the sun over the ocean was .....wow. That was every single morning, waking up to that beauty. Our first morning there, a parade of capuchin monkeys swung through the trees in our front yard. The staff were truly treasures, always available, never "in the way". One thing that was surprising was that, even though we were in the middle of nowhere, and things were very, very rustic, we had everything we needed. Full kitchen, all the amenities of home, almost unexpected. Lyn (one of the owners) was very patient with my incessant emails before the trip, answering all of my questions thoroughly. We definitely plan to stay there again. The only word to describe it is AMAZING.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crkramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We have been wanting to stay at Casa Bambu for several years. We finally got our chance in December and it did not disappoint. We stayed in Casa Linda and every morning, in addition to amazing sunrises over the Gulf, we saw monkeys, scarlett macaws and toucans and that was just from sitting on our front porch. Everyday we saw a Mangrove Black Hawk sitting in a tree outside our kitchen window (that was probably because my husband was throwing old raw meat out the window). We have traveled to many areas including the Amazon and this is the most wildlife we have seen. There are plenty of things to do in the area such as kayaking, surfing and wonderful hikes or you can just kick back, relax and enjoy the beauty this place has to offer. The house if very well equipped and very well maintained the only thing you need to bring is your food. We love the fact that you had the feeling that you were "almost" outside.

We were lucky enough to be there to meet the owners Lyn and Kirk who were a pleasure to talk to and get to know. Lyn was wonderful in helping us prepare for our trip. If you go we highly recommend that you have the ladies prepare a meal for you. It is quite amazing what they can create from what you have in the kitchen. Our meal was outstanding.

We will definitely return to this little slice of paradise and we highly recommend it to nature lovers and those looking for a relaxing get away.

Pura Vida!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank bcmcintire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
0.3 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
0.2 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#5 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
171 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
343 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
623 reviews
13 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bambu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bambu Resort

Address: Playa Pan Dulce, Cabo Matapalo 0000000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range: £86 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a secluded five acres of pristine rainforest beachfront in one of the most biologically diverse areas on earth, this unique resort lets you escape civilization while safely and comfortably enjoying countless natural wonders. The property fronts on Playa Pan Dulce, famous for it's long right point surf break, an SUP surfers dream break. Located in the same vast rainforest as Corcovado Park, Casa Bambu Resort is on the tip of the Osa Peninsula, where the rainforest meets the sea. After visiting our house, Lonely Planet recommends Casa Bambu Resort as a place to visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Bambu Resort Hotel Osa Peninsula
Casa Bambu Hotel
Hotel Casa Bambu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing