We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place! A little piece of paradise.”
Review of Casa Bambu Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabo Matapalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Bambu Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Where to start? What an incredible place! The house itself had a kind of rustic charm but still comes with all mod cons. The lifestyle: the beach right on your doorstep is beautiful and all but deserted, we often had it all to ourselves. Animals everywhere: so many monkeys, parrots, coatis, agoutis, all over the place-unbelievable! And the rainforest is right there all around you. The staff are brilliant-special mention for William the manager and guide, he was so helpful with everything and also took us to Corcovado and to see baby turtles hatching on a nearby beach. If you do visit then definitely take advantage of William's services as a guide-he's fantastic! Finally it is quite isolated here, no shops although there are other cabinas nearby-we hired a car although there is decent public transport in the area so you could in theory get by without one.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan_wilson79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2009

I have been traveling down to the Osa up to three months a year for the last ten years. I have stayed at six other resorts on the Osa and have never felt more comfortable or at home as I did staying at Casa Bambu. It was very clean, well maintained, and the care takers could not have been more helpful. I really felt like I had my privacy. We will be staying there on our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank studiowest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

If you truly want to unplug, if you truly want to spend time with your family and reconnect, and if you truly want to live an amazing adventure, then Casa Linda (next door to Casa Bambu) is the place for you. Sitting just 60 yards from the ocean with the rainforest in your backyard this house provided our family with the vacation of a lifetime. We have spent many years overseas. We have always been a lover of wildlife and nature. This place combined all of these into one location. My husband, an executive, relaxed like I have never seen him before. The kids enjoyed every minute from the scarlet macaws to the coati that graced our door one morning, animals here are like no place I have ever been---up close and personal. The beach was beautiful, and the rainforest just enveloped you. From the moment we 'inquired' about this property the owners were prompt, professional, extremely helpful (this point I cannot stress enough, every step of the way they were fabulous) and very friendly. Although the accomodations my seem 'rustic', I can assure you, every amenity you need is available, and when you leave...it will break your heart. It is absolute paradise!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ltnist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

its hard to add to the other reviews! Our family of parents, and young adults loved this place, the simplicity, the beauty, the weather, the environment, the house ( Casa Linda) . And the owners and staff are wonderfully helpful and nice!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caspianMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

This was a great way to send our son to college and spend quality family time. As remote as it is, we had all the needed amenities to enjoy a full week at a beach house. And not an ordinary beach house; our house- Casa Linda-is well equipped, with beds are as comfortable as those at home. Exotic wildlife is everywhere and most of it right at the property (see pictures). If you want to explore, plenty of short walks offer picture perfect opportunities; if you feel lucky, go to Corcovado National Park in search of Tapirs, Jaguars, or Pumas. I highly recommend you go to the park by car and be prepared for long walks in a rain forest environment. Joining a tour group with Lapa Rios resort, near Casa Bambu or hiring a guide, such as CB's William is highly recommended too. He is a pro at shore and Kayak fishing. Everywhere we felt safe. Thanks Casa Bambu!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

My 3rd trip to Casa Bambu but not my last.

Solitude, stunning panoramas, diverse jungle wildlife, complete absence of all electronic communication devices, fishing, swimming, hiking, and surfing.

Only a netted bed, fan, warmed shower, refridgerator, and gas range separate you from life as it was 150 years ago.

Bring camera, good books, open mind and prepare to really get to know whomever you bring.

The hosts are meticulous in assuring you are properly prepared and assist in ways over and above one's expectations.

Stay for at least a week to fully leave your "goal oriented" baggage behind.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waltonjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

My husband and I took a family vacation with relatives in early December. Our stay at Casa Bambu was amazing. The grounds are beautiful and you are just a short walk from their private beach. We stayed in La Piña and it suited our needs perfectly. The beds were comfy. The house was well-kept and clean. Lynn (the owner) was so helpful and answered all of our many questions before we arrived. The Osa Peninsula is not the easiest place to get to and Lynn made it easy. She gave us advice for flying in on Nature Air and helped us arrange taxis and other activities in the area too.

William (the caretaker) made our trip! I can't speak highly enough of him. We hired him to guide us to one of the local waterfalls and for a day's hike into Corcovado National Park. We never would have seen the animals we saw without him as our guide! He was so knowledgeable. No, he doesn't speak English, but what they say is true: He is very good at communicating. We spoke a little Spanish and he did seem to understand some of our English. We were totally able to meet in the middle and have long conversations about the area, the animals, and life in Costa Rica.

We celebrated my birthday while on the trip and I'll never forget baking a cake while listening to the howler monkeys in the trees. Everyday there was a "monkey parade" in the front yard. We saw all four kinds of monkeys within our first 24 hours there, three right in the front yard. If you just want to relax in one place, sit on the deck and you will see plenty of wildlife right there. It may be the rain forest but the bugs aren't bad at all. (That's coming from someone raised in Michigan.) If you want a nature vacation this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zippy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
0.3 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
1.6 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
0.2 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#5 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
355 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#2 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
634 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bambu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bambu Resort

Address: Playa Pan Dulce, Cabo Matapalo 0000000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range: £83 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a secluded five acres of pristine rainforest beachfront in one of the most biologically diverse areas on earth, this unique resort lets you escape civilization while safely and comfortably enjoying countless natural wonders. The property fronts on Playa Pan Dulce, famous for it's long right point surf break, an SUP surfers dream break. Located in the same vast rainforest as Corcovado Park, Casa Bambu Resort is on the tip of the Osa Peninsula, where the rainforest meets the sea. After visiting our house, Lonely Planet recommends Casa Bambu Resort as a place to visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Bambu Resort Hotel Osa Peninsula
Casa Bambu Hotel
Hotel Casa Bambu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing