We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Galley Bay Resort & Spa - All Inclusive
Nearby Hotels
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hermitage Bay(Saint Mary's)
US$1,225
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siboney Beach Club(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Village(St. John's)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$436
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$480
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Trade Winds Hotel(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
COCOS Hotel Antigua(Jolly Harbour)
US$525
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Ridge Resort(Jolly Harbour)
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,489)
Filter reviews
3,489 results
Traveller rating
2,744
530
146
43
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,744
530
146
43
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea grapebarefoot grillcaptain seanteepee bargaugin restaurantbeach frontpremium suiterocking chairsguest servicesbanana slidesuperior beachfrontred flagdouble showerour honeymoonrum punchplunge poolbird sanctuary
Filter
Updating list...
2,638 - 2,643 of 3,489 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2011

My wife and I needed a place to decompress and really relax . We have been to many Carribbean and West Indies Resorts over the last ten years but have never experienced a Resort that matched the service , hospitality and total relaxing environment provided at Galley Bay.
If you really want to relax and decouple from the hectic life you left at home Galley Bay is the perfect destination. There is nothing to distract you from your goal of relaxation. Crystal blue water , warm sand, snorkeling, swimming, good selection of tasty well served meals in lovely restaurants and the best trained Staff in the industry to wait on you hand and foot.
Good price performance for an adult all inclusive resort facility. No screamimg children or loud obnoxious guests who've consummed to many tropical drinks. I

Room Tip: Beachfront, second floor premium room offer all the facilities to connect to the outside world, wifi, internet, TV.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jmcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

So Im sure by reading all the reviews on this resort, anyone can tell it is amazing, and I can't agree more with all of them. This place completely lived up to expectations. Everyone wrote about how great their experience was, and ours was spectacular, but we had a few hick ups along the way and I figured I would pass on some helpful tips that no one mentioned.

This was our first trip to the Caribbean and I had some really great visions of spending at least one of our honeymoon days exploring the island a bit, so I made the decision to rent a car. In hindsight, I would have just sprung for a taxi. We got a week long rental for about $180, but the insurance was an extra $100 and gas isn't cheap there, so topping off the car from three quarters full was almost $40.

First and foremost, if you have never driven on the left side of the road in a car with the wheel on the right, get ready for an adventure. I (like all men) liken myself a pretty good driver, but I was way out of my element, especially when the roads are narrow, the pedestrians walk right out in front of you, and traffic laws are more like guidlines than rules. The rental counter gave us what looked to be a pretty good, detailed map of the island, but we quickly found out that maps are only good when the streets actually have signs with the street name. There are no specific signs for Galley Bay as you are coming in from the airport, so of course we got totally lost in downtown St. John in the middle of Saturday afternoon, and we were now way way way out of our element. What would have been a 25 mintue taxi drive turned into an hour and a half tour of the not so inviting sites of the capital town. The good thing about being on an island is that sooner or later, if you drive enough, you will eventually find out where you are going. Long story short, take a taxi if it is your first trip.

When we finally got to the resort, all the trials tribulations of the 12 hours of planes, traffic, and rental cars were washed away with a nice cool towel and an icey glass of rum punch. The grounds were amazing as we were get carted from the reception desk, over the lagoon into the beach area where all the rooms and restaraunts are. Our bell hop Keon was very nice and he set the tone for what would be very good service throughout the week.

We were in room 43, a bottom level beach side premium suite near the north end of the resort. We found the room to be very clean and a bit minamalist, but it fit the relaxed atmosphere and the whole point of the trip is to be on the beach, not in your room. I have been in larger, better appointed rooms in other hotels, but we had a flat screen and wi-fi, a very firm yet comfortable bed, duel sinks, and a huge shower with two heads at each end. The main room was air conditioned and there were four over head fans throughout the suite, which was very nice when it became very hot or humid outside.

Although we were very happy with our suite, we spoke to several couples who stayed in the gaunquin cottages and asked to be relocated right away. From what they told us, the bedroom and bathroom are in two seperate cottages, which may not be such a big deal if you didn't need a key to get in the bathroom, making latenight trips across the breezway cumbersom. Additionally, there is no a/c in the bathrooms of the cottages, making dinner preperations miserable.

I don't think we had a single bad meal while at the resort. There are three restaraunts (Ismays, Gaunquin, and Seagrape) located at the north, south, and center of the resort. Ismay's is only open for dinner and requires a $35 per perons fee. We tried it once and were not disappointed, but I think once was enough for us because the other restaraunts offered such good food without the fee. Ordering took a bit of practice. We found that even though an item on the menu stated that it came with something, such as rice, you still had to ask your server for it, or it would not be plated. The best meal was probably the Thursday BBQ, I only wish my stomach could have held more food.

Many reviewers said their service was hit and miss, and althoug we did experience that, we tried to put it in perspective with our other experiences on the island outside of the resort. We discovered right from the get go, that the locals are on "island time" and they pretty much "get around" to things when they can. So considering the local approach to life, the service in the resort is actually pretty fantastic if you compare it to service outside of the resort. Arthur, Stewart, Keon, Lisa, and Mike were amont the standouts we met during our stay. Most also double as tour guides and will take people out to see the sights on thier days off.

All the drinks were very good. My wife and I are drinkers, so the all inculsive treatment really benefited us. Our room was stocked with 2 beers, 2 waters, and 4 sodas. Re-stocking costs a few bucks depending what you want. We did however get a comped bottle of bubbly in the room on our second night, which was a nice touch. There is no drink service while you are on the beach, so you need to peel yourself off the lounge chair and waddle about 30 yards (at most) to the nearest bar for a refreshment...not a big deal to us.

The size of the resort is really great. There are just enough people there to strike up a conversation at the bar if you wish, but never so many that you felt crowed, had to wait in line for services, or had to hunt for a beach lounger or bar table.

The only negative was the fact that some money came up missing from my wife's wallet when she left it out of the safe one night when we went to dinner. I chalk it up to our mistake and we should have known better as experienced travelers. Even with that mishap, we would return to this resort.

A final word of wisdom, keep $28 dollars per person for a "departure tax" that is required to be paid at the airport before flying out. Only cash is accepted.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank punkzilla76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Like many others, Galley Bay exceeded our expectations. This was our first time in Antigua and also our wedding/honeymoon trip. We took a bit of a gamble and couldn't have been happier with our choice! The resort is truly beautiful and definitely one of, if not, the loveliest we saw in Antigua. The pictures don't lie, this place is nothing short of a tropical paradise. And as so many others have mentioned, the staff of Galley Bay are top notch! They are so welcoming and hospitable. Our wedding day was absolutely wonderful and stress free. We were totally impressed with the food too! We eat very well in Chicago and couldn't believe how great the food was. And the drinks! What I wouldn't give for the Galley Bay beach and a coco loco right now!

We are a couple in our late 20's and knew the resort would be more on the quiet side. If you're looking for a relaxing, romantic setting, this is it! The constant sound of waves and birds are so soothing. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mkott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Not knowing anything about Antigua & Galley Bay Resort, we took a chance on booking this vacation. We were looking for a small and quiet getaway, and we found both. Galley Bay was exceptional. At times, we were the only ones in the ocean or in the pool. The dining experience above expectations and the food was excellant. My wife is on a gluten-free diet, and at every meal, David the chef, met with her and reviewed the menus for every meal. The service was remarkable, tending to our every need or desire, especially Heather who we saw at most meals. The grounds were kept immaculate. Listening to all the birds and tree frogs made it so peaceful. Kerriann at reception answered any questions we had at check in and helped us with any request we had during our week at Galley Bay. Arthur, at the bar, gave us tour tips. Cedric, the resort manager, was always available, making sure all our needs were taken care of. The housekeeping staff always did a remarkable job. Our beachfront room was no more than forty feet from the water. The room was equipped with two patio lounges and two beach lounges. In other resorts that we visited, we had a hard time to find just one chair. The ocean was soothing with the calm rolling waves. We would not hesitate to go back there on our next trip.

Room Tip: We highly recommend the beachfront rooms!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

After many hours of research and debate, my husband and I decided on Galley Bay for our honeymoon. We selected Galley Bay for 3 main reasons: all inclusive, no children and it is a smaller resort. We are in our mid-thirties and we did not want to be crowded on a beach or be surrounded by children. We did not need to have organized activities for us every minute like you find with other resorts. The laid back atmosphere of Galley Bay fit our needs very well. The resort, while pricey, is worth it our eyes.
After arriving at the resort from the airport we were greeted with a cold towl and a drink of our choice (rum or Champagne). Once we completed a few items for check-in, Bobby loaded our suitcases into a golf cart and took us to our room. During the ride Bobby pointed out several areas on the island and made sure we knew were everything was on the island.
We stayed in Premium Beachfront #17. This was the room we requested and it was perfect. The location is close enough to the pool, bar, and the 3 restaurants without having a lot of foot traffic by other guests walking by our room.
The accomodations were great. Our bathroom/shower area was huge with his/her showers and a large soaking tub. I didn't find the decorations or ammenties to be outdated like some other reviewers mentioned in previous reviews. The only real complaint is that the mattress could have been a bit more firm. It wasn't exaclty a very comfortable mattress but we slept relatively well. The bath towels were a little thin as well - but the beach towels provided were great.
We split our time between the beach and the pool. We never had any problem finding open chairs at the pool. We did see a few couples leave their towels/bags at lounge chairs at the pool and not return for several hours. If we had issue finding a chair I would have mentioned this to resort mangement, but because we during off-season it was not a problem.
There were no rough waters during our stay either. The water was very calm. We were not crowded together with other guests on the beach. Everyone was spaced out and many times we were one of only a handful of guests on the beach during the morning and late afternoon hours.
During our stay we took one day trip. We boarded our catamaran at 9:00 AM and cruised around the island with guests from other resorts. We stopped off at another small bay for snorkeling and lunch then made our way for the second half of our trip. We were dropped off at our resort around 4:30 in the afternoon. After seeing at least 10 other resorts during this cruise none of them looked to be as good as Galley Bay.
The food at Galley Bay was great. We ate at Ismay's once during our stay and loved it. The added fee of $35.00 per person was worth the experience. We found the service at the Gaugain restaurant to be noticebly slower than at Ismay's and Seagrape although not completely untolerable, we were on vacation after all. Everyone who waited on us during our trip was great. We never experienced any rude or indifferent attitudes from the staff as some mentioned in their reviews. Seagrape and Gaugain offered enough variety in their meal selections throughout the week that you were not bored. Breakfast was always great - their omlettes terrific! Our final night Seagrape offered lobster (for an added $20.00 per person). It was really good as well. I do wish they had offered more variety of seafood instead of just one during each meal. These are small gripes that did not in any way ruin our trip.
While we did experience a few bug bites while on the island, we were not overcome by bugs or felt as though they were a complete nuisance. We brought bug spray and used it while on the beach and before we headed out for dinner each night.
The drinks served were great the Banana Slide and Galley Bay Special were particularly good. The drinks were not weak and the wine served at dinner was nice as well.
I would recommend Galley Bay to anyone who wants to get a way and really unwind for a week or two. You can do as much or as little as you would like and have a great week. We hope to make a return trip in the future.

Room Tip: Stayed in #17 Premium Beachfront - great location.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank alex41711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews