We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Galley Bay Resort & Spa - All Inclusive
Nearby Hotels
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hermitage Bay(Saint Mary's)
US$1,225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siboney Beach Club(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Village(St. John's)
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$436
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$414
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
COCOS Hotel Antigua(Jolly Harbour)
US$525
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa(St. John's)
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Trade Winds Hotel(St. John's)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,486)
Filter reviews
3,486 results
Traveller rating
2,741
530
146
43
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,741
530
146
43
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea grapebarefoot grillcaptain seanteepee bargaugin restaurantbeach frontpremium suiterocking chairsbanana slideguest servicessuperior beachfrontred flagdouble showerour honeymoonrum punchplunge poolbird sanctuary
Filter
Updating list...
2,571 - 2,576 of 3,486 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Galley Bay is everything you want from a holiday.
Location is good, accomodation excellent, staff so friendly and helpful and beautiful beaches. This is a resort on its own. Due to a smaller resort it keeps a personal side to the holiday and you can enjoy the serene beaches and tranquill feel to the holiday. Take advantage of the excursions offered by Waldali Cats. Good fun. This is defenitely the best resort on the Island. Being a very fussy Vegetarian, the food was wonderful, like I have never had before.
All meals are waiter service, and menus not repeated.
Two Points to remember:
We went in September - hurricane season, can be rainy - We were well looked after by everyone at the resort, even when we had to move accommodation for safety, but also fantastic weather.
You can easily put on weight, so much food to choose from.
Don,t miss out on this holiday.

Room Tip: Beachfront appartments are lovely, why pay more? You have everthing you want and need.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We have just returned from a week at Galley Bay. We were in a premium beachfront suite on the first floor level which was amazing. We had lovely views and a balconies to the front and rear which were great to sit on early in the morning and to watch the sunset in the evening. The staff at this hotel were all very friendly and very efficient. When we booked the all-inclusive, we thought that meals would be buffet style but they were not. We class the meals as "fine dining" standard. There are 3 restaurants to choose from, try them all as they are all very different. We were staying here for our wedding anniversary and there were a lot of people on their honeymoon so as you can expect, it is great for couples who want the romantic get-away.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paddywack-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Just returned from a week at Galley Bay. We were in a premium beachfront suite which was immaculate. The resort was beautiful; the staff was friendly and the food was very unique. The towel and champagne upon arrival is just the start of a fabulous week at Galley Bay. Hope to return again.
Maureen C.
NJ

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My husband and I arrived at Galley Bay on October 8 and stayed for 7 nights. We were greeted by a very welcoming staff with champagne and a cool towel. Taken by golf cart to our room. Since I could not find any pictures on line of the Superior Beachfront, I was a little concerned, but booked anyway. So glad I did. There is no need to upgrade to the Deluxe unless you require a bathtub. We were only 5 steps from the sand. It was perfect! Great king sized bed with soft sheets and a double shower and double sink in the bathroom. The food is outstanding, as we can attest by the numbers on the scale going up! Bevarages were good, the local Wadadli beer is quite good. Staff is welcoming and accomidating to the point of remembering your name when you pass by or go to the bar. A couple of pointers: 1. Take the bikes for a spin to Hideaway Bay or Royal Antiguan. The beach is deserted, not that you would need it because Galley Bay is like having your own private beach anyway. No fighting for chairs or getting up at daybreak to claim your space. 2. Take bug repellant. The mosquitos are relentless even with the weekly exterminating. 3. Go to dinner at Ismays, most wonderful surf and turf and after dinner rum. 4. Don't worry about a thing while you are there, you will be well taken care of. We loved this place and will definitely be returning. We met many couples who are repeat visitors and we will be as well.

Room Tip: Superior Beach front is perfect! No need to upgrade. All rooms are beachfront, but these are literally steps to the sand!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kwolf131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This was our second all inclusive resort stay at a resort. From our experience and what we saw on a whole on the island, Galley Bay is a laid back more upscale resort, which we felt was better overall than most. We did a circumnavigation tour around the island and stopped off at many different resorts picking up people along the way. From what we saw, we felt Galley Bay’s beach is VERY private, VERY clean, and on a whole less crowded and not as commercialized at other resorts. Other resorts seemed busier and very crowded and the beaches did not look as nice, nor did they have the intimate / more private setting as what we had at Galley Bay.
Just like every place there are advantages and disadvantages to the resort, however on a whole, we had a great time and would highly recommend this to anyone who is wanting a relaxing and nice get away.
ROOMS:
Rooms Upside - Were kept very clean, and were very accommodating. Even though we turned down the turn down service in the evening, our bed was always turned down when coming back from dinner and cleaned. Our room was on the lower level and faced the beach, so we had direct easy access to the beach, that can’t be beat. Each lower level room right on the beach had a outdoor shower and foot sprayer to rinse off sand from your legs, and or salt water from the ocean. Our room had a HUGE shower with two separate shower heads on either side of the shower. This made it easy for two people to shower at the same time so getting ready for events and or dinner, saved time and made it easy for us both, no need to wait to shower. Also our room (not sure about all rooms) had decent wireless internet which was part of the price we paid. I did have to work a few hours and send out some e-mails and it was nice to know that it was very easy to get internet access in our room. Also there is a room safe which most laptops would fit into without an issue.
Rooms Downside – There was no in room, room service, so if you were in need of food and not wanting or willing to go to the restaurants you were stuck. You HAD to go to one of their 3 restaurants to eat. Also the TV in our room was mounted on the wall and could not move side to side. At night when relaxing and wanting to watch TV, you could not pivot or turn the TV; so if you wanted to lay in bed and relax and not sit on the sofa, it was not so easy to watch TV. Also the room had a small refrigerator, and had a few drinks which were stocked in the fridge which were free of charge. If we wanted to replenish any of the drinks in the room there was an additional charge to do so
Food - The food was quite decent. Not many complaints. The ONLY thing that I could state was that the resort had specific times only when food was available. These times covered about 85-90% of the day, however if you would go out on an excursion and came back and wanted something to eat it was not always there. This resort had 3 restaurants and one had an additional up-charge to eat there. The food was a bit fancier, but the other 2 which didn’t have a up-charge were very nice as well.
Bar
There were 2 main bars which you could order nearly anything. The drinks were not watered down, nor did they skimp on having the low end liquor. You could request any drink with many top shelf liquor options. Also every day they had a special of the day which was generally a tropical drink. The bar tenders were very responsive and even though we were not there at the height of the season we were serviced quite quickly. For drinks at the pool they were allowed, but there was no one walking around asking for what you wanted to drink. If you wanted a drink you had to get up and get it. As the pool was very close to the bar this was not an issue at all. Also there was no one walking along the beach getting drink orders, so again if you wanted a drink you had to go up and get it. We actually liked that because it was more personal and you got to know the people who worked there, and by the end of the week many of the people who worked there got to somewhat know who you were and what you liked.
Two outdoor beach towels were left in the room in addition to the towels to be used inside the room. If you needed to get a new outdoor beach towel you would have to go to the main area and get another one. This was fine with us, as for us it didn’t matter, however some people were complaining that beach towels were not left, 2 for the beach and 2 for the pool area. The only real downside for us on the towel issue was that the indoor room towels were replenished; however often times smaller towels like the foot towel for getting out of the shower was not always replenished.
Evening Entertainment
Every night there was some sort of band which would be playing music until about 10 or 11 can’t really remember. Most of the bars stayed open until midnight. The entertainment was decent, but not extremely lively some nights. Many nights it was a time to get together and relax and have a few drinks. If you are into the party scene, and want clubs and night life, this is not really the place, as it’s more laid back, and mellow / relaxing environment.
Adult only
For the adult only aspect, that is quite true. We didn’t have any kids running around which is not an issue for me, but my wife wanted a more relaxing get away without kids around. Because of that, true there are many age groups, however for the beginning part of the week we found ourselves to be one of the younger couples (mid 30’s) there. There were many older couples there, but as the week went on, there were more couples our age arriving, which we might have more in common with.
BEACH:
Beach upside –
The beach was quite well protected from major surf, so very friendly to snorkeling and swimming, and or basic body surfing, but nothing major. Most of the time the beach was quite calm however there was a day where the waves did pick up in the late afternoon and then again in the evening hours.
Beach downside – The resort had many water sports available, but you needed to stay within a specific area or they would tell you to come back. The exception to that was if you rented a Hobie Cat sail boat (small 2-3 person sail boat). If the person from the resort took you out, you could go quite far, but if you were by yourself or with someone they wanted you to stay a bit closer.
BOOKING EXCURSIONS:
This was the only part of our trip which I could say was not so great. We also went during the off season, so it’s not really the resort’s fault on this part. If you go in mid September there are many boats which are on dry dock, meaning they are not offering trips / excursions. When the resort called they said they were not running. However on the beach there are people who are not part of the resort, but work for these excursions privately. They are the ones you need to talk to if you don’t want to book from the resort. The only advantage is that if you book through the resort and want to change you can 24 hours beforehand without paying. When booking with the private company, you have to pay a cash deposit which is non refundable.
Overall this resort was very private and very nice. We didn’t mind that if we needed or wanted a drink by the pool that we had to go get it. It was quite nice not always being asked what we needed. I would say the only real downside is that if you wanted anything in your room like room service or food in your room, that was not an option.

Room Tip: If your into the downtown party scene, and or want a lot of night life, this resort is not the best. If you want a more romantic, peaceful beach setting, this is a great place.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank PH22779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews