We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REALLY GOOD!”

The Cat & Fiddle Inn
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“REALLY GOOD!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Called in for late lunch on a Friday. Really excellent. Granted not many people in the bar/restaurant area but we had a most wonderful chef's special Liver, bacon and Onions absolutely delicious and mixed grill to die for! Staff very attentive and no problem adding drinks and meals together on one bill - no hassle. Really lovely experience - would recommend. Reasonably priced for good home-cooked fare - thank you!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denise_watts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    43
    33
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bad service”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Went for a carvery on sunday lunchtime 4 adults. Two of us had the carvery and two meals were ordered off the menu. 40 minutes later the menu meals had still not arrived and those eating the carvery had finished. When we said we had been waiting the waiter checked with the kitchen and said the meal would be about 5 minutes. When it did arrive 5 minutes later we told the waitress we were just about to cancel due to the delay. She said she would check with the kitchen but did not return. No one came to apologise. Despite our relations living on the nearby park and being regular visitors we will not be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We visited for Sunday carvery, four adults and one child. It was very busy and slightly chaotic in the food serving area because people who hadnt eaten there before weren't sure how to get served (could do with some instructions!). There was a choice of beef, lamb and turkey, all of which were good quality. The vegetables were all good apart from roast potatoes which weren't cooked very well and looked more like boiled potatoes! The gravy was lovely with a lot of flavour. There was a good selection of desserts but they had run out of raspberry pavlova! The ones we chose were all ok. Overall not a bad lunch, would visit again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarenG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For the day is ok”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Me and my family went there for a room to keep our stuff in as we were visiting Exeter. There is not much to do with the kids and the food wait can be long even on unbusy days. This place just didnt work for me as there was barley anywhere to go, around the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really Good!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Definitely worth a visit.
We really enjoyed two evenings of meals at The Cat and Fiddle.
Excellent Food and Service,well done to all there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deeshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cat & Fiddle Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Cat & Fiddle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing