We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
Rose Cottage at Hazelhurst Farm from across the lake.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottage at Hazelhurst Farm from across the lake.
Rose Cottage from the Courtyard. View across patio towards the lake.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Rose Cottage at Hazelhurst Farm from across the lake.
Rose Cottage from the Courtyard.
View across patio towards the lake.
Bedroom One.
Bedroom One.
Bedroom One.
Bedroom Two.
Bedroom Two.
The Kitchen/Dining/Utility Room.
The Sitting/TV Lounge.
The Sitting/TV Lounge.
The Sitting/TV Lounge.
The optional Lounge available as third bedroom for 6 occupants with additional charge.
The optional Lounge available as third bedroom for 6 occupants with additional charge.
The optional Lounge available as third bedroom for 6 occupants with additional charge.
The main bathroom with bath, shower and toilet.
The main bathroom with bath, shower and toilet.
The second toilet.
Hazelhurst Farm looking through the entrance gates.
The landscape setting of Hazelhurst Farm.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mercaston, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan T
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb weekend”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just returned from a weekend away at rose cottage with our daughters and their partners. We were made very welcome by Christine and Roger they couldn't do enough .,the décor of the whole property is first class you felt you were in a 5star hotel .but without the pomp and formality .After a tiring journey to be able to sit outside and enjoy the surrounding views and a good glass of wine and a classic Victoria sponge all provided by Christine and Roger says it all .Thank you both .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds they were so comfy
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice T
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning Cottage, brilliant location and superb hosts”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just got back from a long weekend at Rose Cottage and had an absolutely amazing weekend!!! After reading previous reviews we were excited about coming and were not disappointed!!

Christine and Roger welcomed us warmly and made us feel right at home!! A bottle of wine, cake and other essentials were there upon our arrival which was perfect after a long drive up to Derbyshire. Christine also managed to book a table for us at the Cross Keys pub (great food!) at short notice which was lovely and only 10 minutes down the road.

The cottage is set in beautiful grounds, (the pictures do not do it justice!) a lovely lake surrounds the rest of the house and there are hidden extras which made it even more amazing!! the decor was done to a high quality and was perfect size for 6 people although could maybe do with another chair in the lounge.The location is close to Chatsworth and Alton Towers and Christine also recommended a visit to Carsington Water where you can bike around the lake and stop of at the local pub (we did this and was good fun!)

The actual cottage is for 4 people however there were 6 couples each with there own bed (really comfortable bed & lovely bedding!) 2 couples were in the cottage and the other couple were in the main house which was still close to the cottage but a reasonable distance from the hosts, Christine provided bath robes for the couple staying in the main house so they can come and join us for breakfast without feeling like they had to get dressed straight away (lovely touch!)

Overall we had a great time and will definitely be returning to Rose Cottage. Cant wait for our next visit.

Thank you Christine and Roger !!!!!!

From Sue, Dave, Alice, John, Jess and Chris

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beds and decor
Liked least: stay wasnt long enough!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb weekend”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This property excelled in every way and proved to be the ideal venue for a weekend break away with old friends. Although there were 4 of us, this didn't present a problem as we had a room each Rose cottage and two rooms in the luxury B&B, which worked really well. The rooms are beautiful, with great cooking facilities, not to mention the wonderful Victoria sponge cake Christine made for us and other lovely touches. The owners Christine and Roger made us feel very welcome and the surrounding grounds and lake are amazing. The property's easy to find and conveniently situated - East Midlands airport, the M1 and the train station at Derby are all handy but not too close. The Crosskeys gastro pub nearby is very good, and great walking at Dovedale is close to hand. I would certainly recommend this property - look no further!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W
Wellington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant stay at Rose Cottage”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a great time at Rose Cottage this September. My sister booked the cottage as a surprise for a family event and we were thrilled by not only the gesture but the cottage itself.

Christine and Roger were incredibly welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. The Cottage itself is beautifully presented, clean inside and out and surrounded by stunning views.

If you choose to stay here then your trip will be further enhanced by the added charm of the resident animals who are friendly and sociable.

We would highly recommend Rose Cottage to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjan S
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This cottage is extremely beautiful, set in the owners grounds and little lake. It is very clean and well furnished. Our arrival was very welcoming. Roger (the owner) had left a bottle of wine, chocolates, some fairy cakes,milk and bread. The kitchen had a few cleaning essentials. We were three couples and since a room in bed and breakfast area was free he allowed us to use the third bedroom. The place is well above expectations. I would certainly come back again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon o
Jupiter, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Luxury in Derbyshire”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wow - where to start? The Rose Cottage at Hazelhurst Farm is such a wonderful place to stay it is difficult to know whether I mention the warm, welcoming hosts Christine & Roger first, or the great location, the view, the accommodation or the facilities...
Let's start with the hosts as the personal attention you get when staying in a Vacation Rental is of vital importance - Roger & Christine are wonderful people and truly love having guests at their place. We were made to feel welcome from the first moment we stepped onto the grounds. A welcome cake and bottle of wine greeted us at arrival and they were both there throughout the stay up to a warm send off as we continued our travels.
Location - can't be beat!!! Settled mid-way between Derby and Ashbourne it is ideal if you want to pop into town for the day or spend it in the glorious Derbyshire Peak District. The property is attached to the main farm house and as such is positioned on open space - the back yard/graden is vast and has plenty of room for kids to run or adults to walk but also offers a spectacular view to just sit in the evening with a chilled glass of wine.
Accommodation/Facilities - can only be described as the epitome of luxury...Christine has done a wonderful job selecting the finishings and touches around the cottage making any stay there a great experience. With two bathrooms and two bedrooms plus a sitting room & kitchen/dining room the cottage makes a great place to stay whether for leisure or business.
We have traveled to many places and stayed in vacation homes and hotels around the world and can easily state that the Rose Cottage is at the top of the list !!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - especially the hosts
Liked least: Having to leave so soon
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bexysimmo...
Stockton-On-Tees
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We (a group of 5) booked Rose Cottage @ Hazelhurst Farm to celebrate our friends 21st Birthday. We were delighted to approach a beautiful, well kept property in the leafy area of Ashbourne. Greeted by the friendly and very accommodating owners Roger and Christine who made us all feel very welcome from the outset. We were all most impressed with the cottage that was superbly decorated, immaculately clean with all the modern conveniences we could wish for. We collected some essentials en route but in fact Christine had already provided tea, coffee, milk, bread and orange juice (all from m&s!) The owners had even kindly provided a birthday cake and bottle of prosecco for us to enjoy! We enjoyed our first evening eating pizza and drinking wine on the patio, laughing and chatting as the sun set over the stunning lake and beautiful grounds! We all enjoyed a very good nights sleep in luxury bedding and fluffy towels. The following day we set off for Alton Towers, which took just over 30 minutes and was easy to find. Christine kindly offered to book us dinner at a local eatery but we enjoyed another lovely evening in the cottage with food that we bought from a relatively local sainsburys (approximately 10 minutes by car). We had 3 more guests join us on the Saturday and we were all more than comfortable having 3 double bedrooms and 2 lounges (one with a sofa bed). On Sunday morning we enjoyed a leisurely stroll around the relaxing surroundings, sitting by the lake watching the carp jump and seeing some beautiful resident horses. We all had a bounce on the large sunken trampoline which was a good laugh! Christine and Roger were wonderful hosts, nothing was too much trouble and there was a perfect balance between friendly interaction and being left to do our own thing. The only thing that I would suggest to make this place even better is a hot tub! Everything considered, we were all very impressed and had a wonderful time, thank you to Roger and Christine for an amazing weekend, I would highly recommend Rose Cottage and I would certainly return. Many thanks from, Rebecca, Hannah, Melissa, Adam, Lynsey, Rob, Vicky and Sam xxx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing