We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Honeymoon hotel!”
Review of Jeeva Klui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jeeva Klui Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mangsit
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Upon check in we were informed the hotel was under construction.... Not what we had in mind for our honeymoon, but we were told it would not impact our stay...
It is a beautiful location, right on the beach. The room however was nothing more than a basic hotel room. Incredibly disappointing.
No room service, no wifi, no bath, no bath robes, no privacy, no tea and coffee making facilities, no drinking water.
If you wanted to see the view from your room, the curtains need to be open and everyone can see straight into your room.
We asked to see another room... This one had a pool but no view... The only room that had access to wifi. For an additional USD30 per night we changed rooms. But if you think you get privacy, think again. The neighbors room (upstairs) could sit on their balcony and see straight into our pool. Our first day all we could hear was construction... Thru breakfast we were surrounded by the construction.... Thru afternoon tea, cocktail hour... All day... We sat with them for all our meals... And listened to it while in our room trying to relax. During breakfast a plank of wood went flying across the restaurant and hit my hip.
So after an additional USD30 per night, no view, no privacy and constant banging, it was disappointing and not what we had in mind for our honeymoon.

At breakfast you can order a flat white coffee for an additional charge. Do not do this as it is simply the same as the free coffee but they pour in some milk, instead of pouring it in yourself!

There is no information in the room at all.... Nothing on the meal times, facilities, tours, day spa prices. No information at all.

However, all the staff are so lovely. The restaurant staff could not be more friendly. The best hotel staff we have experienced.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wahoo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeevaKlui, Owner at Jeeva Klui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Thank you for your review and congratulations on your marriage! Although we apologize if the resort was not what you expected, we believe that your review does not accurately reflect Jeeva Klui.

The expansion of Jeeva Klui, with the addition of a new spa and 8 pool villa rooms, was completed in stages from July to early November of this year. There is no longer any construction in process and we do not plan to add any additional rooms. We believe that 35 suites and villas spread over 2 hectares is enough!

As outlined on our website, different room types are equipped with different amenities. All nine of the pool suites and villas have wifi, terry cloth bathrobes, and coffee and tea making facilities. We are also adding Bose Sound docks in these rooms. Six of the pool suites and villas have outdoor stone bath tubs located in a private garden.

The beach front and ocean view suites do not have wifi or coffee and tea making facilities. Lombok is a relatively undeveloped island where telephone service and electricity can be a bit of a problem. We do not provide coffee and tea making facilities in all suites because we are concerned about adequate power supply. As the electricity supply and telephone services improve we will add wifi and coffee and tea facilities in all rooms.

Each suite is equipped with a free mini bar that includes complimentary water, soft drinks and juice. There are two batik cloth robes in the closet area and two bottles of water in the bathroom and on the bedside table. All rooms also have a compendium of hotel facilities and services that includes a room service menu. The kitchen is open 24 hours so meals are at the guests' convenience. A compendium of guests services and a spa menu are also available at reception. There is also a 'living' picture frame at the reception area with photos and a description of the spa and tours available. If, for some reason, these items were not in your room we would very much appreciate it if you would inform someone at reception who would promptly make sure to provide you with these items.

The view from the beach front rooms is spectacular. The wall of the suite facing the beach is mostly a fully opening glass door. This allows the terrace to become part of the room itself. Although the suites at Jeeva Klui are set back approximately 40 meters from the beach, are well spaced to maximize privacy and the resort grounds are large, it is possible in a resort environment that someone may walk past the villa. The only way to avoid this would be to put a wall in front of the villa which would block the view. There are, however, second story beach front suites available where you can fully open the sliding door and leave the curtains open to enjoy the beautiful view while still having complete privacy.

We will check the site lines on all pool villas to ensure the upmost in privacy, although we do not believe it is possible to see into the pool villas from other suites' balconies we will take steps to make sure that any privacy issues are resolved. Thank you for input on this.

As part of the expansion at Jeeva Klui we added two pool villas, numbers 4 and 5, that have been specifically designed for honeymoons. These pool villas are located in their own private, 250 m2, gardens and are equipped with an outdoor stone tub, private pool, Bose sound dock and other amenities. These pool villas are located near the Balinese temple and away from other villas for full privacy.

Once again, thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed seeing Lombok and wish you every happiness in your new life together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

847 - 853 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

It was an excellent hotel to stay, but we left with a bit curiosity. We have been charged for the hotel laundry bags we used for our wet suits. So, is it regular for a hotel to make that charges?

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e-kusuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeevaKlui, Owner at Jeeva Klui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Thank you for your review of Jeeva Klui.

We apologize if we were not clear on charges for room amenities, including such items as laundry bags. Front office staff should have provided you with a disposable bag for your wet suits so you would not have to use the laundry bags. We are now updating the guest information book and will make sure to add a page listing charges for room amenities.

Thank you for your positive comments on Jeeva Klui. We hope to see you again when you are next in Lombok!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Our experience at Jeeva Klui can only be described as nothing less than excellent. While we were checking in, we enquired on the possibility of late checkout on our departure day 2 days later. The check-in staff was quick to not only let us know that late checkout was possible, but also asked which flight we were taking and when the best time to leave the resort to ensure we will be able to reach the airport on time.

Housekeeping staff were very prompt to clean up our room once we were out for breakfast. Even more impressive was their daily effort to "turn down" the room at 5pm, preparing the bed by re-arranging the bedding and pillows, replenish 2 new bottles of drinking water (making it 4 bottles a day, instead of the usual 2 in most other resorts). I was in the room watching them go through the ritual and the staff was very careful to check the tissue box was filled, the remote controls to the tv, aircon and dvd player were well-placed and the room was sprayed with a citrus-fragranced insecticide.

Although there was no in-room wifi, free wifi was available at the business centre, as was a Mac for guests. The library also had a good selection of books and games like reversi, carrom and chess.

Daily breakfast was fairly sumptuous with a good variety of juices, yoghurt, international and local breakfast options as well as bakery items like croissants and buns.

Overall we were very impressed by the resort's facilities and the hospitality of the staff and will be most happy to recommend them to anyone who is looking for accommodation in Senggigi, Lombok.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoL_LittleRedDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

An honestly excellent array of pillows.
I'm not even entirely sure how many sizes of pillow were on the bed, but the mega huge pillows were definitely a highlight.
All were of an especially soft variety. 8/10.
Covers 8/10.

Bonus daybed pillows, slightly course, but plentiful and comfortable. 7/10.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pillow_Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Having lived 30 years in South East Asia, I thought I had seen my fair share of tropical island resorts until I discoverdd Jeeva Klui, Designed by a native Balinese architect, Jeeva Klui is a modern sensual fusion of Indonesian design flavours. Using local materials, from the moment you enter the gate, via the reception area , to your rooms ..the eye is busy enjoying the balanced selection of designs, patterns, shapes and colours - a subtle taste that captures you. You have a choice of rooms and villas. My preference are the rooms, simply because you have this great feeling of space. Interiors are simple yet elegant, natural and practical - great queen size beds, flat panel TVs, plenty of amenities, Balinese style bathrooms, and a well proportioned verandah with a big day bed area. The private villas are equally nice but the high walls do give you a sense of being squashed in. I am sure you will enjoy your meals in the long-house style restaurant ..every table has a great view towards the beach. Food and service at the restaurant are outstanding. The business center has a good wifi connection, and you can chill out there using the large sofa chairs for a game of backgammon or chess, or simply use the telescope to look across to Bali. The infinity pool and the pool deck are positioned such that you have this unforgettable view of Mt Agung on Bali, if you are lucky...Jeeva Klui to me does not need a star rating ..it is in a class of its own ..best enjoyed by those who want to avoid stereo-type bland international hotel resort styles - Jeeva Klui has created its own style ..unique - balanced - perfect. Congratulations to Pak Yanto, the owner, and his staff for creating such a jewel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This was our second trip to Lombok and our first time to stay at Jeeva Klui. We came back this time for Lombok. When we come back next time it will be for Jeeva Klui. The rooms are great, beautifully decorated and large. The views from the terrace and daybed are the best ever. Service was polite and professional. Everything about the hotel was good. We didnt get a chance to try the spa but.. next time!

Room Tip: Go for a beach front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G0G0S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Recently stayed in a 5-star hotel with a very similar concept - Jeeva Klui resort almost reaches that standard and it is likely one of the best options for someone coming to Senggigi. The rooms are beautifully decorated, arranged and maintained. The outdoor shower/bath concept of the pool villas was pretty fun. Given its located in a very humid climate, its hard to imagine a room which is mold free - but the first room I stayed in was so moldy that my allergies were off the charts and I had to sleep with all the windows/doors open and the mosquito net down...thats not worth the cost. The pool villa, on the other hand, was much better mold wise. There was also a overwhelming bug problem...again understandable, but a bit more than should be found at a hotel...especially the flies in the restaurant.

The service was very good - again almost 5-star - and knowledgable of English. They were very helpful in arranging transportation, motorbikes, golf and other outings. The staff was defintely one of the resorts strong points.

The food, on the other hand, could have used a bit...the menu tried to appeal to everyone and thus kinda was flat. The dishes lack bold flavor and spice and the western dishes (like pizza) were poorly realized. All this would have been easily acceptable/dismissed had it not been for the extrordinate mark up compared to local restaurants.

Overall, a great find and a great time...just recommend to the hotel working on the mold and bug problems and to guests to look for other food options.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aever15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangsit
0.7 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,593 reviews
0.9 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
762 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#7 of 7 in Mangsit
901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Katamaran Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jeeva Klui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jeeva Klui Resort

Address: Jl. Klui Raya no. 1, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Mangsit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Mangsit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mangsit
#2 Family Hotel in Mangsit
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mangsit
Price Range: £79 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jeeva Klui Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Sengigi on a private sandy beach, Jeeva Klui is a 35 suite and villa resort. All suites face westward and have ocean views with 18 absolute beach front suites. Jeeva Klui combines traditional Lombok design with modern comfort to create a unique tropical Indonesian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jeeva Klui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jeeva Klui Hotel Mangsit
Jeeva Klui Resort Lombok/Mangsit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing