We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort for a quiet, chilled break”
Review of Jeeva Klui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jeeva Klui Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mangsit
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely resort for a quiet, chilled break”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked 3 nights at Jeeva Klui on the recommendation of friends who had stayed here. We didn't do any prior research or know anything about the size of Lombok or location of the resort on the island (entirely our fault). We are a very active couple and found Jeeva just a bit too quiet for our liking - that's not to say we didn't have a lovely stay but 3 nights was too much for us.

We had an Agung Ocean Front room which was absolutely gorgeous - top marks for that. It had an outdoor shower and a large daybed on the veranda - the room was very clean and well serviced. The airconditioning worked well. The mini bar didn't have much in it - a few cans of soft drink and a packet of chips, peanuts and choc bar and that was it. Because of the remote location there was no option to go to a convenience store to top up supplies.

The restaurant was amazing - we had some of the most delicious food we have ever had - one night we ordered a shared Indonesian Ristjiffel (?) which was a shared plate of 10 different local dishes. The next night we enjoyed a buffet which had some of the nicest dishes I've ever seen on a buffet. Unfortunately the drink service was incredibly slow ( even around the pool at happy hour) and we usually had to get up and go find someone to order a drink. The beers were not cold and so we learnt to order 3 with an ice bucket and then keep refilling. The cocktails were nice - they could have made a lot more money off us if they had improved the drink service.

There were plenty of sunbeds facing the ocean (too rough and rocky to swim in) and around the pool. Sadly the other guests all either didn't speak English or preferred to keep their own company - if you like sitting by the pool chatting to other travellers then this isn't the place for you.

We rented a motorbike from reception one afternoon and rode back to the harbour area for lunch but that was our only outing...it's like we visited the island of Jeeva Klui not Lombok!

We had 2 spa treatments during morning happy hour - these were a treat I. The 'open' spa building with the sea breeze blowing and the sound of the ocean. At half price they were reasonable but still by far more expensive than Bali standards.

It sounds like we didn't like it - we did but it just wasn't our scene. Our three nights here cost more than double our three nights on Gili T which we thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leelee1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    209
    27
    6
    8
See reviews for
259
697
29
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at Jeeva Klui for 3 nights in October. The setting of the resort and its grounds is absolutely beautiful.

We stayed in an Amra Pool Villa at the back of the resort, and although not beachfront, the view from the second storey of the villa across the resort to the beachfront was lovely. The villa itself was fantastic and extremely private with a lower courtyard and pool and upper deck with an outside day bed. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathrooms were modern and had great lighting. We were concerned that the two storeys were a waste and we'd only use the upstairs of the villa but we actually did use both areas. The private pool was beautiful but it only got the sun for a short time each day and so was a bit cold for us to really make the most of it like we had at other resorts on our holiday.

The breakfast was of a very good quality with many choices - I'd be surprised if anyone couldn't find anything to suit them! We also had the rijjstaffel for dinner one night and highly recommend it, delicious :).

The restaurant staff were very friendly, called us by name and spoke fantastic English. However, this high standard did not quite carry over to the front of house staff. Whilst very friendly, we found communicating with some of the front of house staff quite difficult and feel that there was somewhat of a language barrier. We were told of the spa happy hour (between 10am - 12pm) when we checked in and immediately decided to book a couples massage for any day of our holiday; however, the spa was not able to accommodate this during the time we were there which was a bit disappointing. We were also offered a free shuttle to the centre but front of house was not able to accommodate this either. These are just small things, and did not detract from our holiday overall, but made us feel a little disappointed at the time and should not be offered to guests if the resort is not able to follow through.

All in all, we had a fabulous time at Jeeva Klui and would definitely recommend it to our friends :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozzarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I stayed At Jeeva Klui for one week with our 4 and 7 olds in a two bedroom pool villa. Everything was absolutely perfect and exceeded our expectations. The villa and pool was beautiful and clean with all of the modern amenities you need - clable TV, DVD players (the resort also has a good supply of DVDs to borrow which was nice for the kids) tea/coffee, small fridge and bottled water replenished daily. The food (and cocktails!) were terrific and inexpensive, we actually ended up eating at the resort most days because it was all so lovely. I really recommend the spa where I had fantastic massages and a divine facial all while listening to the sounds of the ocean. The beach and water was clean (unfortunately that can't be said of all of the beaches on Lombok). Great for sandcastles and snorkeling but lots of coral so bring shoes if you have them. We hired local drivers for day trips that we met on the beach rather than go through the hotel - Moh and Boh, they were great they work on the stand across the road from the resort entrance. All of the staff were really fantastic and genuinely friendly. They were great with the kids and nothing was too much trouble. Everyone there made us feel really welcome. If you're looking for a nice, quiet place to relax Jeeva Klui is the place to go. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The pool villas are terrific for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Stunning location, excellent accommodation ( particularly chalets fronting the beach) , wonderful staff , fantastic food and impeccable service.
My wife was unwell for part of our holiday having contracted stomach bug in Chinatown Kuala Lumpor. The staff bent over backwards to make her as comfortable as possible with appropriate non spicy foods. Also on discovering I was diabetic the chef took it upon himself to make special sugar free blueberry pancakes and unsugared bread for me. This was a personalised service that one does not encounter frequently.
One of the best places we have stayed in the world.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boclar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights...what a beautiful resort!!! The rooms were amazing, food great and inexpensive. View priceless and so were the staff.WOuld go back tomorrow!!
The beach was safe and water nice and clean. No tea/coffee facilities though.

Room Tip: We had ocean front upstairs room..the ocean was a little loud but who's complaining. These rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmouttet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

What a beautiful place ! We had a bedroom facing the sea : nicely furnished, comfortable bed, day bed, armchairs on the huge balcony. Beautiful breakfast and tea time snacks served in cosy business center. The beach was not perfect and quite dirty but the pool was divine. And I have to recommand the spa ! Wonderful massage with fragrant essentials oils ! We also took a local boat from the front of the hotel to go to Gili Air , and it was a delicious excursion only one hour from the hotel. would love to go back !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaupiBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here at the end of our 2 week holiday in Indonesia. Perhaps we had been spoilt by the previous 4 hotels on our trip, but we left Jeeva Klui disappointed.

The setting is unquestionably beautiful and the design of the resort and rooms is impressive. We stayed in a private pool villa which itself was stunning and a truly self indulgent experience.

Breakfast was lovely with a wide selection and so too was the a la carte throughout the day and evening. Interestingly, however, we both sufferred from a "dodgy belly" the entire time we stayed at Jeeva Klui but yet had not at any of the other hotels or restaurants we ate at in Indonesia?!?

The hotel pool was in a great setting, but was not cleaned regularly/well enough. There was a consistent layer of grease/dirt in the corner of the pool during our stay which detracts a little from its otherwise impressive position/design.

Customer service was where Jeeva Klui really lets itself down. All the staff are extremely friendly and try to be helpful, but just don't make the grade. We rarely received what we actually ordered from the menu, drinks orders often took an unreasonable amount of time to arrive, particularly considering the small size of the hotel/number of guests and we had to learn as we went along about "happy hour" or "afternoon tea" or "beach towels"...it just would have been nice if this was explained upon check-in as in most hotels.

Jeeva Klui is in a great setting and i'm sure would make a great holiday destination for many - however, we were regrattbly not impressed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snowridinandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeevaKlui, Owner at Jeeva Klui Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We can only apologize that you felt disppointed with the service levels at Jeeva Klui. Service is something we take seriously and there is no excuse for our failure to deliver the highest standard in service, including pool maintenance. We will take immediate steps to improve service levels to avoid events such as you mentioned happening again and have contracted with a well known service training consultant in bali to improve our standards and undertake intensive staff training in both the restairant and front office.

Once again, thank you for your review and your helpful input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangsit
0.7 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,494 reviews
0.9 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jeeva Santai Villas
Jeeva Santai Villas
#6 of 7 in Mangsit
68 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
728 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jeeva Klui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jeeva Klui Resort

Property: Jeeva Klui Resort
Address: Jl. Klui Raya no. 1, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83350, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Mangsit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mangsit
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mangsit
#2 Spa Hotel in Mangsit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mangsit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jeeva Klui Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Sengigi on a private sandy beach, Jeeva Klui is a 35 suite and villa resort. All suites face westward and have ocean views with 18 absolute beach front suites. Jeeva Klui combines traditional Lombok design with modern comfort to create a unique tropical Indonesian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jeeva Klui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jeeva Klui Hotel Mangsit
Jeeva Klui Resort Lombok/Mangsit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing