We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Jeeva Klui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jeeva Klui Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mangsit
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This resort is just wonderful! My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in December whilst holidaying in Indonesia. We stayed in one of their private pool villas, which was absolutely stunning; very spacious with a lovely pool and outdoor area. The staff are friendly, polite and extremely attentive; they knew our names on arrival and all staff addressed us by name throughout our stay. My partner has a nut allergy and the staff could not have been more helpful in checking which dishes were safe for him to eat with the chef before we ordered. Breakfast was amazing, and the complimentary afternoon tea (between 4-5pm) was a lovely added extra surprise! The only negative was the weather, but as we had such a lovely pool villa with plenty of outdoor shelter space, it didn't spoil our stay. Thank you Jeeva Klui for a truly fabulous holiday!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahSiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supriyanto S, Owner at Jeeva Klui Resort, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you for the great review. The weather has been terrible so far this year with high seas and lots of rain. The weather should start to improve over the next couple of weeks (we hope!) but it has been a particularly bad rainy season. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Jeeva Klui even with the bad weather and hope to see you again in Lombok and at Jeeva Klui. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    213
    28
    8
    8
See reviews for
265
710
29
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

As per every trip we take these days, Trip Advisor is the first point of call.. then a search based on user views comes next as we work down the list factoring in price, location etc.. Jeeva was at or close to the top and the reviews were very positive. Location was a few kms north of the town, but other than that it seemed great.. so we booked. Net result: Absolutely fantastic resort, and well worth it… all previous reports were accurate.

The wife and I only spent 2 nights as a weekend getaway from Jakarta.. to escape the horrendous rain, traffic & pollution that plagues the capital.. and it was just perfect. A paradise within a paradise. We went for the one story villa with a private pool, which I’d highly recommend. Everything about the facilities is top class, and the property as a whole is kept immaculate. The service is spot on. The staff all speak great English, and the service is the perfect balance of attentive without being overwhelming (anyone that’s stayed in the big Jakarta hotels will know what I’m talking about.. RE: overwhelming!)..

The chief in the restaurant is very good.. everything we had off the menu for either lunch/dinner was spectacular and very well priced for a resort.. seriously no need to go out of the property. We did one day to ‘The Square’ restaurant, which was nice too.. but staying at the resort is definitely a great option. If we’re back in Lombok anytime soon, it will be very hard not to stay here again. Just perfect.

Room Tip: splurge.. take the room with a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supriyanto S, Owner at Jeeva Klui Resort, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thanks for the great review. Lombok is a nice break from Jakarta (big, big city!) and much easier to get to with the new flight schedules. It is a lovely way to spend a weekend

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please stop by again at Jeeva Klui or Jeeva Beloam if you are in Lombok. It is a beautiful island and now is the best time of year to go to Jeeva Beloam.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The resort is very well planned and incredibly we'll maintained except for 2 areas that need attention:

1. The main pool filter seemed not to be working properly and the water was cloudy while we were there which for me is an issue as I like to swim for daily exercise - to combat this it seemed like chlorine was added daily which also made it over-chlorinated and not a nice pool to hang out in. After seeing the photos online I was really looking forward to this pool so it was disappointing. We also had a plunge pool in our villa which was very clean but you can't do laps in that!

2. The family villa we stayed in was spotlessly cleaned every day with an incredible attention to detail that would put most hotels to shame. However, there was a "drain" smell downstairs, and a mouldy smell upstairs. Front of house were very good and brought in aromatherapy oil burners which were good, but really only masked the smells. More worrying is there is mould growing on the grass matting on the inside of the upstairs ceiling and this needs to be fixed as it's a health issue - if the mould were to be disturbed there would be spores raining down on you as you slept.

Despite these problems I'm still giving the resort 5 stars for fantastic food, a really cool concept, and for choice of staff all of whom were outstanding individuals who offered an amazing level of service at all times, and I hope to return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrStephe n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supriyanto S, Owner at Jeeva Klui Resort, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your review of Jeeva Klui.. and thank you for pointing out the two issues you mentioned. We have taken steps to rectify both problems. Frankly speaking, the main pool was cloudy because of an imbalance in the proportion of chemicals used to treat the pool water. We have fixed the problem and the pool was back to normal by January 28. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and all our guests who were staying with us over the weekend. We will make sure that this doesnt happen again.

We have closed the room you were staying in and have replaced the gedeg and inner lining on the ceiling and cleaned the alang2 roof. We have also replaced a drain downstairs. The heavy rainy season we are having and the trees surrounding the family villa where you were staying means that the alang2 has not had a chance to dry out properly. We will systematically close rooms and make replacements of ceilings, etc. as needed over the next month and will make plans to change the alang2 roofs later on this year.

Once again, thank you for your review with your many kind comments and valuable input. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see again! Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Thank you Jeeva Klui for making our week in Lombok so wonderful. My Husband and I travelled with our two children aged 13 and 11 yrs and grandparents. We booked an Amra villa (plus a garden suite for the grandparents) with our own pool which was incredibly comfortable and spacious and offered us privacy if we wanted to swim by ourselves.

The food and service at Jeeva Klui is second to none. The restaurant has a wide range of choices on its menu, is very reasonably priced and very delicious. The complimentary afternoon tea is also not to be missed. The staff always new our names and were especially kind to our children.

We will happily return to Jeeve Klui and if your looking for a beautiful sunset with cocktail in hand this is the place to be!
We would

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supriyanto S, Owner at Jeeva Klui Resort, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of Jeeva Klui. The sunsets over Bali's Mt. Agung are spectacular at any time but this year the colors have been partciuclarly vivid.. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at Jeeva klui and hope to see again in the future. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I just got back from a 3 nights stay in Jeeva Klui. My husband and I enjoyed the stay immensely.
We decided that we will definitely return there again.
Reception
We arrived at the resort at about 3.15pm. We had made reservation for a spa treatment at 4pm. Idris at the reception, made arrangements with the spa for us to have our massage earlier, so that we will be able to make it for the tea that was provided at 4pm. It was very thoughtful of him.
Spa
We had 3 different treatments in the spa, they were all wonderful. We enjoyed the spa so much. The spa is just next to the seafront, so you will be relaxing to the sounds of the waves.
Staff
All the staff in the hotel were so accomodating to our needs and always smiling. The staff at the restaurant greeted us by our names, which was definitely very personalised.
Restaurant
The restaurant in the resort served excellent food. There isn't a buffet spread for b'fast, it was ala carte, however the menu is good enough. We had all our dinners in the resort's restaurant itself. The food was very good. It was very nice of the chef to actually come out and introduce himself to us. He even asked us if we wanted anything outside of the menu, and he could prepare for us. The restaurant even surprised me with a birthday cake….i was really very surprised!!
Room
Our room faced the beach so it was very nice. We usually sat at our porch to watch the sunset and sunrise. There was turn down service, so the rooms were always very clean.
Overall
I LOVE this resort. My husband and myself decided that we will definitely return back again, no doubt at all. Thank you everyone at Jeeva Klui for making our stay such a memorable one.

Room Tip: Oceanfront definitely!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxetraveller2218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supriyanto S, Owner at Jeeva Klui Resort, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your great review of Jeeva Klui. We are really happy that you chose Jeeva Klui and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are making plans to buld a new spa area that will be more complete and with a small gym. Hopefully it will be ready when you come back! Once again, thanks for the review and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We paid $283.00 a night for a Deluxe Garden Bungalow (upstairs) which was superbly presented. It reminded me of an Africian getaway more than Indonesian getaway. The use of natural product created an uncomplicated and uncluttered ambience. The advantage to the upstairs room is the beautiful raked rattan ceiling. Exceptionally poor exterior lighting to the steps was nothing short of a safety issue. An accident waiting to happen. I had to use the IPad for light. Speaking of which, the the WI FI connection was appalling. Whilst it said we were connected, we weren't. We stayed at other properties on Lombok and whilst the speed of connection is not up to Asutralian standards, Jeeva Klui's was completely unacceptable.

The grounds are simple in their design, well manicured but lacking that je ne sais quoin.

I felt the property under delivered in all aspects with the exception of service and food. The staff were delightful, professional, friendly without being too much so. They kept their professional distance. The food was excellent and well priced. There are no restaurants within the vicinity of the resort so you rely heavily on the Resort for meals. Loved the A la carte breakfast menu. A welcome reprieve from the ubiquitous buffets in other resorts.

The beach was a disgrace. It was eye opening for us to see such volumes of rubbish and debris strewn along the entire length. In addition, public drains emptied on to the beach. I wouldn't swim in it even if the rubbish was not there. I appreciate the resort has little control over this. Local people were cleaning it but it amounted to emptying a swimming pool with a thimble. The good news is that unless you access the beach you don't see it. We had notions of an early morning work along the beach as part of our daily activity. Another big disappointment.

Speaking of disappointments. Upon checking in we tried to book spa treatments for our 3 days. Nothing was available. Whilst delightful, the spa staff didn't seem to have a grip of their booking schedule. Noise from the road was noticeable in our rooms as motorbikes without mufflers revved up the hill. The call to prayer was an unwelcome wakeup call at 0415 which went for approximately 45 mins. Of course this occurred at other times of the day. It was something we didn't get at Puri Mas Beach Resort.

The pool was full of toddlers and children with their plastic equipment. Only one pool which meant there was no reprieve from this behaviour and it killed the ambience. The restaurant overlooked the pool. As the pool represented the heart of the resort, there was little escape other than ones room.
The ambience for us was killed by so many kids. This was a deal breaker for us. To me the resort had an ambience suitable to couples with a set up as such. If they want to attract so many families then a second pool is necessary. If I was on my honeymoon I would have been so disappointed.

Quite frankly the rate we paid was overpriced across all aspects of the Resort. Cheeky to say the least. I would estimate a rate of no more than $180.00 as acceptable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sallylyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeevaKlui, Owner at Jeeva Klui Resort, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for your review and your many positive comments on Jeeva Klui.

We are sorry that you were angry and disappointed because we could not accommodate the request you made at check in for a doubles 60 minute massage. As we told you at that time we were prebooked during the two nights/three days you stayed with us. You fail to mention, however, that after some juggling of schedules, and thanks to other guests who were willing to accommodate you, the spa was able to provide you with a treatment. We realize it is not what you expected.You will be happy to know that we are planning to build a bigger spa at the end of this year to avoid this kind of problem in the future.

We apologize beforehand but we must correct some of your statements. The rate you paid on your room was $195 per night before government taxes, not the rate you quoted. The rate you paid included breakfast, which we are glad you liked.

Jeeva Klui design is based on a traditional Lombok Sasak stone village. Most, if not all, of the other hotels in the Sengiggi area, including the one you mentioned, are based on Bali design and with Balinese style plantings. Jeeva Klui uses only coastal plants that are native to Lombok in landscaping the more than 2 hectare grounds. Unlike any other resort in the Sengiggi area, the grounds at Jeeva Klui also include a preexisting mango orchard and many varieties of native trees with large open green spaces. Yours may be the only review we have had that does not mention the grounds and open areas at Jeeva Klui as a positive point.

Thank you for your comment on lighting. We will review lighting as part of our renovation process. Wi-Fi access is a bit out of our control. While other areas in Lombok may have better Wi-Fi access than Jeeva Klui does, Wi-Fi in Lombok is clearly not as good as in Australia. We have been told that Telkom will be upgrading services in our area and we will, of course, upgrade our free Wi-Fi when the new service becomes available. We also need better Wi-Fi access for our own operations.

In late December the beaches on the west coast of Lombok and also Bali experienced a massive onslaught of sea borne garbage, mostly plastic, that was washed up by the high seasonal waves. Jeeva Klui immediately employed 15 individuals from Klui village who worked non-stop over one and a half days to clean the full length of Klui Beach. Jeeva Klui then paid for the rubbish to be bundled and sent to the main Lombok land fill site. Jeeva Klui is the only resort in the Sengiggi area that made such an effort to clean the beach and dispose of the garbage without simply waiting for the garbage to wash away in the next high tide. Within two days after the initial wash up the beach was cleaned and restored to a state ready to accommodate a 'morning walk'. We will continue to employ a 'beach patrol' team throughout the rainy season to respond quickly if this happens again. You are right, we have little control over sea borne garbage and we are sorry that you were disappointed by our efforts to address this problem.

Jeeva Klui is the only property on Klui Beach. No one lives on Klui Beach or near Jeeva Klui. There are no public drains on Klui beach. The two drains we assume you are referring to are the clean water drains for the main pool overflow and a drain for excess rain water from Jeeva Klui. The pool overflow drain is used in the event that the balancing tank for the main pool is full (rarely). The rain water drain is used to accommodate overflow from our 7 rain water containment wells. The rain water collected in the containment wells is used during the dry season for watering the gardens. Jeeva Klui is the only resort in the Sengiggi area to actively manage water resources. We view this as our commitment to minimizing the impact of Jeeva Klui on the local environment and are proud of our efforts to conserve and recycle Lombok's limited water resources. We would have been pleased to explain the function of the two Jeeva Klui drains and the many steps we take to be as 'eco-friendly' as possible at Jeeva Klui had you have asked.

The mosque at Klui village is about 2,0 km from Jeeva Klui. We rarely have complaints about noise from the mosque. We can, however, provide ear plugs to guests who request them. As a note, the beach road that runs behind Jeeva Klui also runs behind Puri Mas and the 5 other large resorts located near Puri Mas on Mangsit Beach.

There are a total of 35 villas and suites at Jeeva Klui including 9 villas with their own pools. As you indicate that you are in the travel industry then you know that different seasons attract different types of guests. The Christmas week in Indonesia is peak family season with many families travelling together. It is also the peak time at Jeeva Klui for families staying with us. We apologize if you were unhappy with our other guests but we have never professed ourselves to be a couples only resort.

Once again, we are sorry that we could not accommodate your request for a doubles 60 minute massage. Although we are surprised by the negative tone and the inaccuracies included in your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Puri Mas and appreciate your positive comments on the food and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon over five nights during Christmas 2013 and had a wonderful experience, largely due to the service and ocean front room.

The service was truly top-notch and was really what made the stay special for us. Staff were sincere and genuine and made an effort to know your names, or at least the rooms you were staying in. They always had a ready smile and greeting on their face and came across as genuinely wanting to serve and please. We were truly appreciative of this.

When I arrived, I realized I had forgotten to pack my contact lenses and was quite upset as I did not want to spend my honeymoon wearing my thick glasses. One of the staff, Dwe, was extremely helpful. She took my prescription and called various optical stores in Lombok and finally located one store in Mataram which carried my prescription. She even took down the different brands and options they carried. I was able to easily take a cab there to buy my lenses. She went above and beyond what was required, always with a smile on her face, and I am most grateful to her. Thank you Dwe!

The room we stayed at, a ground floor ocean front room, was roomy and spacious with a beautiful bathroom and outdoor shower. It was truly a treat to be able to look out straight to the sea each morning and to watch the beautiful sunset and Mount Agung from our porch.

No complaints about the food either. Daily breakfast was served from an ala-carte menu which they brought right to your table - this is a nice touch and they are happy to customize according to request. The restaurant menu prices were reasonable for a hotel of this standard. I had a nice massage in an open air spa and it was great to listen to the sea while getting a massage.

The only things to note are that the beach was rocky with garbage floating up to the shore when we stayed there. The hotel employed people to clean it regularly. So while the beach is great to look at from a distance from your room and the hotel deck chairs, it's not the best beach to actually be on. I did not find this to a problem as the hotel provided ample sun bathing chairs throughout and by the pool. Also, there is no gym if you're looking to exercise during your trip and not really enough space around the hotel for a run. The hotel does provide yoga classes twice weekly though, we tried it once and found it pleasant.

Overall, this is a great place to stay if you simply want to unwind and experience genuine service. Will be back!

Room Tip: If you can, choose an ocean front room. The view is worth it and you get an outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssyap84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeevaKlui, Owner at Jeeva Klui Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
First of all congratulations on marriage and our best wishes to you both. Thank you for choosing Jeeva Klui for your honeymoon! And thank you for your great review.

This year has been terrible for sea borne garbage. Usually this is 'rock' season where rocks wash up on the beach from the seasonal waves and current. We don't disturb the rocks because this is a natural process and we don't really understand what the impact might be on the beach if we interefere in the.. for lack of a better term.. 'rock' cycle...The rocks will wash away when the season changes.

We are not sure where the seaborne garbage comes from. We have coordinated with the local and provencial governement on this but have made little progress on resolving this. Thus year has been particularly bad with the heavy rains and flooding. We employ full time 'beach patrol' staff to monitor and clean the beach and added additional staff in December. We will continue to patrol the beach and will work with other hotels in Lombok and local governement to try to find a more permanent solution to this problem. We apologize that this marred your stay with us.

Once again, Congratulations and we hope to see you again at Jeeva Klui!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangsit
0.7 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jeeva Santai Villas
Jeeva Santai Villas
#6 of 7 in Mangsit
77 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#7 of 7 in Mangsit
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jeeva Klui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jeeva Klui Resort

Property: Jeeva Klui Resort
Address: Jl. Klui Raya no. 1, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83350, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Mangsit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mangsit
#2 Spa Hotel in Mangsit
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mangsit
#2 Family Hotel in Mangsit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jeeva Klui Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Sengigi on a private sandy beach, Jeeva Klui is a 35 suite and villa resort. All suites face westward and have ocean views with 18 absolute beach front suites. Jeeva Klui combines traditional Lombok design with modern comfort to create a unique tropical Indonesian experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jeeva Klui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jeeva Klui Hotel Mangsit
Jeeva Klui Resort Lombok/Mangsit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing