We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort, good price”
Review of Qunci Villas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Qunci Villas Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mangsit
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort, good price”
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Qunci Villas for two nights -- a treat after several weeks of staying in budget places and trekking up Mount Rinjani. It was well worth it -- for what you get, I think it's reasonably priced (especially compared to similar resorts in Bali). The beach area, which features two pools and lots of room for sunbathing, is really well-designed. The rooms are spacious and clean and feature a lovely outdoor shower area and a balcony. The breakfast was huge and delicious (although the food at the restaurant was generally nothing special). My husband also really enjoyed his massage at the spa. My only complaint is that it was very difficult communicating with the wait staff. I wouldn't normally complain about that (since after all I came to Indonesia without speaking a word of the language!), but at a resort of this caliber, you should be able to ask basic questions about the menu and make basic drink requests without too much difficulty. But that's a minor issue. We'd definitely return to Qunci Villas if we're back in Lombok, and I'd highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Joanna M,

Thank you for your kind comments about Qunci and we look forward to seeing you back at our hotel again.

You rightly mention the value that you get at Qunci. Many have suggested that we increase prices, and the Wall Street Journal carried an article on Qunci which mentioned that our prices were very 'reasonable' compared to similar hotels – real value for the money!

But instead of raising prices, we would like instead to make sure that visitors to Lombok get good value and want to return!

As for English, yes, this is an issue in general in Lombok and we are sorry if you had some difficulty in communicating with some of our staff. We do our best to only hire those that can speak good English for positions that deal with guests (like waiters) but I will check on what happened in your case.

Happy Travels....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,939
    426
    77
    16
    9
See reviews for
435
1,443
61
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Lombok is a beautiful island however there is not much to do as a single woman traveling with a girlfriend. My massage at this hotel totally made up for it! Seriously one of the best massages I've ever had. I live in the U.S. and occasionally treat myself to a massage as they are usually $80 and up. This massage topped all of those. First off you get to choose what scents you want mixed in to your massage oil, then they provide you with some delicious tea. The massage room itself has beautiful decor, tastefully zen. You are given a comfy robe to wear. Had a traditional Balinese massage, almost fell asleep. Tried to stay at the hotel but they were booked. if you are headed to Lombok treat yourself to this hotel, beautiful grounds and excellent spa!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socalgirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Socalgirl99,

Glad you enjoyed the massage and we hope that you can come back and enjoy more of our massages and other services at Qunci Villas!

We suggest to all guests that they make reservations in advance as for most of the year, we are pretty busy and rooms may not be available if you just walk-in and request a room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Hi! We stayed at Quncy with my wife for a few days in July 2012 for our honeymoon and it was just the perfect venue for this. It's just like if we had jumped into a wonderful postcard of Lombok! The beach is clean, the sea transparent and on bright days you'll have this stunning view of Gunung Agung on the horizon. I also really enjoyed the design and materials used for the hotel and furniture: wood, stone, just the right amount of local art, etc, this makes you feel like the place is part of the island while being modern, fresh and of top quality. The area fronting the beach with a couple of 'infinity pools' is perfect to rest, read or just sunbath. There is indeed people around and most of them are 'bole' but it is never quite like one of those big resorts in Bali. We found the staff very helpful, well trained and speaking good English. Every morning we would ordered breakfast in the room at a particular time and they were never late, waiting for us to open the door while carrying our heavy tray in one hand over the shoulder. We weren't particularly organized and the reception desk always helped us late at night to book our trip for the next day efficiently, successfully and with a smile. The restaurant has two chefs, one Indonesian and one French, and serves an excellent mix of European and Asian food. It was heartbreaking to leave and, living in Indonesia, we will definitely come back.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EscapeJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear EscapeJakarta,

We are all glad that you had a great time with us at Qunci and that you will be back to visit us again soon. Jakarta is only a skip-and-a-hop away!

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Qunci villas because of the amazing reviews and the pictures showing how amazing this place is. We started our holiday in Bali and then wanted to go to Gili T but I wasn't sure about staying there for more than 1 night or catching the boat there so we flew to Lombok, stayed at Qunci for 2 nights and then caught a speed boat over to Gili T for 1 night.
On reflection, we wouldn't have done the same thing if we had our time again. Although the flight is quick (half an hour) it is a 2 hour drive to Qunci from the airport and then another ~45mins to get over to Gili T (20 min drive + 15 min sped boat). On our last day this meant about 4 hours to get back to Bali from Gili T in total!

Qunci is indeed a beautiful hotel. The gardens and surroundings are lovely, the pools are stunning and the rooms are really nice (we stayed in a partial ocean view room and it was more than adequate). Outdoor bathrooms are nice but a bit impractical given there are lots of Mozzies... They come and spray your room for Mozzies eac h night when they do turn down service which is a nice thought, but 1 night when I cameo back to our room to get something Nile they were doing it the door was wide open so that defeats the idea a bit!

Food at Qunci was really lovely, we enjoyed everything we ate. Sitting down on the beachfront when you can get a table is something special. Prices very reasonable too considering most people do seem to stay at the hotel to eat.

Staff were friendly enough but to be honest, compared to the people on Bali and Gili T the people here were not as friendly and did not speak very good English. I know it is a non English speaking country but it was a bit of a surprise and difficult to adjust to after being in Bali where everyone seemed to speak perfect English!

We didn't leave the resort so we can't comment much on the greater area. The beach in front is quite nice (we didn't swim but did go for a morning beach walk). The hawkers were not an issue for us at all. They were so friendly and like in Bali, we found if you didn't make eye contact or just said you weren't interested they didn't bother you. I had a massage from one of the ladies on the beach in the sampan for 100,000 (price seemed non negotiable) and it was quite good.

Overall we enjoyed our time here relaxing by the pool but if we had our time again we would have caught a boat straight from Bali to the Gilis and stayed there for 3 nights - there are stunning beaches here and a very chilled vibe (note tho Gili T has a very young clientele - think we saw about 4 people over 35!!)

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JodiScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear JodiScott

Glad you gave Qunci a try and liked it. We hope that you make it back to Lombok, even if that means spending all of your time in Gili. It certainly is a different party vibe than Qunci which is more laid back and 'romantic' (although a lot of romance goes on at Gili T at nights..... smile!)

With regard to a couple of your comments:

Mozzies (mosquitoes) should be expected in a tropical paradise where most of our village/beach is covered not with 4-star hotels but with sand, small village houses, and a few hotels like Qunci Villas in a verdant, vegetative environment.

That being said, we do our best to keep the mosquitoes at bay by spraying your room nightly, spraying the grounds regularly and fogging the hotel grounds and surrounding area once a week. We are sorry though if your door to the bathroom was left open and I have mentioned this to the housekeeping staff so that it doesnt happen to our future guests.

As for the English, true. The Balinese – after the last 25 years of extensive tourism and contact with foreigners – do speak English better than the people of Lombok. In fact, in our village, there was no main road through the village until the early 90's and Senggigi didnt have a main road or large hotel until 1984. So the whole concept of “English as a second language” is relatively new here.

The plus side is that Lombok IS less developed, in many senses less commercialized, and more 'natural'. As they say, “You can find Bali in Lombok, but you cant find Lombok in Bali”

Happy Travels.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalama, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I’m not one to laud a business or service publicly unless it rises so far and above my expectations that it leaves me, well, speechless. Qunci is one such place.

Qunci is promoted as your ‘key to an idyllic Lombok’ and they do not fail to deliver. From the moment you are met at the airport, your personal comfort and needs are being addressed. The Qunci driver came equipped with ice cold towels, bottles of water and a smile – all very much appreciated after the hustle of traveling 30+ hours.

Despite the craziness of cars and mopeds and pedestrians that make up the traffic in Indonesia, the Qunci driver delivered us calmly and securely to the hotel where we were welcomed by name, efficiently checked in, and presented with a ‘welcome’ drink that is still a mystery to me but was very refreshing.

The hotel itself has a ‘wow’ factor that immediately promises pampering and relaxation. The overall effect of stone, marble, water, wood and textures melt seamlessly into artistic structures subtly lit to make everything feel warm and inviting. The grounds are immaculate. The fountains, water features and pools are crystal clear at all times. [Having spent my time in college cleaning hotels, I fully appreciate the effort and staff it takes to keep things in such pristine condition every day.] The rooms are just as clean, beds comfortable and rain showers in every bathroom – not that you’ll want to spend much time in them as the poolside and ocean view lounges compel you to be outdoors where the sun, colors and breezes of Lombok literally feed the soul.

Whereas all these amenities would be a plus at any hotel, the thing I believe that makes Qunci truly idyllic is its staff. It was the numerous individuals that made our once-in-a-life-time vacation a dream-come-true. They met our requests with eagerness, smiles and the occasional sense of humor. We learned their names and they learned ours. You could tell that they enjoy working at Qunci and it reflected in their service. It constantly amazed me that with the multiple nationalities and languages represented amongst the Qunci guests, the staff never wavered from communicating or meeting the requests of each person. It was the services of staff such as our Villa Qunang butlers Aden (butler #2, our ‘spiderman’) and Awel (butler #1, gifted with entertaining children with his guitar playing); Oni and Fatma (restaurant wait staff who made sure our meals were exactly what we wanted); Addie, Gatot and Ngurah (poolside staff who diligently checked to make sure we had everything we needed from drinks to appetizers to clean towels); Rudy and Wira (who competently drove us to and from the hotel); Rini, Astiti and Karmila (skilled spa staff who helped us to begin to relax through massage, pedicures and manicures); as well as, the staff behind the scenes - maintenance, laundry, cleaning staff and I’m sure numerous others that we tip our hats to in thanks of a memorable vacation.

This was our first adventure outside the states and it was amazing. The cultural flavor of the mosque’s ‘singing’ the Koran in the morning or the roosters, goats and cows wandering free along the roads or the negotiating with the vendors for their wares along the beaches or in the markets just added to the exotic adventure of a life time.

If you choose Qunci, you will not be disappointed. Things we learned while being there were …..First, take advantage of the spa services when you arrive to start relaxing that much sooner. With the newest addition to the hotel, a brand new facility was built that offers amazing services including 4 types of massage in addition to couples massage and reflexology. Secondly, try things you may not necessarily try such as the Fidjian I - Taukei Ho 'Ota Fish & Prawns Ceviche – a fabulous citrus prawn salad served in a coconut shell or the Lapindo – an addictive chocolate lava cake served with fresh fruit or for the kids ‘Green Sands Shandy’ – apple/lime soda which pours like beer (to our son’s amusement). The menus at each restaurant were amazing with chefs gathered from all over the world contributing – you will find more then just Indonesian food and everything is fresh daily. And finally, if you need something don’t hesitate to ask - the staff will either help you locate or actually go get what you need even if they don’t have it right there at the hotel.

We’ve been asked numerous times if it was worth it; if we would go again. For us, even with the 30 hours flight time that it took – yes, we would go again. It IS that wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kize68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott052, General Manager at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Kize68,

Thank you for such a kind review of Qunci – and in particular that you choose Lombok and Qunci Villas as your first overseas destination. As an American myself, I know how long those flights are to get out here to our small paradise and I take my hat off to you for making this journey to Lombok your first!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

They would get 5 star rating if not only the appartments lack a little bit of privacy. Thats the only deficit, because the appartments are close to each other and you can see your neighbours and other way round. If you dont care about that go for it!
:)

Apart from that the place was perfect! Very nice rooms perfectly nice and helpfull staff! They really were exceptionall nice and helpfull! Big thanks for that! Food was delicious and the beach and view is perfect! No reason to avoid this place! Would always come back to them! The place is wonderfully beautifull designed.

If you can choose the rooms on the first floor, it gives a bit more privacy.

Thanks!
:)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyliteee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Skylitee -

Thank you for your review. As a Senior Contributor here on TA we appreciate your comments greatly and the management and stay was very proud to see that you truly enjoyed the hotel and your stay at Qunci Villas.

With regard to the one negative point that you had: We are sorry that we cant rearrange the hotel rooms for greater privacy by moving the rooms farther apart (smile), but for the price we charge for our rooms we had to put more rooms on our property than, say, the Oberoi which is spread out over hectares of land – but at a cost per room of 3x Qunci Villas (we note, thank you, the 5 stars that you gave us for value).

We do hope to see you back at Qunci Villas again soon.

Happy Travels....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Qunci Villas is a breathtaking haven that allows you to catch your breath and take a break, from our now turbulent world and get back in touch with yourself, someone you love, nature and a different culture. My partner and I, who have traveled all over the world in our 33 years together, just spent 17 days at this wonderful complex and were blown away by the consideration and attention we received there. The staff, always referring to us as “Mr. Don and Mr. Jerry,” was not only friendly, always smiling, but did everything possible to make our stay nothing but an unforgettable, pleasurable memory… and that it was. Our original intent was, during that 17 day period, to leave Qunci for several days and spend time on the island of Bali, but we were so enthralled by the beauty and atmosphere of Qunci Villas that we did not want to leave. Everything we needed was right there. We were not looking for party time, night life or excitement, but peace, tranquility and a chance to catch our breath from our hectic pace of life and just unwind…and be spoiled for a time. And yes, we were spoiled in this dream-like setting. The sunsets, every evening, often with a view of Bali, at happy hour time, took your breath away. A swim in any one of the three infinity pools, looking out at the ocean was beyond refreshing. The massages at the Spa, from Traditional Lombok, Aromatic, to Swedish given by the gentle-natured, skilled Indonesian technicians was the pinnacle of relaxation. And the reflexology….WOW… talk about healing! Dinners were a delight, served Oceanside some evenings at candlelit tables, with nearby musician on traditional instruments to entertain you, and sometimes Sadek dancers in ornate, traditional costumes. Or sometimes barbeques on the beach, or Indonesian evenings when food carts are set up outside with Indonesian chefs preparing traditional dishes. Some evenings we chose to sit in one of the open-air dining rooms with views of the ocean. On one very special evening we took advantage of the “Romantic Dinner” for couples( honeymooners or otherwise) where the staff had decorated one of the cabanas that set on the beach, next to the ocean, with shear white fabric tied at each corner post to form a canopy. Sitting in the middle of the cabana was a table draped in a white satin cloth. On the table were tall, white, living orchids and a large centerpiece of seashells and fruit along with an enormous white, glowing candle. Flower pedals had been spread around the table on the floor. Pink and yellow blossoms from the Cambodia trees had been strung and hung from the ceiling. A young, Indonesian man with an amazing smile, cheerful laugh and gentle nature was our personal server for the evening. Lobster Thermidor, candlelight, flowers, sunset turning to moonlight on ocean waves and someone who had been by your side for thirty-three years, how perfect is that?
And that’s how it was for the two of us at Qunci Villas. Every day Perfect! No, the prayers from the mosque didn’t bother us. We found it somewhat comforting and fit the environment and culture we were in. Mostly it was the sound of the ocean waves lapping against the beach that woke us up in the mornings. And noise? What noise? Just the sound of the ocean or of birds singing in the overhead palm tree or flowering Cambodia trees…or the distant sounds of laughter of the children from the school across the street. Happy sounds… not noise. And no, we were not disturbed by the hawkers on the beach. They had beautiful wares to sell if you were interested, and beautiful smiles to share, and IF you took a moment to get to know them a bit and learn of their culture and their lives, you would find beautiful people just trying to make a living to support their families. Mostly, we loved our experiences with the hawkers and we found when we didn’t want to be bothered at the time, all we needed to do was to just look away.

We were amazed to find that Qunci Villas catered to people from all over the globe. The guest list read like the Olympics’ opening ceremony Parade of the Atheletes…..Italy, Spain, England, Australia, Holland, France, USA, Africa, Canada, Russia, England, Spain, ….people of so many different nationalities, races, color. No discrimination of any kind here. In the 17 days, we witnessed honeymooning couples, loving families, same-sex couples, inter-racial couples, from different walks of life, from different countries, all sharing space together in harmony with each other. In all of our travels, only at Qunci have we experienced this. We can’t say enough about this little piece of paradise…and YES…we would go back again and again and again.
Don and Jerry

Room Tip: Room 52, perfect infinity pool and ocean view from upstairs balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drigoliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott052, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Drigoliv,

Dear Mr Don and Mr Jerry (smile) – the management and staff also loved having you here with us at Qunci Villas.

Whenever we have loving couples like you staying with us, whether they have been together for 33 years as you have, or are newlyweds, or just couples hoping to make this a romantic moment for them in Lombok, we are always happy to welcome loving couples that bring so much joy to our little hotel.

And for you to say after 33 years together that this was one of your best experiences truly does drive that point home for us.

Many more happy moments for you in your travels together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangsit
0.2 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
0.7 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
721 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katamaran Resort
Katamaran Resort
#5 of 7 in Mangsit
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qunci Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qunci Villas Hotel

Property: Qunci Villas Hotel
Address: Jl. Raya Mangsit, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Mangsit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mangsit
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mangsit
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mangsit
#1 Family Hotel in Mangsit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Qunci Villas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qunci Villas is a beachfront hotel on Mangsit Beach, 5 minutes outside Senggigi. 150+ meters of beachfront, with 3 large pools, facing the ocean and Bali in the horizon. Qunci also has 3 private luxury villas located on the hill above the beach. The hotel boasts ocean view, partial ocean view and garden view rooms as well as rooms with their own personal pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Qunci Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qunci Hotel Lombok
Qunci Villas Hotel Lombok/Mangsit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing