We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most romantic place on earth.”
Review of Qunci Villas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Qunci Villas Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mangsit
Certificate of Excellence
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the most romantic place on earth.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have been twice there and will come again. Since airport is not in Mataram anymore the distance is little bit far but doesnt matter Qunci can arrange car for you. The atmosphere in the hotel area is so beautiful and romantic. The afternoon view on Balinese volcano GunungAgung is incredible. Hotel staff is trained well and these who dont know something are trying all their best to make you fell comfortable. Yes, the beach in front of hotel is nothing special but if you walk to the right about 50 meters you will see huge clean and empty beach.They always have problems with foreign credit cards so better take cash with you. Last time i made some photos of Qunci Villas. You can find full gallery on my web www.phrasuthon.pl/qunci-villas-lombok-indonesia/

Room Tip: Try to book ocean view villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phrasuthon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Lombok, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Phrasuthon,

Thank you for your very kind review - and all the wonderful photos that you made available!

Happy Travels, and we hope to see you back with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,939
    427
    77
    16
    9
See reviews for
435
1,444
61
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayin at Qunci Villas was the highlight of our trip. Never felt so special in a hotel before. The bungalows are fantastic - mainly the outdoor bathrooms! The whole staff was absolutely professional. Very friendly, polite and always a smile on the face! Too bad, the closer surroundings of the hotel (i.e. Sengiggi) are not really worth a trip.

Room Tip: We first had a rooms located at the end of the property (lower room numbers - close to the sunset ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btDarmstadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Lombok, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear btDarmstadt,

*Never felt so special in a hotel before. *

A very nice thing to say. Thank you. Our staff always try their best to make all of our guests feel the same way.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
236 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We can fully second all the excellent reviews on Qunci below. Even after having stayed for more than a week, it was difficult to leave. The combination of the beautiful location, sea views and hotel grounds, the warm and attentive staff, the serenity, the beautiful room and the excellent food make this a perfect resort.

Although the hotel is quite big, it never felt crowded and we were always given personal attention. One of the things we very much enjoyed was that there were sufficient sun loungers available at the pools at any time of the day, no matter what time one arrived. Used towels of guests who had left were replaced by new ones in an instant.

We also really enjoyed the food, no matter in which restaurant, and felt that the price-quality ratio was absolutely fine for a hotel of this type (approx. IDR 120,000 for a main dish). We tried a lot of different dishes and almost all of them were excellent. However, the sizes and presentation quite varied - some dishes came in huge size and sophisticated presentations, others were rather small and just put on the plate without much decoration - maybe different chefs? Dessert portions are huge, so after a main, it's usually sufficient to share one dessert. There is an a la carte breakfast with many options, no buffet.
During our stay, the guests consisted mainly in couples from Europe, Australia and Singapore. There were some families with children too, however, there is no separate children's pool or playground and the waves at the beach can be quite high (depending on the time of the day), so would not recommend it for families with small children.

The hawkers on the beach are nice to talk to, and while of course they are trying to sell you their stuff, they also accept it if you don't and don't get upset. If you plan to buy some souvenirs anyway, you might consider buying something from them during the first few days of your stay, so that you'll have a more quiet stay later on.

We stayed in a partial ocean view room at the ground floor which had a balcony and was lovely. I don't think it's worthwhile paying the extra for an ocean view room since the view from the pool area is excellent and that's were we spent most of our time while in the hotel anyway.There was no TV in the room, but I understand that you can ask the front desk to supply you with one if you want. We did not miss it during our stay.

The beach is really nice and clean and not busy. You can swim in the sea during the entire day, however, at low tide you have to find your spot to swim as the water is not deep in many places and the waves are high. Probably less suitable for people who are not good swimmers; however, you also have a choice of 3 pools for swimming.

The grounds and rooms were sprayed against mosquitoes, and we experienced few of them during our stay.

The only small negative remark I'll make is that the wifi was at times extremely slow and kind of erratic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerrisXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Lombok, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear FerrisXL,

Thank you for your detailed review and we do hope to see you back in Lombok again soon.

As for your small minor complaint : WiFi

I take this issue seriously. I look at WiFi totally different than I do TVs in the rooms. And because of my concerns, I can state that Qunci Villas has some of the best - if not THE best - hotel WiFI service on Lombok. At substantial expense, we have the best provider and a large amount of bandwidth. in fact, just this week we have increased our bandwidth from 3 to 5 MB dedicated line to accommodate our guests' needs..

That said, ALL bandwidth comes through one "pipe" from Bali to Lombok. When there is a problem in that delivery mechanism, there is a problem with WiFi across the island.

But that said, on the island of Lombok, Mangsit Beach has some of the best WiFI service available, and within Mangsit Beach Qunci Villas offers, I believe, the most bandwidth and best WiFi service. We have 3 full-time IT internet staff just to support these services.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was our third trip to Lombok and third stay at Qunci Villas, that alone must say something! Our first visit was nearly 7 years ago when it had just opened and we were captivated, we hoped it would remain our 'little secret', but as the years passed the hotel grew and so did the number happy guests and reviewers.

We are pleased to say that after our most recent stay (for 2 weeks just passed) and despite the growth and development, the hotel has remained personal, polished and quiet. The staff are just as attentive and friendly as they always have been, many of whom remember us from previous visits and welcome us "home". Everything about the location, layout of the spaces, menus, art, gardens, day spa and personal services has been thought of, I even did some yoga classes there this time!

Qunci has always been very cosmopolitan, we especially enjoy meeting other foreign guests, most of whom have travelled from Europe and afar to share this patch of paradise - we understand why they travel more than 15-20 hours to get here and are grateful we are only 7hrs away!

Qunci offers the opportunity to be a base for adventure like snorkelling, diving, trekking, surfing or to be an utterly blissful place to do nothing in peace and serenity. This truly is a remarkable place and applaud the owners and management on attention to detail and allowing Qunci to grow without losing the intimacy. We will be back a forth time.....

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 54 Ocean front with no upper floor, it was blissful to sleep to the sound of crash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smelly237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Lombok, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Smelly237,

Thank you for your kind review. As you note, we have been open many years now, growing from time-to-time. And most of our guests appreciate and like our changes hence a reason that we have so many repeat guests to our hotel.

Thanks again and yes, we'll see you back for your 4th visit!!

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I am staying at Qunci as I write this review. Arrived here after beginning our honeymoon in Hong Kong flying from London (yes we are English) not all that common compared to Aussies and Central Europeans at the hotel. What a great place. Negatives on previous previews I will comment on below as I will add my own pros/cons.
Pros: amazing setting, amazing pools. Great service, great food (no decaf coffee at breakfast?!) very good lunch menu, club sandwich rates highly and I've had lots from hotels! Inventive menu (Asian food) I try and avoid European menus when in Asia but they need to cater for all tastes and Asian guests also. Good bar, 60k idr for large Bintang, 100k for cocktails or BOGOF between 5-7 (cocktails only)
We stayed in two rooms first on ground floor but moved to high floor with sea view (50) more privacy also. A few miles up the coast from centre of town (not a bad thing) next door is a couple of local warungs if you fancy alternative dining and a local shop for snacks and drinks across the road! Hawkers on the beach can get tiresome but only as some don't get the message that you don't want a pink sarong for a man or xxxl singlet when you are already wearing one that fits like a glove :) they do have some good stuff to buy though, sarongs etc. Great local massage on the front left of hotel 120k for 60 mins or a Qunci pro massage within the hotel for $ 30+++
Good surf opportunities, potential fishing from beach like the locals do (my rod is in my bag)
Some goats and frogs to keep an eye out for, a few cats to keep your feet company under the tables.
Good friendly staff!
Cons: milk quality is not the best but this is just a personal thing. Warm mayo when ordering an EU lunch option. I think it would be good to have the bar slightly more informal as it is more restaurant than a beach bar which would really give the extra remote beach holiday feel (beer wine spirits aplenty though)
Lastly and a personal thing again. I asked for local sambal each evening we are at Qunci 2 of 4 nights and the sambal in my opinion was feared for tourists.. If I ask for hot I expect hot!! The hotel needs to offer crisps and snacks throughout the day as I was over at the local shop buying cassava bags each day (it's good to support locals though)

Great place and I would return!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank trailfinder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Lombok, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear trailfinder1,

Thank you for the detailed, and can I say terrific, review.

And as for the sambal, I will check on this. We have 5 different types of sambal, some of them even too hot for our locals! ... smile....so I am not sure what happened in your case. But again, i will check into this for future travelers who like their meals hot.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

10 of us from Singapore descended from Mt Rinjani after a 3D2N trek to this excellent resort from 1-3 June.

Truly memorable and service quality possibly the best there is with excellent rooms and amenities.

Will definitely come back and must congratulate the team who put it together and the management and staff who has continued to maintain their excellent repute!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Lombok, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Harry L,

*service quality possibly the best there is * ...thanks.

And I know how how important it is to get the good care for the tired body after a Rinjani climb.

We look forward to seeing you with us again in the near future.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have recently returned from a wonderful 9 day stay at Qunci Villas. If you just want to chill then this is the place for you. The beautifully manicured grounds, great rooms, attentive and polite staff, terrific restaurants and three infinity pools right on the beach all add up to a memorable relaxing vacation.

Even the local beach hawkers are a friendly bunch to strike up a conversation with.

I will be back in Lombok for a brief visit in July and hope to return to Qunci Villas for another spot of lunch at Quah.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Lombok, Owner at Qunci Villas Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Eric B,

Thank you for such a positive review and we look forward to seeing you again in July.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangsit
0.2 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
0.7 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
721 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katamaran Resort
Katamaran Resort
#5 of 7 in Mangsit
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qunci Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qunci Villas Hotel

Property: Qunci Villas Hotel
Address: Jl. Raya Mangsit, Mangsit, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Mangsit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mangsit
#1 Family Hotel in Mangsit
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mangsit
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mangsit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Qunci Villas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qunci Villas is a beachfront hotel on Mangsit Beach, 5 minutes outside Senggigi. 150+ meters of beachfront, with 3 large pools, facing the ocean and Bali in the horizon. Qunci also has 3 private luxury villas located on the hill above the beach. The hotel boasts ocean view, partial ocean view and garden view rooms as well as rooms with their own personal pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Qunci Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qunci Hotel Lombok
Qunci Villas Hotel Lombok/Mangsit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing